We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and found it very good .This time was disappointing as the room was not as good as before and there was no atmosphere in the pub within the hotel.The meal wasnt too bad but there were not as many things available as before.When we went for breakfast the service and food were not up to the standard as before.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am so sorry you did not have as much of an enjoyable stay as you experienced previously.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel and experience the level of service you received before.


Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    536
    390
    214
    166
See reviews for
349
628
73
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived late Friday and had a delicious meal of fillet steak with peppercorn sauce and baked potatoe.The staff in the restaurant could not have been more helpful despite it being so late.
The room was warm clean quiet and cosy. Reception staff advised on all travel routes and great shopping centres close by ie Merry Hill. An excellent home from home.
Jacqueline
Bangor

Room Tip: We stayed in 133 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments Jacquie, I am delighted you had an enjoyable meal.

We hope to welcome you back to the Verve Grill soon.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked two rooms for our family. We were on different floors. The rooms were fine but the lift was very small. Breakfast was included but many times we had to change cutlery or crockery due to them being dirty. The lack of food hygiene was a concern. The swimming pool area was also in need of some cleaning. Overall it was a little bit disappointing and not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I am sorry your stay in the hotel did not meet expectations, if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact me by emailing Katherine.jeffries@village-hotels.com.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had their wedding package; room, hot food and accommodation and breakfast which was free for wedding couple and parents and discounted rooms for members of the party. Use of spa and pool included. Everything well planned and a member of staff always on hand to help out. We had the hot buffet which was excellent.

You can take your own DJ or band and can decorate the room yourself to your own taste which also helps to keep the cost down.

If you want a decent place with good service for a reasonable price then I would recommend the village.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merthyrboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I am delighted you had an enjoyable time at the Village Urban Resort Dudley on your special day. We hope your guest also had a wonderful time.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We spent the day here to see family then went for a meal and drink over the road at the bostin fittle. Which was beautiful. Had a drink in the bar at the villiage with live music and then early night. Room was beautiful warm and comfy. Slept great and had beautiful buffet breakfast. Definitely be back again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toniaxle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for you kind words following your stay at the Village Urban Resort Dudley, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very large, well-equipped gym, plenty of space for everyone. Spinning classes. Squash courts, Swimming pool....
Starbucks cafe in the hotel reception also a plus point.
Rooms (I was in a Twin room on the 2nd floor) are fine, though not the most spacious. One of my colleagues thought the walls were a bit thin, as noise travelled through....
Views out the back aren't great - over a big Tescos. But the proximity of the shops, zoo, castle etc are probably good for those with the time to spare!
Good breakfasts, variety of cooked, fruit, cereals, pastries etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for contacting us following your stay Mark, I am glad you enjoyed the leisure facilities. I appreciate the view of Tesco is not the best from a couple of our twin rooms. However I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast in the hotel and the surrounding area.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

When I heard that I was to attend a 3 day residential training course at the Village Hotel, Dudley, I checked the reviews on tripadvisor. They were generally depressing and negative, so I wasn't looking forward to the stay. The reality could not have been further removed from those negative reviews.
From the moment that I walked up to the Reception , to a warm and friendly greeting from the young woman behind the desk, every employee I met seemed genuinely helpful and enthusiastic. My room was all I could reasonably expect - comfortable double bed, TV, tea/coffee facilities, perfectly clean and wholesome ensuite bathroom. The décor may have been a little tired - but no big deal.
Meals were wholesome, and with a good variety of choice - even for a veggie like me. The aubergine and puy lentil cannelloni was particularly good. the restaurant waiting team were cheerful and obliging, even when our group made mistakes with the numbers due to be at the "team meal" one evening. They sorted us out calmly and efficiently.
The conference facilities were good, with ample refreshments available at breaks. I even tried the pool - excellent.

So - the village Dudley isn't' a warm, cosy characterful boutique hotel - but it doesn't set out to be. Our group of 12 were well looked after by a good team of employees. If it were not for the Village's policy of no name badge for their employees, i would have liked to mention the most impressive by name - but they were all good.. The man who seemed to be morning restaurant manager was particularly customer-friendly.
My experience over three nights with dinner, lunch and breakfast was so much better than the reviews suggested . I'd highly recommend it as a conference/training venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLonePoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for you kind words following your conference at the Village Urban Resort Dudley, I am glad the staff were warm and friendly and the facilities were enjoyed. We hope to welcome you and your party back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.1 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Property: Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Address: Birmingham Road | Castlegate Park, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley has 124 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing