We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stables”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stables Accommodation
Ranked #16 of 23 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The stables”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

I recently went to the stables on a conference. My room was fine although some of the rooms are tired. It is important to note that the majority of the accommodation is student halls, its not a hotel. Also food is amazing and the service in the restaurant (some one called Jon) is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
11
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here for one night when attending a wedding.From our observations the wedding was well organised by the staff there and food excellent.Our room was as previously mentioned by others had been student accommodation but had nice basic furniture with tv tea making facilities and lovely big towels in bathroom.A real bargain for £30 bed and ample breakfast

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nett22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our son got married recently at The Stables and the day was perfect. The staff couldn't do enough, everything went exactly as planned. For a venue to celebrate something special I would highly recommend this place. We didn't stay over night so I cannot comment on the accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GT yarmouth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed one night in June 2013.

This is part of the College and the room we had was in the teaching block and presumably the Student Accommodation. It had basic furniture and the double wardrobe just about opened against the double bed.

When we arrived on a Thu evening the bar was closed for the day (this was about 1900hrs) as was the restaurant - except for breakfast. We later heard (but not confirmed) that both facilities were closed during the whole summer recess.

The nearest place to eat was about a £4 - £5 taxi ride away and we were warned off about walking due to the lack of pavements and narrowness of part of the roads.

Breakfast was a buffet style and good.

Room Tip: If your looking for a country style hotel or a long stay - don't. If you want a reasonably pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed here over a weekend while visiting family. I usualy stay in Doncaster town centre, but the prices were really high because it was race weekend and the Stables came up as a very cheap option so I decided to try it. It is in High Melton, which is probably the nicest part of Doncaster, and is part of the College. The rooms are refurbished student accommodation, so not luxury, but decent and very clean, with everything you need. The bathroom is not the most modern, but again it is functional and clean. The whole place seems very well maintained, and staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, and well worth 5 pounds extra. the only thing is that it is in the middle of nowhere, so you need a car to get anywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms are in the Old Hall, a separate block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenasb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This did happen 2012.
Went for a Valentine Gourmet Evening. On arrival received a glass of bubbly wine and Oysters (served upon a tray coverd in ice and seaweed) very special. Enjoyed Meal and the service was very good, however.
By the end of the evening my wife went to the toilet and heard a lady being violently sick. When she came down and told me we both empathised but thought little more about it. The following day however we were both bed bound and remained so for 4/5 days. We rang the Stables and left a message as no one answerd (several times), left our names and telephone number but recieved no return call. I do feel that the Stables owed a duty of care to the situation but obviuosly did not feel the same. We were not looking for compensation, more an apology and/or explanation. Neither was forthwright.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Doncaster hotels

chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

we attended a friends wedding and after a shaky start waiting to get into our room to change into our wedding gear., the day went very smoothly. the civil ceremony in the old hall was simple but tasteful. the staff especially john the master of ceremonies, were attentive professional but most of all nothing was too much trouble. the food was exceptional. we had a delicious vegetable soup, succulent chicken and bacon followed by cheese cake all presented with gourmet flair. the evening buffet was one of the best. the surroundings were lovely., especially the outdoor courtyard and we got great weather so that was lovely. rooms were basic but very clean and for one night were perfect. needed a map to find it though!! the buffet breakfast was informal but hearty and fresh - perfect for the sore heads!!! everything considered it was a wonderful wedding and i Will highly recommend the stables as a brilliant wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelly2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
1.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel
8.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Accommodation

Property: The Stables Accommodation
Address: Doncaster Rd | High Melton, Doncaster DN5 7SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stables Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stables Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stables Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing