We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crooked House

The Crooked House
Ranked #27 of 157 Restaurants in Dudley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Most people who have not heard of the crooked house, when I've taken them there they think it was built crooked.
They don't believe it is through subsidence.
Put a coin on the ledge and it will roll uphill, that always amazes them.
Great place for a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank john6101953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    203
    104
    68
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Shame about the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I love taking overseas visitors to the Crooked House it says so much about the Black Country and the Dudley area in particular.

However 'spanna 02' is correct in respect of very slow service. My wife and I have visited (separately) and can testify to this.

So I take my visitors to the pub for a pint - Banks's bitter at its very best - then on somewhere else to eat. There are plenty of other places in the vicinity.

Very silly of the managerial staff to throw away such a unique advantage with poor planning.

Tony
Sedgley
June 2014

Helpful?
1 Thank 513Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, good service and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked here to celebrate my 40th Birthday in April. There were 16 people in total. 10 Adults and 6 Kids (2-11) . I was a little worried about going there but I wanted somewhere that was a little "different". I had a menu from The Crooked House and then sent a copy to everyone who was going so they could choose the meal prior to the celebration. I let The Crooked House know the people choices and I have to say it was absolutely FABULOUS. The location was great. The food was tremendous. The service excellent. Can't wait to go again . They put us into the conservatory which was fab. It enabled the kids to play and chatter with no worry to other diners. There was a little climbing frame just outside the conservatory which the children clambered over in between courses. Happy kids. Happy Adults. Would Deffinatly recommend here.

Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful, natural phenomenon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This little public house looks like it's falling down as you pull onto the car park.. As it appears to sink into the ground on the side..
Once inside you will be amazed to see coins (or balls) actually rolling upwards - children & adults alike will be bewildered! It can be quite confusing & often makes me feel a little dizzy (I can only explain the sensation as being like vertigo), but it's well worth a visit!!
We shall definitely be going back again & again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Well worth going”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Worth going to see the building alone! Good food and great atmosphere and try to roll a coin up the table! It's a great Black Country pub!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denartes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crooked House also viewed

 
Dudley, West Midlands
Dudley, West Midlands
 

Been to The Crooked House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing