We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff in good central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Kings Arms
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent staff in good central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Retirement is wonderful - a day course in Lancaster, then time to see the area before returning home. So day course duly enjoyed, then 3 nights in the Royal Kings Arms. As many have already said, an excellent location with super staff - special mention to the lovely Charleen who went out of her way to be helpful. I was lucky - had a room at the back with working windows. Yes the paintwork's peeling and the carpets past their best, but very clean - and revamp anticipated later this year. Breakfast too was good, though very busy / slow on Sunday morning. And an excellent central location: ideal for what I wanted.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back for quiet; at the front to be part of Lancaster life
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your comments following your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff and the accommodation everything you were looking for to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    92
    75
    43
    53
See reviews for
63
111
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We needed to be close to the Railway station to catch a steam excursion train so the location of this hotel was just perfect being only a few minutes walk away from the station and having free parking.

The staff were great and helpful and check in was very smooth.
The room we had, overlooking the car park was very tired in its decor. The sash windows would not open and it was very fortuante the room was provided with a fan as it was very hot.
The bathroom, although with nice shower gel etc really does need to be upgraded.
Coffee facilities were provided in the room which was welcome.

Wifi was a nightmare over our stay. I just could not get a connection but sitting in the corridor it was possible to pick up the free Waterstones network!

There is an amazing old lift, which is very atmospheric.

Although there are steps up from the street to the main entrance there is level access fom the car park so people with moblility probles would be able to access the hotel.

However, this did represent good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for posting your comments following your recent stay. We are all very exited about our pending refurbishment programme which is due to start within the next eight weeks as this will really help to improve the tired décor in the rooms. I am delighted to hear though that in spite of the Hotel's age you were able to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently with her parents and our two kids (age 3 and 7). We all loved it. We were using Lancaster as a base to get to the Tour de France in Yorkshire. The location is ideal, right in the centre of town, opposite a decent pub and a nice bar/restaurant, and just a few minutes walk from the station.

As many of the reviews state, the hotel is dated but it oozes character and the kids thought the old-fashioned lift, winding staircase and corridors were a great adventure. Sure, the carpets are well-worn and the place needs a lick of paint but all of our rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean.Breakfast was decent and served with a minimum of fuss as well (in fact we thought we'd booked room only so the stay was even better value for money than we thought).

I have to mention the staff as well. Each and every one greeted us with a smile and helped with any minor request. A special mention to the night porter who made the kids laugh every time we crossed his path and found them some drinks one evening after the bar had closed.

If you like the Travelodge experience, or if money is no object and you're used to five star luxury, then this hotel isn't for you. But if you want a warm and friendly place to stay for a few nights, where the staff have time to say hello and make you feel genuinely welcome, then give the Royal Kings Arms a try. You won't get better value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay and Thank you again for your lovely compliments for the team here at the Hotel. The staff work tirelessly to ensure guests can enjoy their time with us and it is nice for them to be able to receive positive feedback. I am thrilled to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed as we were viewing Lancaster Uni. It's a short trip there by car and the central location of the hotel is excellent to look around a very nice and historical town.

The hotel staff were excellent; helpful, friendly and very polite.

The decor is slightly faded but it has a charm about it. The lift was fabulous!

The breakfast was very good and the cleanliness of the hotel is good although the shabby areas can look a bit grubby but probably aren't.

Unfortunately- and this is not the hotel's fault- there is noise at night and with a large crowd of 'Merry' people standing outside the bar across the street from the entrance, having a very loud conversation for ages, I eventually called the night duty reception at 1.40am to ask if she could ask them to be quiet. We were on the second floor and I couldn't work out how to open the double glazed unit to shout at them myself! There are also sirens and car noise. Worth asking for a room at the rear even though the view of the car park wouldn't be great!

I would stay here again if promised a rear facing room and thank the staff for an overall pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to note your comments. I thank you for your kind comments about the staff and the overall experience. We can only apologise for the noise disturbance but being city centre our location is sometimes as problematic as it is a great benefit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

From a guest perspective, the hotel is an impressive historical building. There is parking available, albeit limited, which is a real bonus for a city hotel.

Wifi was excellent.

Service good.

Clean.

But despite the impressive building you can't help but be disappointed that the hotel is seriously dated. Probably last updated two or three decades ago and then on a budget.

There is a central victorian Style lift- it's slow but I loved it- a real character feature!

Decor aside- great service goes a long way, so thank you to the team.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank H67bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. I am delighted to hear that the staff shone through with the service we offer. You are correct to point out the age of the building and the décor but we are all very confident that the refurbishment works due to start in September will make a massive difference to the look of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

pros: very central, easy walking distance from the train (about 7-8 mins walking without luggage), charming old fashioned lift. P

Pleasing for any Dickens or Wilkie Collins fan as they stayed here. Lovely view from fourth floor over the town to the hills, spacious breakfast room.

TV had good choice of stations.

WiFi worked really well and was included in price.

Plenty of hot water in bathroom.

Friendly staff.

cons: traffic noise was unrelenting and extraordinarily loud. Even heavy sleepers would have problems here.

Litter in the corridor (an empty coffee sachet for a few days).

Green mould in the bathroom. No ventilitation to let out shower steam. Toilet didn't flush well.

Overall, typical English hotel experience.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the probably the safest bet, at least you might have a very nice view even if the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenkagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for noting your comments. I am deeply sorry that you had issues with your room throughout your stay and I shall be meeting with the housekeeping team and the maintenance man to discuss your comments at length and see what we can do to rectify these issues as a matter of priority. We thank you for providing a balanced review and assure you we will deal with any issues today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutts, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here May 25th-27th .Our room [3rd floor overlooking the City but no noise] was small but you have to consider that this was made so because of the en-suite. Remember that this is a very old hotel and there is not a lot you can do to it. The room was a little tired but it was very clean.
We were on tour and I lived in Lancaster from a baby till I was 18 and so I wanted to share some of its history with my wife. This hotel is part of that history. From Charles Dickens staying there [in fact it is mentioned in one of his books] to it being, for hundreds of years, an important part of the business and social life of Lancaster. Many auctions were held there in the 17-1800s.
The elevator is out of the early 1900s and it should be restored to its former glory to make it a marvellous showpiece.
The Dining Room with its huge ceiling and layout is awesome.
The staff were extremely friendly [as you can expect in that City] and were very helpful. When we checked out we had 6 hrs.' to wait for our transport but the receptionist told us to leave our luggage with her and told us to go and explore.
I tried that in Southern England but they wouldn't do it. All in all, we had a great experience [except we never saw the ghost]. We'll be back in England next year for a longer stay in Lancaster and we will be staying at The Royal Kings Arms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wulfgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for posting your comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have a knowledge of the history of the property. If this Hotel could talk she would have some wonderful stories! I am sure when the new owners start their refurbishment they will be sympathetic to the age and history of the property and the features like the lift and dining room will only be emphasised. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Bar
The Royal Hotel and Bar
#6 of 25 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kings Arms

Property: Royal Kings Arms
Address: 75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We always offer the best prices to our guests direct through hotel reception so be sure to call us first. Fantastic all round venue in a central location, ideal for weddings and functions, everything under one roof. In the heart of the historic city of Lancaster, with views of its famous castle, stands the Royal Kings Arms Hotel. Originally built in 1625 and later rebuilt in 1879, the hotel was immortalized by Charles Dickens in his tale of "The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices". This Grade II listed hotel has 55 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, including the luxury Castle Suite, with its four poster bed and views of the castle, the entrance to which is just 50 yards away. With origins dating back almost 1,000 years Lancaster Castle, a Grade 1 listed building, occupies a city-centre hilltop location on the site of three successive Roman forts and has been described by English Heritage as "not only the North-West's most important historic and archaeological monument but also of international importance". Other historic buildings in Lancaster include the Judge's Lodgings and the Doll Museum. The sea plays a big part in Lancaster's history and the Maritime Museum is a fascinating place to visit. Beyond the city, the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales are within easy reach, while the seaside resorts of Morecambe and Blackpool are a short drive away. Breakfast is available when checking in at reception, we do have car parking facilities at £5 per car per stay at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing