We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was ideal for 2 nights stay to enable us to visit The Black Country Museum. Excellently placed enabling us to walk there. It exceeded all our expectations for the price and will certainly be used again if the occasion arises.

Room Tip: As budget hotels go you will not get better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Alan R
Many thanks for posting a review from your stay with us great to hear that your stay met with your expectations.

Not only are we within walking distance to the excellent Black Country Museum, there is Dudley Zoo & Dudley Canal Tunnel Trust just a short stroll away.

A Multiplex cinema complex, a ten pin bowling alley, a bingo hall along with several well known eateries are just 5 minute stroll from our hotel.

Hope that you decide to come back soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Quality it is not! the rooms are very basic and having been on the road all day I needed rest.I wouldnt say it was very clean.its a one night only if you cant get anything else hotel.The sign in the car park says sunday roast.only to be told no we dont do carvery anymore.evening meals dont start til 6pm.there is a smoking area out the back of the hotel,which is ok....but has rubbish and run down out buildings in the back car park.I was woke at 1.30am by noise in the next room,as the walls are paper thin.breakfast was awful...no cereal...no choice.....basic

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MandyTurner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello Ms Turner

Thanks for taking time & posting a review from your stay recently, please accept my apologies that your stay here did not meet with your expectations.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you are looking for a no frills hotel at a low price, then this is it. The hotel is tired, caught in the 70's but the bed linen and towels were crisp and clean. The restaurant food is more like pub grub but nevertheless good value for money. There are other hotels in the area that cost substantially more, but as they say "you get what you pay for". No surprises if you bear this in mind.
On a positive note, the staff are very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Rae C

Thanks for posting a review from your recent stay, good to hear that in spite of the nature of our consistantly competitive rates that we offer, the overall standard of the hotel met with your expectations, and you felt it was 'Good Value' when compared to other local hotels.

We currently have a program of ongoing refurbishment of public areas & bedrooms throughout the year.

Kind regards

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

One receptionist is rude but majority ok. Rooms are fairly good for the price. wifi works decent. Breakfast is nice but service isnt the best. 75 % of week guests are contractors. Tesco over road and a toby carvery. Miles better and cheaper than dinner in hotel. Gym and pool is a fiver and In hotel over road and is smart.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bradstour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Bradstour

Many thanks for your review from your recent stay with us, I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed as it was handy for The Black Country Museum where we were attending a conference.The hotel had been booked by our Director and we were told that she would pay. When we tried to check in the lady on reception couldn't find our booking.We pointed out that our daughter(the Company Director) had booked it and had been staying with them for a day already.She still couldn't find the booking adding that it was only her second day working there.She then called for help.This lady found our booking and then left the first lady to carry on.As it was obvious that the hotel was not fully booked, I asked for a quiet room at the back.We got our key.The room was at the front next to the busy road.I went back to reception to ask for another room.The more experienced member of staff looked at the key and said that I had been given the wrong room anyway as my daughter had asked for a quiet room at the back.We got the correct key and it was indeed a quieter room at the back.The rooms are a bit tiered but very clean although they do smell musty.My husband went to sit on the bed at this point only to find that the super slippy castors on the bed tried to kill him!The bed shot off across the room with him ending up splat! on the floor which did not do him any good as he has knee and shoulder issues.I had to wedge the bed in place with one of the chairs and wedges of tissues under the castors.In the morning he had a look at the inclusive breakfast but warned us not to go there.So to sum it up, the hotel is a bit dated but very clean, the staff are very nice and friendly but need a lot more training and the breakfast is very poor.All this was forgivable at the £45 we paid, however the rack rate is £115.
A more concerning thing is however the very poor security.My daughter was woken at 3AM by a strange man entering her room!she reported this to the staff who could not understand who it was or how they got in.This is very worrying.
We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello Angela
Thanks for posting your review from your recent stay here & please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

Regards

Nick W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It was value for money and the staff were excellent. They were so helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean and tidy and had a comfortable feeling about it. Everywhere feel spacious. It was only an overnight stay but I will definitely stay here again. Would recommend to anyone looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello Michelle
Thanks for posting your review & great to hear that your overnight stay here recently met & exceeded your expectations.

For you to state that you would 'definitely stay here again' is all the staff work towards, so guests have a good experience of the hotel, it's staff, facilities & service & want to come back.

We hope to see you again soon

Regards

Nick W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently had my wedding at the Quality Hotel Dudley and the day was perfect! We had a 3 course meal and a drinks package for 80 people and a hot buffet for 150 people on the evening. The food was excellent and everything was well timed The waiting staff were quick and friendly and helped with room decoration too. The 2 managers running the day were brilliant and took care of everything. They catered to every little thing I asked for including high chairs, different menu choices for certain people and even allowing an ice cream van on the premises for the evening. I would definitely recommend this venue for a wedding as the food and service are great and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello Sam

Thanks for posting a review of your fabulous wedding day celebrations held here at our hotel recently, & great to hear that everything went like clockwork so you & your husband along with all your family & friends could relax & really enjoy themselves.
The hotel's GM along with the F&B mgr & hotel staff worked really hard to ensure that everything arranged for your day here was perfect.
Best wishes

Nick W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.1 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Breierley Hill
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quality Hotel Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quality Hotel Dudley

Address: Birmingham Road, Dudley DY1 4RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range: £39 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quality Hotel Dudley 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's located in the heart of the West Midlands and the Black Country, once the centre of industry in Great Britain and the world. We are just 2 miles from Jct 2 M5 & 4miles from Jct 9 M6 motorways, & have great local public transport links right outside our door.The hotel boasts 72 ensuite bedrooms, a combination of doubles, twins & family bedrooms, all with flat screen TV's, tea&coffee making facilities, trouser press, free high speed Wi-Fi internet access throughout, free car parking, 24hr reception, & a full service restaurant.The hotel is within easy walking distance to great local attractions including Dudley Zoo, The Black Country Museum, and the Dudley Canal and Limestone Mines.Vibrant & exciting Birmingham city centre is less than 20mins away by car; the train station is only 1 mile from our hotel, regular service takes you into Birmingham in 10 mins with having no worries about parking charges either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quality Hotel Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Dudley
Quality Hotel Dudley
The Quality Hotel Dudley West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing