We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Accessories - Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Business Accessories - Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on more than one occasion and found it to be reasonable in price, facilities and service.

On my last stay I was disappointed/annoyed that the Wi-Fi system was not working properly. Bit of a nuisance when you consider my stay was in connection with my business and the wi-fi was, quite frankly, rubbish.
I was told that some young lads were staying in the hotel and they were 'draining' the signal. Not my problem but I was affected by it.
I was given a number to ring and ask for advice/assistance. This was pointless except it added to my annoyance because I had to pay for the 'non-service'.
I have not crossed off the hotel from my list as I believe in second chances.
I had intended to stay there for the whole of the following week and hoped for a 'deal' on the anticipated cost - I was contacted by the Sales Dept. The deal was dearer than quotes using Internet Bookings Agents. Perhaps they should check their own 'Bookings.com' details first?
A great pity.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FDM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for your review from your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately we did have a problem with our Wi-Fi service recently which necessitated a system upgrade in our Wi-Fi hardware, the problem did coincide with your stay.

We did offer a preferred fixed rate for consideration for any future stays due to your local business requirements. These fixed rates can be slightly higher depending on the availability at the hotel at times throughout the year, however, when rates are high as our availability is restricted, the preferred rate will always apply.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    79
    72
    63
    102
See reviews for
74
116
22
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent one night at the Quality Hotel while visiting the West Midlands Safari Park and Black Country Living Museum.

On arrival we had no trouble finding a space in the car park. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We'd booked a family room, but found that the bedroom we'd been allocated only contained a double bed. However, as soon as we informed the receptionist of the mistake she apologised and changed us to another room. The bedroom was fairly basic, but appeared to have been newly decorated and was spotlessly clean, and we were provided with lovely soft white towels. The beds were comfortable and the shower worked well. The room was equipped with a modern flat-screen TV, trouser press, hairdryer and tea/coffee-making equipment.

As we were tired from travelling we decided to stay in the hotel to eat. The restaurant was a bit tired-looking, and the barman seemed as if he could barely be bothered to serve us. The food was passable, but was really only 'pub grub' at inflated prices.

We had also pre-booked breakfast to save money, but what we got was barely worth even the discounted price of £5. We'd expected a self-service buffet, but instead got served up small portions of bacon, sausage etc. There was a toast machine, but only one flavour of jam (as well as marmalade and honey). The fruit juices were a supermarket value range (they'd actually left the cartons out on show) and apart from a small selection of cereals the only other things on offer were a couple of croissants and Danish pastries. There were teacups and a sugar bowl on the table but we couldn't actually find any tea/coffee and the man who'd served our breakfast had disappeared, so we had to go back to our bedroom for a hot drink. We'd have done much better to walk a couple of hundred yards down the road to the Toby Carvery where we could have had a hearty breakfast for £3.99.

The hotel is very well located for visiting Dudley town centre and a variety of attractions, and it was absolutely fine for a short stay, but I would recommend eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel overlooks a busy road, so if possible request a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for posting a review from your recent stay with us, good to see that apart from the issues raised with our standard of food service your stay met with your expectations.

We are always striving to improve our standards & your review has been forwarded through to the hotel's General Manager & the Restaurant Manager also for appropriate action to be taken.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had an early appointment in Dudley the following morning so decided to get there the evening before. Needed a hotel in the Black Country and had no idea where to stay. The Quality Inn came up and looked like it was in the right area. I would say this is great for business people as it has a restaurant and bar on site so you don't have to go out looking for somewhere to eat and drink. The food is very well prepared and good value as is the wine list. They have a £5 breakfast deal, (although a bit basic it is OK) and evening meal deal at around £12.99. Wine starts at £11 a bottle. There is plenty of free parking. It is just a bit too far to walk into Dudley in the evening, but having been there now why would you want to.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel not overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiltaGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for your review from your recent stay, good to hear that your stay met with your expectations.

We hope that we can look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel isn't bad at all but it's not great either. It cost me 45 quid to stay there for one night for me and my girlfriend. For that price I would expect clean sheets and a clean room with friendly staff and that's exactly what we got!
Very close to local amenities tesco, restaurants and cinema. Manager also gave us a 20% discount voucher for frankies and bennys which was kind.
Close to black Country museum and the zoo too (walking distance)
Overall this place isn't a grand hotel but for the price it's a decent place get your head down for the night.
Get what you pay for people

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello Ian E
Thanks for posting a review from your recent stay here, we always strive to provide a warm welcome to all our guests and a standard of service that meets & sometimes exceeds expectations.

We are very close to some great Black Country amenities to enable every guest a wide variety of options to do; from dining out, 10 pin bowling, multiplex cinema, bingo, visiting the local Dudley Zoo, Black Country Museum and Dudley Canal Tunnel Trust. All are within easy walking distance.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiptonwest midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

i was searching for a nice restaurant for a family meal, that was within easy reach for a family of 12, that could be reached by taxi from different addresses.
After searching on line, i went into the ward arms menu, it looked just what we were looking for,
a variety of different food, pizza for the kids....ideal.
We booked for a table of 12, after arriving, we sat in a very small, dated lounge while our table was being laid, we went to the bar to order drinks, the choice was very limited,about 4 different brands. after sitting chatting we were bought menu's, after looking for choices, i noticed this was not the menu i saw on line, after asking the waitress who bought the menu's about the one i saw on the internet, i was met with a curt, " which one, this is the only menu choice ".
The menu we were given had much fewer choices, considerably dearer and no choices for children.
We had to ask if there were any choices for children, and then given few options,
i was not impressed, so myself and my grownup grandson just ordered a bowl of chips each, and that was just to be polite to the rest of the family.
when the food arrived, and everyone had started to eat, about half way through his meal, a family member noticed his gammon was undercooked in the middle, after complaining to the waitress, who removed the food, we sat there waiting for at least another portion of gammon.....NOTHING.....When asking the waitress about the food, she went to the kitchen, returned with the same little piece of gammon that had obviously been warmed up, and said, " the chef has given you a few chips ans a fried egg to go with it ".
Not happy with the situation, the restaurant manager came over, apologized and said there would be no charge for the meal.
Overall, the food was at inflated prices, nothing special, and we will never be going back, and i wouldn't recommend this place to friends either, its a pity because the location suited everyone, and with various birthdays, we would have returned several times.
Just to satisfy myself, i again went onto the Ward Arms menu website, and again the menu was different to the one we was presented with at the restaurant.

Lesson learned, never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billmillward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Mr Millward
Thanks for posting a review of your visit to the Conservatory Restaurant over the recent weekend, please accept my sincere apologies that your family's meal & overall experience did not meet with your expectations.

Our restaurant's website does show a 'sample A la Carte menu' of dishes that is subject to changes due to seasonal nature of the food that we serve throughout the year.

We could have done a great deal better overall for your family's visit however, & both the General Manager and the hotel's owners have been made aware of the issues regarding your meal.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-le-Willows, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was ideal for 2 nights stay to enable us to visit The Black Country Museum. Excellently placed enabling us to walk there. It exceeded all our expectations for the price and will certainly be used again if the occasion arises.

Room Tip: As budget hotels go you will not get better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Alan R
Many thanks for posting a review from your stay with us great to hear that your stay met with your expectations.

Not only are we within walking distance to the excellent Black Country Museum, there is Dudley Zoo & Dudley Canal Tunnel Trust just a short stroll away.

A Multiplex cinema complex, a ten pin bowling alley, a bingo hall along with several well known eateries are just 5 minute stroll from our hotel.

Hope that you decide to come back soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Quality it is not! the rooms are very basic and having been on the road all day I needed rest.I wouldnt say it was very clean.its a one night only if you cant get anything else hotel.The sign in the car park says sunday roast.only to be told no we dont do carvery anymore.evening meals dont start til 6pm.there is a smoking area out the back of the hotel,which is ok....but has rubbish and run down out buildings in the back car park.I was woke at 1.30am by noise in the next room,as the walls are paper thin.breakfast was awful...no cereal...no choice.....basic

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyTurner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Ms Turner

Thanks for taking time & posting a review from your stay recently, please accept my apologies that your stay here did not meet with your expectations.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dudley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.1 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
225 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Breierley Hill
95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quality Hotel Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quality Hotel Dudley

Property: The Quality Hotel Dudley
Address: Birmingham Road, Dudley DY1 4RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quality Hotel Dudley 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's located in the heart of the West Midlands and the Black Country, once the centre of industry in Great Britain and the world. We are just 2 miles from Jct 2 M5 & 4miles from Jct 9 M6 motorways, & have great local public transport links right outside our door.The hotel boasts 72 ensuite bedrooms, a combination of doubles, twins & family bedrooms, all with flat screen TV's, tea&coffee making facilities, trouser press, free high speed Wi-Fi internet access throughout, free car parking, 24hr reception, & a full service restaurant.The hotel is within easy walking distance to great local attractions including Dudley Zoo, The Black Country Museum, and the Dudley Canal and Limestone Mines.Vibrant & exciting Birmingham city centre is less than 20mins away by car; the train station is only 1 mile from our hotel, regular service takes you into Birmingham in 10 mins with having no worries about parking charges either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quality Hotel Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Dudley
Quality Hotel Dudley
The Quality Hotel Dudley West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing