We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid 106” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid 106”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before a visit to the black Country museum. Hotel was fine but we were stuck in room 106, A room with a lovely veiw of a wall! No air con! No fan. Managed to bypass the safety on the windows but still no air flow. Check in was so fast we were not even asked if we would like to upgrade. No residence bar and main bar had a poor tribute act on. However all the staff were friendly appart from one young lady serving at the bar who evidently thought that a gay couple should not be in her bar let allone the hotel and continously ignored us.
Would love to score higher but cannot due to above reasons.
Due to return to Dudley early 2015, not sure this hotel will be on our list.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank noble-feller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl H, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Noble-fella thankyou for your feedback. I'm an extremely sorry to learn that your stay was spoilt by the room allocation and concerns you have raised regarding a member of the bar team. This comment in particular was a real suprise to me and will be discussed at our next bar meeting. The hotel is always praised highly for friendliness of our team . I remain confident that sexuality played no part in the attitude you describe. Upgrades should be offered when available although as the hotel was full we probably would have room moved you if you made us aware of your unhappiness after you checked in. If you would like to contact me via email I will follow up with you personally darryl. Holdnall @village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    445
    334
    187
    142
See reviews for
291
507
61
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Love these hotels. Gave been visiting with my partner for years and years and now we have kids we come back again and again. Pooled and facilities grat. Love the village pub and atmosphere and great food. Have visited nearby Dudley zoo and also other local pub and the cinema short walk away. Would def recommend to anyone and will return again and again. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busymultimum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl H, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Multimum - Thank you for your kind feedback, we really appreciate your comments. New VERVE BAR & GRILL coming to Dudley very soon so hope you get to try the new restaurant when you are next with us. Regards Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good facilities and pleasant surroundings. Some of the rooms could do with updating but are still comfortable. The coffee shop is excellent. We did not use the restaurant or bar for evening meal but the breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upgrade to upper deck for a better quality room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl H, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Charles. Thank you for the review and great to see you are really enjoying all that the area has to offer. Worth trying the Discover Dudley Face book page and website..loads of offers and news on whats happening...Best wishes Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just come back from a weekend break, booked with our tesco clubcard vouchers. We had a few faults with our room, bathroom door had dropped because of missing screws and the window clasp was broken (room 163 which did overlook a flat roof), it did not bother us as room was clean and comfortable but when we reported it they insisted on upgrading us to an upper deck room which was very nice. We had sky and one of the biggest beds I've seen, very comfortable. Breakfast was also excellent with a good selection to choose from. The leisure facilities were also very good. The staff especially the reception were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well situated for Dudley Zoo and the limestone caves and canal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl H, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Village again soon. Regards Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great stay on Saturday and Sunday night 2rd and 3rd August two rooms 4adults on the dinner wine bed and breakfast package restaurant meal on Saturday ok limited choice on menus Sunday restaurant closed pm bar menus or 3 course in bar only rooms great as usual staff great and help full would recommend but dinner option not the deal it was

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl H, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Disney Man. Thank you for the review and comments. We are currently looking at the opening times in Verve Grill in regards to Sunday evenings. Typically the hotel can be quiet and we are unable to open both our Victory and Verve outlets in this case. We are now considering a Sunday evening menu that would be available only in our brand new restaurant which re-opens on 20th September. IN the meantime, we will share your menu feeback with the food and beverage director. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great place close to motorway nice rooms good was good drinks a bit pricey gym and swimming pool good staff friendly and helpful would stop again They had a band on really top will go to another hotel and see if that is as good as the one we stopped at thankyou

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrvodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl H, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Glad you had a great 25th Anniversary stay. Look forward to seeing you again. Regards Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Me and my other half stayed for one night as we had family staying at the hotel, and at the price it was hard to say no!

Everything was great, the room did have a little bit of dust but nothing to moan too much about, and the carpet was a little dated. but the bed was so comfortable and the shower was brilliant!

I wouldn't let the little things stop me from staying again.

I didn't get chance to take advantage of the spa and swimming pool but if we decide to stay again those are definitely on my list, i would also take advantage of upper deck! sounds lush! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl H, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Nikki - Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you have a pleasant stay with us in Dudley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Property: Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Address: Birmingham Road | Castlegate Park, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley has 124 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing