We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa's grotto”

Dudley Zoo and Castle
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Dudley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DZG is unique… a home to more than 1300 animals, and has nigh on 200 species, including some of the rarest creatures on Planet Earth. Hundreds of exotic and endangered animals inhabit an ancient wooded hillside, with a rich geological history, around the ruins of the 11th century Dudley Castle and share a site with the world’s largest single collection of Modernist Tecton structures – and the country’s only vintage chairlift!
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed there was nothing Christmasy at all the elves and santa had no personality with the children the grotto itself was bare apart from a few Xmas trees with no lights or decoration on to make it Christmasy for the children. Santa didn't really know what to say to the children it felt very awkward. Having to wait for an hour in a very dull boring nothing to entertain you or no Xmas songs it felt like a life time in the queue. The zoo aswell was very poor as there was no shows at all on this day half the zoo was shut off so only ended up visiting half the zoo for a full days price. Definitely wouldn't recommend and definitely wouldn't waste my money on this event again

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chair lift"
in 182 reviews
"land train"
in 107 reviews
"lemur walk"
in 91 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 65 reviews
"sea lions"
in 52 reviews
"lemur wood"
in 39 reviews
"big cats"
in 27 reviews
"queen mary"
in 32 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 33 reviews
"car park"
in 163 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 26 reviews
"reptile house"
in 26 reviews
"feeding times"
in 23 reviews
"gift shop"
in 85 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 32 reviews
"great family day"
in 29 reviews
"food outlets"
in 22 reviews
Filter

1,035 - 1,039 of 2,158 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2015

We booked to see Santa at the zoo as we know the zoo quite well as we are regular visitors, the weather was wet unfortunately so we didn't walk around the animals as much as we would have liked, Santa was in the castle, it was well organised and all the elves were friendly and helpful, Santa was really good and talked to our 5 year old and let us take lots of photos, the elf also took a nice family shot.
The zoo looks great after lots of building work animals look great as always will be returning when weather gets better a really good day out

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Dudley zoo is always a very good day out with or without the children.ther is a variety of animals to view and sometimes you can feed them aswell. ther is also the cable cars to have a go on which have been there for years now,also its a nice views to look round .

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Had a fantastic day here for my 60th birthday on 25-12-15
Had lovely meal in the castle restaurant got jump on by a lemer in the lemer walk through which was so funny

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Jacquelinemcmahon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I was bought by a friend the 'Penguin Experience' which is basically the opportunity to feed and hang out with the amazing Humboldt penguins that they have at the Zoo.

We went on a miserable rainy Saturday in December, probably not the best time to visit a zoo as a number of the animals weren't on display, probably trying to keep warm somewhere.

So, it's a bit hard to judge the zoo itself as it definitely was the wrong time of year to see the zoo in it's glory.

I also have to admit that I have mixed feelings about Zoo's and keeping animals in captivity, however my opinion has changed after meeting and talking to the amazing staff there.

We had a 3pm time to feed the penguins and we were met by one of the Zoo keepers. She was utterly fantastic! A real credit to the place, warm friendly and knowledgeable.

Feeding the penguins was amazing (I'm a penguin fan hence the present..) It was great to get up close to these amazing animals and we spent about 40 minutes in the enclosure, with our amazing guide telling us all about the penguins and their lives at the zoo.

As an experience it was brilliant. All the staff seemed warm, welcoming and friendly.

Possibly December wasn't the best time to go, however I'd heartily recommend the zoo and booking either the Penguin experience or one of the other animal experiences they have to offer.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Jonathon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dudley Zoo and Castle also viewed

 
Dudley, West Midlands
 

Been to Dudley Zoo and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing