We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fellsman train trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toll House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toll House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fellsman train trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed in a lovely big double room with a fantastic large bathroom prior to our trip on the Fellsman train. Stayed for 2 nights and pre-booked the parking with the hotel - so convenient. Lovely breakfast on second morning (we didn't need it the first one as breakfast on the train). Staff really friendly and obliging would certainly go back again if going to Lancaster.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a bath as extra roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here at Penny street bridge we pride ourselves on our food here as well as the hotel rooms. We look forward to seeing you gain if you ever are in Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    195
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
205
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed the night prior to taking the steam train Lancaster, hotel do organise breakfast from 06:00hrs to allow you to get to the station (10-15mins walk) the choice was plentiful, the full English delicious, wish we had stayed for a second night as only got back off the trip around 21:30. The evening meal was a little expensive but lovely and well presented, decor is slightly continental with quite a relaxing atmosphere good selection of beers and wine, the rooms well equipped, don't really need anything else, would defiantly return

Room Tip: Only stayed once in room 29, quite top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us here at Penny street bridge and that you would return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Booked for a weekend away

Rather a nice place, not too far from the city centre, and on a busy road but not too noisy
Our room was small but wonderfully presented with large shower

Breakfast was plentiful and the cooked Doorstop a recommendation
Evening meal good value, beers all Thwaites, excellent but a little pricey

I'd happily come back again as all staff friendly and helpful

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richardc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Penny street bridge. The cooked Doorstop is definitely one of the firm favourites o our breakfast menu along side the Full Lancashire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location, although very busy road but not disturbed by it in our room. Room very good size, clean and well equipped with the usual but also hot chocolate sachets....lovely! Hotel bar was very quiet for a Friday evening, but plenty of other places close by to go. Staff very friendly, only grumble is breakfast took a while to come. Wifi only on ground floor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Penny street bridge. We think all rooms in a hotel should have a hot chocolate option also! We pride ourselves on the fact that all our food is cooked fresh and to order so this can be why sometimes food can take a little longer to arrive. We hope that you come back to stay again with us when you are next in Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable room with good sized en-suite in an excellent location beside the canal. All local attractions were within walking distance. We spent three nights here and were very comfortable. Staff were friendly. The bar downstairs was a welcome amenity after a day's walking. Overall, we had an enjoyable three night stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed while passing through for one night.

Friendly staff, room clean and functional.

Only issue was the music from bar next door but that stopped at 23.00.


Breakfast very good, fresh and well made.

Parking is close by, just across the road.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, next time don't hesitate to contact us and we will try our best to make sure your away from the pub next door, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here overnight before a full days steam hauled train journey from Lancaster. A very warm and friendly welcome, pleasant room - modern fittings and clean. Didn't have breakfast as it was provided on the train. Would certainly stay again if ever needing to stay in Lancaster. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HebrideanLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, perhaps if you stay again you will be able to try out our breakfast?! Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#7 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Inn

Property: Toll House Inn
Address: 120 Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England (Formerly Penny Street Bridge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Toll House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Lancaster, Toll House Inn is a popular hotel full of character and charm. We've a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere but have maintained many historic features. Each of our rooms are uniquely shaped and unlike the other. All rooms are equipped with all the small details that make it a home away from home. And in the morning you'll awake to a hearty Lancashire breakfast. Downstairs is our popular bar and restaurant which serves locally sourced dishes alongside a fantastic range of cask ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Toll House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Street Bridge Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing