We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So noisy!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So noisy!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Fortunately I only stayed one night. I was given room 231 - avoid it (and the one below). There is some sort of plant room next door which gives out a loud, modulating, hum - like an air con fan only too loud to fade away into white noise. I had been up since 05.30 and was exhausted but I couldn't block this out. I phoned reception who responded straight away and moved me to another room at 23.30 at night. No qualms. Just did it.
This one, 261, was closer to the big Tesco behind the hotel, the one with all the plant humming throughout the night. Fortunately, with the windows shut, I could cope with this - although it was still there whenever I woke up during a very fitful night.
I appreciate they can't control what happens at Tesco, but the hotel could do something about its own internal noises.
If you do stay here take a moment of peace and calm as you first enter your room otherwise you might miss the background hums over the sound of the TV (as I did), and check you can deal with any extraneous noises before you settle in.
And check the cost of breakfast. I added it on to the room for £10 when I booked. Outside there is a board offering breakfast for £5.95. On querying this - why should residents pay more than people who drop in - my bill was reduced. It was pointed out to me that this is a bargain if there are two of you in the room - only £5.00 each. But there weren't and I had to ask for the reduction.
Nice staff - but I found my stay difficult. Not what I needed before a long days work.
Good pool, though. Long enough for a proper swim. A fair few locals enjoying the aquarobics and the steam room, too.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front. The back has a big Tesco one side and a main road the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDelafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear John,

I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed with the external noises, please contact us personally if you are looking to return, we can ensure you get a nice, quiet room.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    498
    366
    199
    155
See reviews for
321
577
71
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Visited this hotel for a night on business. The whole hotel is a little tired. The doors still use real keys! There was no aircon so the room was very hot (despite turning the heater off). It'll do for a night on business but I couldn't do 2!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable in the room, I would highly recommend our UpperDeck rooms if you are looking to return to the area, they are fully air conditioned.

We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely hotel great facilitys and great bar and resturant rooms are very spacious with flat screen tv would highly recomend if you have to stay in this area the resturant has a great atmospere on the weekend with live bands

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback following your stay at the Village Urban Resort Dudley. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend as part of night, spa and party night deal. Really impressed with the standard of the rooms, spa treatments and food served. We ate in the pub on site and had an evening buffet both were of good value. The rooms were clean and well equipped. Really impressed ( especially as we'd only come from Birmingham!)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thefunnytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay, meal and spa package.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future as you are not too far away.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and found it very good .This time was disappointing as the room was not as good as before and there was no atmosphere in the pub within the hotel.The meal wasnt too bad but there were not as many things available as before.When we went for breakfast the service and food were not up to the standard as before.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am so sorry you did not have as much of an enjoyable stay as you experienced previously.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel and experience the level of service you received before.


Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived late Friday and had a delicious meal of fillet steak with peppercorn sauce and baked potatoe.The staff in the restaurant could not have been more helpful despite it being so late.
The room was warm clean quiet and cosy. Reception staff advised on all travel routes and great shopping centres close by ie Merry Hill. An excellent home from home.
Jacqueline
Bangor

Room Tip: We stayed in 133 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments Jacquie, I am delighted you had an enjoyable meal.

We hope to welcome you back to the Verve Grill soon.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked two rooms for our family. We were on different floors. The rooms were fine but the lift was very small. Breakfast was included but many times we had to change cutlery or crockery due to them being dirty. The lack of food hygiene was a concern. The swimming pool area was also in need of some cleaning. Overall it was a little bit disappointing and not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I am sorry your stay in the hotel did not meet expectations, if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact me by emailing Katherine.jeffries@village-hotels.com.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
0.1 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Property: Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Address: Birmingham Road | Castlegate Park, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley has 124 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing