We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imposing Exterior, A Bit Tired Inside.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for one night at The Village Hotel, Dudley, and were rather pleased that we were not staying for much longer. The Reception was reasonably efficient and friendly, but unfortunately, the lift was not working, and as we were on an upper floor, and in our seventies, it was rather inconvenient. We were offered help, but as she was a rather small, ( but attractive ), young lady,
chivalry forbade that I should let her hump our luggage upstairs. Our room was adequate, if a little tired, tea and coffee, but no biscuits, and we overlooked a large expanse of flat roofing and ventilators. the bathroom was rather spartan, with rather small bathtowels, a fixed shower over the bath.
Our evening meal was reasonable, as we were a large party, but the drink prices were eye- wateringly expensive, with minimal choice of beers. Breakfast was adequate, with little choice of cereals or fruit, our early morning call did not happen, nor did the newspaper we had ordered arrive,( apparently it was a fault with the computer, i wish that one day it could be for some other reason ), we were able to pick the newspaper up at the desk after breakfast.
All in all, a not memorable stay, but as it was a private function, and we had negotiated a special rate, it was ,we suppose, reasonable value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,965)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,530 - 1,536 of 1,966 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great hotel for a break, near lots of attraction,and staff very friendly.
Breakfast is excellent, worth a try. The hotel comes over that it may be noisey at night but we didn't find this the case.
Would use it again.

Room Tip: If you need a fridge to store medication or keep anything cold, the basic rooms do not have one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ness W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the location and staff at the Village Urban Resort Dudley, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay.

If you do need anything refrigerating during your stay, we will be happy to assist at the main reception.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just had an overnight stay.
On entering the hotel its pretty impressive. On the down side we refused the first room offered, as the paint work and walls were full of old grimy yuk ! So we refused it.
We were told we were being given a free up grade to the (more superior) upper deck rooms. Again the walls were full of sticky dirty run marks. Furniture was chipped and battered.
The bed and towels were clean.
As we only had a short time with our friends we decided to keep this room and sort the problems out on check out.

I ended up getting a 50% refund, better than some of the excuses the manager was giving us..

We wont go again, the rooms in the Travelodge is far better, much cleaner and definitely cheaper.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Lindley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for contacting us following your stay at the Village Urban Resort Dudley, I am sorry to hear that the walls were an issue in the rooms; if you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me by emailing Katherine.jeffries@village-hotels.com.

Kind regards,
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The staff we're very friendly and helpful nothing was to much for them, the room was big and very clean, lovely dinner and breakfast with wonderful service, and the ladies at the spa simply amazing highly recommend and we would def come to this hotel again x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliecawdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind feedback Natalie, I will share it with the team, they will be thrilled.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location close to a range of restaurants, cinema, zoo, 24 hour supermarket. Good transport links and not far from Black Country Living Museum and Westfield Merry Hill. Staff were excellent (polite, friendly and helpful). Hotel has a Starbucks coffee shop ( though more expensive than a usual Starbucks) and has a large pool and offers spa treatments. There are other hotels in the area but we chose this one because of the pool.

Having taken opportunity for a swim in the lovely pool, our experience was spoilt by the shocking state of the changing rooms. Broken hair dryers in carrier bags, poor lighting as there were so many bulbs not working, difficult to find a locker that had coat hangers and a fully working door, and the shower areas looked dirty and ill maintained - missing skirting tiles looked like a mouse might appear at any moment. One toilet cubicle even has no door.

With some basic maintenance, repair and attention to detail this could be a lovely hotel, it's certainly got the location, location, location factor.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zena943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Had a two course meal in the verve grill, can't fault the food, it was well presented and tasted lovely, only let down was the restaurant was very cold, we asked for the air con to be turned off but they said it wasn't Controlled from the hotel and there was nothing they could do, there were other guests complaining of the cold too, we had planned to stay on for a few drinks after our meal but was too uncomfortable so we left, also the chairs we sat on both broke and had to be changed and we were overcharged for drinks on the bill which was amended when pointed out to the waitress, overall a bit disappointing would not go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jools1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for contacting us following your meal in the Verve Grill. I am sorry the restaurant was at an uncomfortable temperature resulting in you departing early. I have personally followed up with the Restaurant Manager regarding this issue.

We have a refurbishment programme in place for the restaurant, I am confident that if you decided to dine with us again the surroundings will be improved.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We got 2 Nights for the price of 1, i think it was because i rang to make the reservation and not booked on-line which was £85 for 1 night only. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was buffet style and it was well cooked and the presentation was excellent too. I would definately stay again. Tracy T

Room Tip: We stay on the 4th Floor. Ask to stay on the left side as our room was overlooking the roof of the h...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and a good deal at the Village Urban Resort Dudley. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
0.1 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Address: Birmingham Road | Castlegate Park, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range: £41 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley has 124 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing