We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toll House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toll House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fabulous hotel, great for Gluten Free, spotlessly clean. Can't ask for more. staff so helpful, very fast reply to questions. Five star beyond a doubt. Baths or shower... Just ask. Perfect. Good menu, wine reasonable, great local ales and take away packs.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for work, with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferretgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
"Fabulous" and "perfect" work for us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    198
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
205
24
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is pretty much in the centre which was good.There is limited parking. The room was small and pretty clean and we were offered fresh milk in a flask for our tea/ coffee. We only stayed one night which was a Saturday so didn't expect it to be too quiet as opposite Revolution which is a popular "hang out" for students but the double, double glazed windows blotted out any noise. Unfortunately we were in room 4 which is adjoined to room 5 and the only separation is a door so I was woken up in the middle of the night by the occupants of room 5 coming back late (3ish) from their night out. The bedspread/throw at the end of the bed looked to be a little dirty, a couple of white marks on it, but that would be my only complaint re cleanliness. The shower was good and the large towels appreciated. ( Shower cap would have been useful). Breakfast was semi self service and fine.

Room Tip: Makes sure your room is NOT adjoining another unless it's family or friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
It seems we almost hit the nail on the head but not quite perfectly - we do offer rooms at the back and you can always request a quiet room next time. Sorry you were disturbed but it's good to know that the double glazing does the job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for one night last week. We arrived at noon and asked to leave our bags but our room was ready so we got access to it then, which was great.The room was lovely and comfortable with nice little touches like a thermos of milk for tea and coffee, sleeping mask with ear plugs, good supply of toiletries. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated on the main road just opposite the canal with easy access to the canal towpath. We went by train and it was an easy walk from the station to the hotel.
We ate in the restaurant which was a bit disappointing. The portions were not very big. We had two main courses and a bottle of wine which cost £17 so it was a bit annoying to see a notice on the way out offering a bottle of wine for £5 when buying two main courses.
Overall we had a really good stay and I would return to stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
If you email the hotel personally, we'll make sure we give you a bottle of wine for £5 no matter what you eat next time you stay - sorry about that one. Pleased that you really enjoyed your stay otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent not perfect.

What wonderful:
The service. Quality energetic staff keeping the rooms clean and glasses full. Yummy full breakfast to order. Cozy lounge with local beers. Central location. Super clean! Terrific value!!

What can be better:
The beds (droopy). Extra pillows and towels. We need more than just enough. How to turn off lights without stopping phone charging.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gravity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed most almost everything about your stay - we can sort out extra pillows anytime...Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The acid test for any hotel is it's breakfast time coffee. Too often a decent cooked breakfast is spoilt by the accompanying pot of mud coloured water.

But not at Penny Street Bridge. Here the early morning coffee is every bit as good as the rooms, the beds, the super modern bathrooms, the food and the every smiling staff. In short, it's pretty much perfect!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobertAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
It would be great if our locally roasted by Atkinson's coffee had this effect on everyone that stayed here! We already know that our breakfast does...thanks for your review and we'll have the coffee piping hot and ready and waiting for you next time you visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a double room for a overnight stay whilst on business in Lancaster
The hotel comprises a series of contemporary rooms with modern decor and features over the original pub.
This is a city centre hotel convenient for all the attractions in the centre of Lancaster with a public car park nearby.
As this an old pub located on a major road thro Lancaster even though secondary double glazing was installed you will still hear trafic noise. As a 'townie' this did not worry me, but visitors sensitive to noise should try elsewhere.
I spent a pleasant evening in the pub with a pint of real ale using the free wi-fi.
The full 'Lancashire' cooked breakfast was tasty and filling using locally sourced produce
I will stay again if the chance arises

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Andy, thanks for your review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay - next time you can always request a room at the back - quieter than sleeping in the middle of the Lakes - fact!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay at Penny Street Bridge, everything was great, the rooms, food and most of all the very friendly helpful staff. They could not have done more for us.
Getting a freshly cooked breakfast with a good choice was a real treat.

17 of us enjoyed a meal on Saturday evening and the food was spot on.

If we are in this part of the country again would certainly stay here.

Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks for your review Alison, it's great to hear that the team looked after you so well during your stay here - looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Bar
The Royal Hotel and Bar
#6 of 25 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Inn

Property: Toll House Inn
Address: 120 Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England (Formerly Penny Street Bridge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toll House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Lancaster, Toll House Inn is a popular hotel full of character and charm. We've a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere but have maintained many historic features. Each of our rooms are uniquely shaped and unlike the other. All rooms are equipped with all the small details that make it a home away from home. And in the morning you'll awake to a hearty Lancashire breakfast. Downstairs is our popular bar and restaurant which serves locally sourced dishes alongside a fantastic range of cask ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toll House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Street Bridge Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing