We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lancaster, Lancaster District, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hawky67
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived for the New Year celebrations. Place was lovely and peaceful, which is just what we needed.

Rooms were lovely. Watch your head upstairs. We liked the layout and enjoyed our time there.

However a great time away was nearly ruined by the owner.

Top tip. Take photos as you leave of how you have left the place, as he tried it on asking for more money. He stated that our neighbour had left white dog hairs everywhere. They had 2 black dogs.

Would I go back. No. Not after him trying it on. Which is a shame, because the place is lovely.

I didnt mark it down, as it is the owner that is at fault, not the place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky S
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you like reading don't stop here in the winter”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

When we arrived the cottage looked wonderful and the location was perfect. It was comfortable and warm.

Unfortunately for a cottage that was perfect for walkers there were a few problems. The main one being there were no coat hooks, nowhere to put wet walking gear, coats hats or boots and shoes, it was ridiculous. There were no hooks to hang things to dry or place to put wet walking boots or clothes. we had to hang coats on the staircase. A coat rack or hooks under the staircase would have been a good idea.

The second problem and even more of a problem was the fact it was winter and got dark early. The lighting was so pathetic you couldn't see to read. The main lights were over 20 ft up and were very poor low energy bulbs. there was meant to be lighting over the cooker but there was one dim bulb and the fluorescent tubes had been removed or didn't work. We had to use torches so we could see to cook or read or do anything. We ended up borrowing torched and inspection lamps.

There were no table-mats or tablecloths to protect the excellent table although there were coasters. Especially difficult was the fact that, especially as we were doing Christmas dinner the fact the roasting pan didn't fit in the oven. there were plenty of plates, glasses and other crockery and cooking pans.

Finally there were no floor mats for the bathrooms making it dangerous on the wet floors.

I feel Sykes should insist the owners of properties should stay in them for a week before renting them out and not just in the good weather. Our holiday would have been a lot better if we could have been able to see to read and cook without torches and Sykes had checked the equipment worked.

I'm sure this cottage is wonderful in the summer but in the dark nights forget it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinkfluff...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It even has a donkey ( not guaranteed)”
Reviewed 17 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Arrived in the pitch dark. Well hidden down a lane, could do with a sign in the lane, but advantage was how peaceful it was. Extremely well equipped, toasty warm, comfy firm beds, really close to Lancaster but still very much in countryside.Nice walks with the added advantage of a garden centre with a great tearoom a few steps away. Donkey at the bottom of the garden an added bonus. Safe enclosed garden and parking close by for those travelling with little ones. With three bedrooms and two other cottages attached would be great place for a big family gathering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariabatt...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“great great relaxing holiday just what I needed”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Poppy cottage is very spacious, has everything you need ,very comfy bed ,we loved the double doors and having my morning cup of tea in the garden watching the gosts play, there are lovely walks in and around the estate ,we loved the peacocks too, I came home very relaxed,we will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: feeling so relaxed
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley D
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Restful Stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage for three nights. It was comfortable and spacious and we enjoyed it. Everything was very clean and it was convenient for us because it was 5-10 minutes from Lancaster by car. Please be aware that there were no weighing scales or functional measuring jug, which we understand has now been rectified. Please be aware that there is absolutely no food provided, this includes coffee, milk, sugar or salt. The caretaker may be able to supply these things.
We will certainly think of staying at the cottage again for it's convenience. Importantly, it is a more relaxed place to stay than a budget hotel at a comparable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Lack of salt, sugar and also scales and adequate measuring jug
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;