We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Royal Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Kings Arms
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight 6th June as I wanted to visit The Dukes. The staff were helpful, the lift reminded me of the one which was in our old Co-op building (brought back memories) Breakfast room is lovely with what appears to be a musicians' gallery

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SilentTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay at the Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our lift- you are right to point out it is an experience- we believe it is one of the oldest in the country and part of the character of the hotel, we would certainly never change it. The musicians gallery you refer to is indeed a minstrels gallery and part of the original features of the hotel not a later addition. We all find the breakfast a stunning room and I am pleased to hear that you agree with our opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    99
    83
    54
    63
See reviews for
69
120
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for a saturday night. Good location close to station and town. Found hotel generally clean and atmospheric, little bit shabby but had good sized single en suite room with lots of toiletries. Breakfast good, was buffet so could have as much as wanted, good choice and good quality items. Wifi was free and worked well. For what paid was very happy with stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shymike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to not your comments. I am very happy to hear that you found the Hotel to be good value for money, we are in need of refurbishment but we have always priced to reflect this in the hope people can still enjoy their time hear. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and found your room more than adequate for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, having a ferry booked for the Isle of Man the next day. We had booked this hotel because it had a car park. I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised, we stayed on the 4th floor with a panoramic view over Lancaster. The lift was an experience, but it worked better than a lot of more modern ones. The receptionist was lovely, friendly and helpful. I also discovered that Lancaster was worth a longer visit, as it was a lively city, even midweek. When we returned, late, tipsy, the night porter was happy to give us extra coffee sachets and even some biscuits. We never made it to breakfast... We will have no hesitation to book this hotel again. Very central, spacious rooms, wifi... Brilliant!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for noting your comments, I am delighted to hear that the Hotel met your expectations and hope you had an enjoyable TT experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall this hotel is at best a poor one but it has a glorious dining room in which we ate breakfast. It was a freshly cooked breakfast too, we couldn't believe the difference when compared to the rest of the hotel. That's the brilliant bit done. The rest I am afraid leaves much to be desired. The windows in our bedroom looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. The room wasn't much better; we went to bed early just waiting for morning to come and get out of there. The television in the guests lounge didn't work and when I asked about it the receptionist or manager couldn't have cared less if they had tried. The lift is filthy and could be so good with a little T.L.C. its an antique and I have seen them made to be a real centre piece of other hotels. Please don't change it just clean and repair it's worth a fortune!
The location is great surrounded by fabulous places to find for yourself; live music and good restaurants. Try the Merchants opposite - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Its a bit too far from the train station for those who have cases to carry. Call a cab; for £3 its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for noting your comments and I am pleased that the refurbishment works in the dining room are proven to be a hit with the guests. I am also confident that the rest of the refurbishments will not disappoint either. The windows of the hotel are cleaned periodically by an external company but this is not as simple as it sounds as we have to gain permission from all sorts of official bodies to close the one way system of the city centre while the cherry pickers are in use .However, we do still arrange for this to be done I am sorry that this is something that affected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

To be honest, we didn't have high expectations given reviews we had read and the relatively cheap B&B rate for the Saturday night we stayed. But several things led to our disappointment. Firstly, we parked in the very tight car park, and were advised by a guy just pulling out that we should only leave the car there if we didn't need to go out as everyone double parks and blocks cars in. Not a good start, but we thought maybe he was exaggerating. Once inside, we were given our room on the 4th floor, reached by a terrifyingly old lift. The room was tiny, dark, shabby and smelled of smoke. Wifi didn't work, and we discover the hard way that the toilet wouldn't flush. We went back to reception to ask to change rooms. We waited whilst another guest checked in, and were horrified to hear the response from the receptionist when the guest asked where she should park as the car park was full. "Just park anywhere, don't worry". The lady said she would block someone in wherever she parked, and as she was going out wouldn't be able to move her car. "Don't worry about that" was the response - fortunately the guest was more responsible and got directions to the nearest car park.
We did get another room, slightly better but still very shabby, not particularly clean and smelling of smoke. But at least the waterworks were ok. Apparently all other rooms were taken so it was take it or get a refund. We took it as it was too late to change hotels.
Breakfast was unsatisfactory, although in much grander surroundings - what looked like supermarket value range croissants and sliced bread for toast. Tinned fruit. Buffet style cooked items which were very greasy. Not a pleasant experience, won't be returning!

Room Tip: Think lower floors may be better, but wouldn't guarantee anything! Get a room that looks over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment especially the smell in your room as the Hotel is completely non smoking and any guest found to break the law is charged in order that we can get the rooms cleaned professionally with chemicals that remove nicotine smells. Sadly I cannot apologise for the car park, it is clearly described on all public forums as limited availability and operating on a first come first served basis, anyone who doesn't like the car park is free to pay for parking elsewhere in the city. We have also never hidden the fact that the hotel is in need of refurbishment and have stated before that we price to match. Given that you were unsatisfied with you first room and then offered compensation for the second I cannot see what else the staff could have done for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night was not expecting a great experience as it was a cheep stay. Rang a few nights before prebooked breakfast for a fiver. Room was clean but some vacuum bits missed. Needs refurb but would gladly stay again. Has character our room was a rounded corner type room - 206. Parking could be awkward but other parking available in town. Lancaster was a lovely place want to spend a weekend there explore the place. Cocktail bar mint in town recommended. Just a short drive from Morecambe if u like the coast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay. We have never made any excuses for the condition of the property and have always acknowledged that it does need refurbishment but we price to match this. I am glad to hear that you still enjoyed your stay and pleased you found out lovely historic city to your liking also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Writing this whilst still at the hotel. Run down, very poor standard of upkeep. Room stinks of cigarettes but staff unwilling to offer another room saying that anything spare has a water leak. Reassuring excuse. No apology, no compensation or rebate. If I had the money I would pack up and book elsewhere. Trying to track down who to complain to seems impossible.....not worth risking staying here, book with Travelodge for same price and get a clean, fresh room

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am deeply disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay and did not find the staff helpful as we have always received very positive comments about our staff. I am also sorry to hear that you feel your complaint was not dealt with as I am certain that when you checked out in the morning the issue had been resolved for you. Please do feel free to contact me at the Hotel if this is not the case. I am sorry that your room was not on this occasion up to standard but can assure you it was impossible to offer an alternative on the night you stayed as we were fully booked due to losing a couple of rooms to a cracked pipe. This was not an excuse by the receptionist but the honest explanation as to why we were unable to find you an alternative bedroom. Under any other circumstances we would have moved your room without hesitation. I am happy to report though that this issue was fixed the very next day thanks to our very hardworking maintenance man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kings Arms

Property: Royal Kings Arms
Address: 75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We always offer the best prices to our guests direct through hotel reception so be sure to call us first. Fantastic all round venue in a central location, ideal for weddings and functions, everything under one roof. In the heart of the historic city of Lancaster, with views of its famous castle, stands the Royal Kings Arms Hotel. Originally built in 1625 and later rebuilt in 1879, the hotel was immortalized by Charles Dickens in his tale of "The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices". This Grade II listed hotel has 55 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, including the luxury Castle Suite, with its four poster bed and views of the castle, the entrance to which is just 50 yards away. With origins dating back almost 1,000 years Lancaster Castle, a Grade 1 listed building, occupies a city-centre hilltop location on the site of three successive Roman forts and has been described by English Heritage as "not only the North-West's most important historic and archaeological monument but also of international importance". Other historic buildings in Lancaster include the Judge's Lodgings and the Doll Museum. The sea plays a big part in Lancaster's history and the Maritime Museum is a fascinating place to visit. Beyond the city, the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales are within easy reach, while the seaside resorts of Morecambe and Blackpool are a short drive away. Breakfast is available when checking in at reception, we do have car parking facilities at £5 per car per stay at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing