We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again, if I was working in the area. OK.”
Review of Saltwells Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dudley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltwells Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Dudley B&B and Inns
Derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Would stay again, if I was working in the area. OK.”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The staff were very friendly and pleasant. I had a terrible migraine when I arrived and the staff were quick to find me a paracetamol and a glass of iced water to take to bed.

The room was small, warm, fine for a night or two, with a wardrobe and had its own shower room, the room was in a fair condition, the shower room was fairly new, but closer attention could of being paid to cleaning it. The biggest down side was that the mattress in the room was really uncomfortable with big springs.

Breakfast was simple, cheap and pleasant, toast, cereals, sausages, bacon, eggs, fruit juice, tea or coffee.

We paid 45.00 for a double room and breakfast. I was happy to pay this price. I would stay here again if I was working in the area.

The location is good, just 10 minutes walk to the shopping center and about 20 minutes walk to the train station, there is a short cut both directions, through the woodland nature reserve, which is a pleasant enough walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The saltwells is set back quite a way from the main road,it reminded me of a trip to the local landfill tip years ago as a child down a narrow lane,and strangely upon our arrival i was not suprised as we met with a baron run down publichouse and masses of fly tipped rubbish dumped over the carpark wall.As were walking to the door there was a smell of venting rancid cooking oil from the kitchen on the front of the building.the first bad sign was the dripping black oil from the vent above my head.the smell wafted through the building as we entered into the brightly lit boutique 1970s bar and restaurant,styled in fire-engine red and gloss white decor.we sat at an empty free table to look at menus and order drinks only to be told to move as they were reserved by a young waitress who had no manners(or reserved table signs). i ordered cajun chicken and chips,delivered to the table in good waiting time,the peas were stewed to an olive green and the chips were greasy, soggy and tasted of fish from dirty unchanged frying oil.
"The butterflied cajun chicken was tasty and cooked just right,though no garnish in site"!
Terrible amosphere! average food.! do not venture off the beaten track to eat here but definitely turn off and visit if you have a couple of bags of rubbish you need to dump over the wall .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinselBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dudley hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

We live local and visit often. The food is always served piping hot and the service is excellent. Value for money , good food.
Nice overall experience , well done to all those involved in running the place. Well worth booking a coach party.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Busterchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Over the last ten years or so it has been my pleasure to dine out at the " Saltwells " and have always found the food and service to be a good standard. Today I have dined out yet again with the wife, Sunday roast lunch, dessert and tea for less than £12 for the pair of us, whilst the menu would probably not impress Mr Ramsay this is not always a bad thing. I can reccomend the Saltwells to anyone looking for good honest black country food and hospitality. Arrive early as this place is very popular !

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I stayed overnight, at Saltwells Inn, Brierley Hill, Dudleys to visit to the 'Black Country' .
Walk the former canals, visit trade & industry sites, museums in Dudley,
(including Black Country Living Museum).
If conduct also 'retail therapy' sorties, on local retail development centres: Merry Hill.
Accommodation basic, yet comfortable at a 'budget' price, have a pub meal in or dine out..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
2.5 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Breierley Hill
95 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Silverdale Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dudley
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwells Inn

Property: Saltwells Inn
Address: Saltwells, Dudley DY5 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dudley
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Saltwells Inn Dudley, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing