We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly rude staff and landlord not much better.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boot & Shoe

The Boot & Shoe
Ranked #64 of 240 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional local offering excellent facilities including an extensive menu complemented by an excellent range of wines by the glass and an extensive selection of guest ales. There is also a separate sports room where you can have a game of pool, darts and watch live Sports. We also have a self-contained private function suite suitable for all occasions. Please note this pub has no disabled toilets. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude staff and landlord not much better.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We used the Boot and Shoe recently for a family function. The landlord had been a bit shirty with me on the phone when I had made some enquiries regarding the function the week before, but I just put it down to him having a bad day and thought no more of it. During the function, the barmaid was incredibly rude to myself, demanding that I move my pram as it was in her way, in a very aggressive manner, with no please or thank-you. I was quite shocked by her attitude as I have never come across this standard of customer service before! Her male colleague, wasn't as hostile as her throughout the night, however made no effort of friendly banter to myself or our guests. I certainly will not use them again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    21
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

A great welcome as always, the real ale is superb. Warm welcome by the landlord. Great value pub grub and they look after you.
Will be back

Helpful?
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Lunch, Lovely Pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I study at Lancaster University, so decided to go for lunch one day, as it's only 5 minutes away on the bus. The pub is very traditional, and perhaps could do with a bit of modernisation, but I actually find old pubs like this one charming. I ordered a club sandwich and it was really tasty. A huge portion as well. Very reasonably priced, the fires were on meaning it was warm and cosy inside. The staff were lovely and friendly. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Visited with the in-laws for Sunday lunch. We arrived early and ordered from the choice of roast dinners, and took the £1 pudding to save money. It was quiet but filled up quickly. There were a number of regular visitors nice to see people coming back. The came quickly looked nice but found the roast spuds a little overdone. It was a nice meal and enough of it, the pudding selection was nice and plenty of it as well. Overall a nice well priced meal good service. The only down is the age of the decoration a fresh lick of paint would work wonders.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice wee pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went here on New Year's Day with some friends. Good choice of food, which was served piping hot. Service was great, too. Been here a few times when down visiting friends in the area and have allways enjoyed our experiences.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LCS-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boot & Shoe also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Boot & Shoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing