We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Premier Inn - just watch for credit card scam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
187 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Great Premier Inn - just watch for credit card scam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Used this as a stop over on a long journey and very pleased overall with product.

Staff were very pleasant - check in a little laborious as they go through the various corporate messages and offers they are told to make - try to sell you dinner, breakfast, explain good night sleep guarantee etc etc when all you want is a room key. There is a sour note where you are charged £2 to pay by credit card - not shown in room rate - but hidden (Ryanair style) in the small print. £2 on a £29 room is excessive and a money making scam.

It was -7c outside and room was still warm without much heating so can see would be too warm in summer, but fine in winter.

The Hotel is ideal for the motorway, but not that close to town - there are buses every 15 mins or so - stop right outside - but last bus back was 5.45pm! That said missed that, had a few good drinks in Lancaster and taxi was only £5.

Had not booked breakfast but decided to take on the day. Generally cold choice was very good, in selection as well as quality, The cooked breakfast whilst only a few pound extra is not worth the money - lukewarm and indifferent quality, as if dished up from a buffet in kitchen and not cooked to order. Credit Card scam no 2 - meal was almost all help yourself and service limited but staff still tried to encourage a tip by leaving the card PIN machine in state to enter your tip.

It's a shame that a couple of minor things may sour stay - but overall a good position and suitable alternative to a motorway hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for your review we are very sorry that you were not aware on arrival that payment with a Credit Card incurs a fee. We do show during the booking process the following note if you would like to pay for a Premier Offer room by credit card, you will be charged a fee of £2 to process your payment. This £2 fee will be taken when you pay for your room, either as a prepayment online or when you check-in. There is no charge for payments made with debit cards. If you reserve a Premier Offer room with your credit card but pay by some other method there is no charge. Please be assured that our Team Members follow the correct procedure regarding card payments and at no time encourage tips in this manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    266
    97
    28
    14
See reviews for
250
288
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

always busy and if you're going to lancaster don't leave it too late to book accommodation, the rooms at this premier are really welcoming and you can alter the temperature to suit, the breakfast is across the way at the brewers but its nice and you can have as much as you like for 7.95, i would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eileen062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed for a two night stay whilst touring the Lake District - on a positive note, the location is within easy reach of the M6 and the Lake District.

The staff were very welcoming and pleasant.

Now for the not so good points - the room was 26 degrees. We did not quite understand why the room was so hot as the temperature outside was not even that warm. The room had no air conditioning, just a ventilation system which did absolutely nothing. The window let in very little air and due to the amount of traffic noise had to be kept closed.

If you did manage to get to sleep despite the heat then the noise from the other rooms, especially upstairs would wake you.

If you do choose to stay here, request firmer pillows, a room overlooking the car park and be on the top floor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galloway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Our group were split in to 3 parties, One arrived at 1pm with all the rest of the baggage to unload. Unfortunately the rooms cant be accessed until paid for and the person paying wasnt able to arrive untill 7pm. This left a car full of baggage and unable to be used later as a taxi for the others. The rooms were alright, very spacious. The main road outside was amazingly busy all night. Try and get a room at the back.
Dont pay extra for a cooked breakfast unless you really plan to eat a lot. The continental version was way more than enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountainbiker668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

We were on our way home from the Isle of Man, arriving by ferry at Heysham just before midnight. The Premier Inn at Lancaster seemed like a good location for a stop-over. Upon arrival, we had a small wait because it appeared that other ferry passengers had a similar idea to us. The receptionist was very pleasant and dealt with our check-in in a very professional manner.

The room was easily located close to the lift and was bright and cheerful with tea/coffee refreshments available. The only problem we had was with the hand washbasin in the en-suite bathroom. Both the hot and cold tapps were difficult to operate and extremely hard to turn off.

Breakfast was very good and the service in the attached Brewers Fayre was quite exceptional.

The car park was large and convenient. All in all, the break was all we hoped for and we went shopping the next day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balmorallothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Stayed 1 night on business. Not a holiday resort hotel but fantastic none the less. The staff is what makes this hotel stand out from the norm. The lovely ladies on arrival were so friendly and jolly despite no doubt having seen many people book in by the time I arrived.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and the night chap even let me know I had left my key in the door.
I stayed away from the road so slept well. The rooms were clean warm and cosy. Even the TV had all the freeview channels available which for some reason most hotels only offer one or two freeview channels in these large chains.
There is a restaurant next door.
I'd happily stay here again when I'm next passing through.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheshireJourneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Owing to a family emergency in the area we had to book late and did not arrive until about 9.30 am. The male receptionist was very friendly and very welcoming and he seemed to pick up that we were there under difficuly circumstances. He even changed the room, which was booked through the central booking office by phone, to one which would be quieter for us ecen though we didn't ask. We are regular users of Premier Inns up and down the country and feel that Lancaster should have a special mention. Breakfast was also good and the two waitresses were very efficient and extemely well motivated. We would certainly recommend this Premier Inn for a stop over or even to spend a few days exploring the fantastic around Morecambe, the Pennines and the Lakes.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashton
The Ashton
#1 of 25 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Address: Caton Road | Lancaster Business Park, Lancaster LA1 3PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is near to Lancaster business park. Within easy reach of the M6, the historic city centre is a local attraction near to this Premier Inn. Conveniently located for Lancaster train station. Our Lancaster Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing