We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect meal in the Meeting House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Meeting House

The Meeting House
Ranked #26 of 240 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$41
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A perfect meal in the Meeting House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I ate here for the first time on Saturday night after recommendations from friends. It is rather unobtrusive and you could easily pass it without even acknowledging its existence, a hidden gem. It is small, intimate and has a continental feel. The staff is friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. After ordering we did have to wait a little while for our starter but then you expect to wait when food is being freshly prepared. The meal was delicious and well presented. We both agreed it was probably the best meal out we had enjoyed in quite some time and we will certainly be returning the near future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runicmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    69
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heysham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Damned good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This restuarant has changed hands since I last visited about 2 years ago. It was lovely then, but it's better now. I was with a party of 8 females, so it was just how we wanted it, relaxed and fun. Everyone enjoyed their meal, which I thought was cooked just the way I like it. They have a good staff team, a great chef and the waitresses were professional & very pleasant, whatever we asked for we got. We arrived at 6.30 and left about 10.30 so you are not hurried out for someone to have the table booked straight after you, which made it feel welcoming and friendly. A very enjoyable time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I booked The Meeting House for a romantic meal for two. When I arrived I found out there was an offer - 3 courses and half a bottle of wine each for £25 pp which I think offers good value.
The food was fantastic, I had the garlic and goats cheese mushrooms followed by the lamb shank. The lamb in particular blew me away and was absolutely lovely.
The service was decent. I'd recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stokel008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Truly excellent!- Not to be missed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This restaurant is a lovely restaurant near Lancaster castle and does excellent, tasty food of super quality. A good range of dishes on the menu too. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal there-all three courses were delicious and at reasonable prices. We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tasty cosy homecooked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Great food see my pics, fab service from when we walked in.Had to wait a while unbeaten courses however we enjoyed this as didn't want to rush, it was busy on a friday night so great cosy atmosphere!The stuffed mushrooms were delicious, the lamb shank tender and yum, they were kind to do dauphinoise with my lamb.Veg portion could be a but bigger but we never said anything as we were still happy, the sticky toffeee wow and the cheeseboard lovely again maybe a but more variety on the cheeses would be good but very tasty anyhow.This restaurant definitely has upped its game from years ago and could be my new fave restaurant in lancaster!However I do think prices need to come down a little bit, I do understand its homecooked food and lovely restaurant but I'm scared that like most restaurants trying,to survive at the minute with it being a slight walk of town I would be wary it will survive.

Helpful?
Thank hollywood8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Meeting House also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Meeting House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing