We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hodgson's Chippy

Hodgson's Chippy
Ranked #49 of 241 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've always enjoyed Hodgson's but I don't visit very often anymore. I recently got the urge to go and the chips are even better than before and the portion sizes much better. The chips are always really fresh and aren't greasy in the slightest. Definitely the best chippy I've visited in Lancaster.

Check opening times though - they only open until 8pm every night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0zG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We have bought our lunches from this chip shop on 2 occasions..both times the chips have been undercooked and hard.The fish wasn't fantastic either. How this is an award winning chippy is beyond me. My son choose a kids meal consisting of 3 chicken nuggets and a handful of chips....I find the place very pricey for what you get. Its definately not good value for money and there is always a long wait both to get to the counter and then for the food. I don't think I will be going back there in a hurry...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank lisaA1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best chippy in the area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

There's no competition for the quality of the food! Staff are always efficient and friendly, portions could be a little bigger but that's the only negative.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very good fish and chips, the place is always busy and that speaks for itself. Travel from Morecambe to get some and eat them in the car - delicious!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindaloo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chips were fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Delicious chips. Really were some of the best chips I have ever had. It's difficult to describe what makes a "perfect chip", but these guys make them.
Worth the money, and people serving were great.
Queue was out the door when I turned up, but I was served within 15minutes, very quick and efficient.
If I was going to get Fish and Chips in Lancaster, I would go here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hodgson's Chippy also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Hodgson's Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing