We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic”
Review of Royal Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Kings Arms
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 14 June 2014

4 People, one double room two singles booked 5 months in advance, result on arrival three rooms on different floors.
Morning call requested with newspaper, neither recieved.
had to get to station for 08.00am so no breakfast.
Room window sealed and screwed shut no fresh air so couldn't sleep.
arrived back about 08.35 pm Resteraunt empty and no sign of lfe so had to go hunting for food.
Having said this the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: There are none the front is noisy the back looks out onto the backs ofcommrcial rubbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to note your comments following your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of the disappointment you experienced during your stay particularly the standard of your accommodation. As a very old building we do suffer from certain things but we are all very pleased to say that the new owners have announced a full refurbishment plan for the hotel and we are sure it will fully restore the Hotel to all its former glory. I am happy to hear that through everything you found the staff to be helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived and checked in at stated time. Sent to room. Walked passed rubbish and dirty linnen as well as broken glass to reach room.our room not made up ,and we were confronted with mess left by last occupants. Very noisy overnight stay.no double glazing. Breakfast menu contained unavailable items. Historic hotel in need of care and attention.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am sorry to hear of the disappointment you experienced during your stay. As our housekeepers have a very large amount of rooms to clean there are times of the day when linen and rubbish will be out corridors before they take them all to the external stores. Glass has to be disposed of separately and carefully and I have spoken with the team who have assured me that on discovering glass they went to fetch the sharps bin as per their training and left another member of the team near the glass so no one was injured. I have no reason to doubt this to be the case as we have reordered a replacement bin for the one that was used. I am very sorry that the housekeepers were not quick enough to have finished the corridor you were on before you arrived but trust they work hard to ensure all rooms are completed in a satisfactory timeframe. I will ensure going forward that they keep a clearer line of communication between the front desk so the reception team know exactly rooms are ready.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I liked it here.Most of the staff were natives,which makes a change.The staff were very friendly.Great location. Breakfast was excellent. The room was just right,not too over fancy,but just what was needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for noting your comments. I am pleased to hear that despite the age of the property you enjoyed your stay. We all hope that guests find our rooms acceptable and the staff all work very hard to ensure people enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The only plus point was the location, right in the city centre. Its a very old hotel in need of some serious updating and renovation, glad i was only there for one night! The bed was the most uncomfortable i have ever slept in. could pretty much feel every spring! Not to mention the wafer thin hollow fibre pillows! Certainly not what i could call a good nights sleep! Hair dryer was a hazard. Part of the plastic housing was broken, and internal wires were showing. The kettle had splashes of coffee all over it, needless to say i did not use it. The bathroom was very tired looking....like the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was included in the price which was good.....until it was served! My husband ordered bacon and mushrooms, when it was served it just comprised of one rasher of bacon, and 3 mushrooms! Luckily Mcdonalds was just a 5 minute walk away! Overall i would not recommend this establishment for any length of stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment. If you had wanted additional items on your breakfast you need only to have asked, the waiters and cooks would have been more than happy to serve as many rashers of bacon as your husband wanted if they had been made aware of the quantity required. It is no secret that our Hotel is in need of refurbishment and has indeed just been bought by a new owner who has some amazing plans for the property but we continue to price our rates accordingly. There are four and five star properties available in the area for those willing to pay the prices but we find we usually offer what people deem to be good value- I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight 6th June as I wanted to visit The Dukes. The staff were helpful, the lift reminded me of the one which was in our old Co-op building (brought back memories) Breakfast room is lovely with what appears to be a musicians' gallery

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank SilentTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay at the Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our lift- you are right to point out it is an experience- we believe it is one of the oldest in the country and part of the character of the hotel, we would certainly never change it. The musicians gallery you refer to is indeed a minstrels gallery and part of the original features of the hotel not a later addition. We all find the breakfast a stunning room and I am pleased to hear that you agree with our opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for a saturday night. Good location close to station and town. Found hotel generally clean and atmospheric, little bit shabby but had good sized single en suite room with lots of toiletries. Breakfast good, was buffet so could have as much as wanted, good choice and good quality items. Wifi was free and worked well. For what paid was very happy with stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shymike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to not your comments. I am very happy to hear that you found the Hotel to be good value for money, we are in need of refurbishment but we have always priced to reflect this in the hope people can still enjoy their time hear. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and found your room more than adequate for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for one night, having a ferry booked for the Isle of Man the next day. We had booked this hotel because it had a car park. I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised, we stayed on the 4th floor with a panoramic view over Lancaster. The lift was an experience, but it worked better than a lot of more modern ones. The receptionist was lovely, friendly and helpful. I also discovered that Lancaster was worth a longer visit, as it was a lively city, even midweek. When we returned, late, tipsy, the night porter was happy to give us extra coffee sachets and even some biscuits. We never made it to breakfast... We will have no hesitation to book this hotel again. Very central, spacious rooms, wifi... Brilliant!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for noting your comments, I am delighted to hear that the Hotel met your expectations and hope you had an enjoyable TT experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,070 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lancaster
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kings Arms

Address: 75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We always offer the best prices to our guests direct through hotel reception so be sure to call us first. Fantastic all round venue in a central location, ideal for weddings and functions, everything under one roof. In the heart of the historic city of Lancaster, with views of its famous castle, stands the Royal Kings Arms Hotel. Originally built in 1625 and later rebuilt in 1879, the hotel was immortalized by Charles Dickens in his tale of "The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices". This Grade II listed hotel has 55 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, including the luxury Castle Suite, with its four poster bed and views of the castle, the entrance to which is just 50 yards away. With origins dating back almost 1,000 years Lancaster Castle, a Grade 1 listed building, occupies a city-centre hilltop location on the site of three successive Roman forts and has been described by English Heritage as "not only the North-West's most important historic and archaeological monument but also of international importance". Other historic buildings in Lancaster include the Judge's Lodgings and the Doll Museum. The sea plays a big part in Lancaster's history and the Maritime Museum is a fascinating place to visit. Beyond the city, the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales are within easy reach, while the seaside resorts of Morecambe and Blackpool are a short drive away. Breakfast is available when checking in at reception, we do have car parking facilities at £5 per car per stay at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing