We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome and organic”
Review of The Whale Tail

The Whale Tail
Ranked #12 of 245 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wholesome and organic”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a hidden away little gem. It has an ethic of wholesome, organic fare and caters heavily for vegetarians. Laid back atmosphere, almost hippyish ( my memory is good!). Staff good and the chocolate cake great. Well worth a visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    82
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good healthy food, pleasant service, speedy serve.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Went to lancaster for the co-housing open day and made a special trip to the whale tail for breakfast
Quick serve, lots of help from delightful counter girl, speedy chef service and yummie waiter. what more can i say? fantastic notice board, delightful music and comfy seating. perfect place to eat vegan. will go again asap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Veggie Heaven”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A real gem for vegetarians in the Lancaster area, with a huge amount of variety including daily specials. The hippie atmosphere in this place is brilliant, though the service can be slightly lacking. I have been several times and think even though the food is a little expensive it is well worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing garden”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had lunch here today. We had our dog with us and so had to sit in their hidden garden. It has high walls so no problem with the wind and such a lovely place to sit. The food is all veggie and all made fresh on the premises.
I chose a simple jacket potato with black wax, very strong cheddar and my partner cheddar and cashew nut rissoles. Both came with a tasty fresh Whale Tail salad. They cater for veggie, vegan and gluten free diets. Oh and of course for anybody who enjoys fresh tasty food. Don't be put off by the veggie aspect if you are a meat eater. Provided you are a bit adventurous then you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We were invited into the Whale Tail by their daily food A board that was on the main road. After 15 minutes of sitting and choosing our food we got up to order. We were abruptly told that they stopped serving food at 4. It was 4.05. I questioned why they didn't tell us this when we (3 of us) walked in. She said she didn't see us?! There was only one other couple in the cafe! We won't be visiting again due to the rude staff. P.s take the board down if your closing!

Helpful?
3 Thank Miller07929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whale Tail also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Whale Tail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing