We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit since re-opened.”

Ichiban Japanese & Asian Fusion Food Restaurant
Ranked #214 of 561 Restaurants in Doncaster
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first visit since the restaurant re-open although our son and daughter in law have been. The food was excellent and freshly cooked to order, not large portions but you can order as many times as you please from a good varied menu. The cost at £14.99 is reasonable but the drinks were a little pricey £4.00 for a pint of lager or John Smiths but that wasn't unexpected. Even though there was a large party there we didn't have to wait overlong for our food. The staff were very efficient and polite. We shall be recommending it to our friends and be using it again. The manager was extremely polite and friendly

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charlieh1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first sight the building looks like it may have been an old pub however this restaurant with its multi Asian cuisine is situated a couple of miles or so out of Doncaster town centre in the Edlington district.

Ichiban is a buffet style restaurant with a little bit of a difference. With most buffets you peruse a selection of ready prepared dishes laid out in front of you and fill your plate up as you go along. With this place you choose what you want from the menu and it is cooked there and then and brought to you. You can keep ordering as much as you like until you can’t eat anymore all for less than £15. This way you are not filling up your plate, going back for second helpings only to find you are only halfway through the heap you have piled on and can’t eat anymore. It saves on food wastage and because the food is prepared freshly for you, you are not eating food that has sat on a burner for a while.

We were served fairly quickly, however the restaurant was not that full when we dined and I can imagine that at busy times you may have to wait longer for your food as opposed to a traditional style buffet in which you can get up and help yourself at any time.

Despite its Japanese name, the choice of food is dishes from all over the Far East including Japan, China, Korea, Singapore and Malaysia. Including soups, noodles, meat dishes and dumplings. There is a vegetarian option and deserts as well. Drinks are not included in the buffet price. They serve a selection of wines, beers and spirits, plus traditional saké which you can drink either warm or cold.

The background music however was a little bit of a puzzlement. I would have expected traditional Japanese or something Oriental sounding not the likes of Madonna and George Michael. Nonetheless it’s a good little restaurant, friendly staff, tasty food and reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martinmolloy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this evening, we ordered 2 starters, the gentleman that was serving us (originally from China springs restaurant which is why we visited ichiban) was incredibly welcoming and so friendly! He gave us a great first impression from the start. However, as they were busy, we were then left waiting 30-40 minutes to order a main / another drink. We then decided to get up and try to pay, we stressed our disappointment to which the gentleman empathised and was super understanding. Unfortunately the lady (I assumed to be the owner) was the opposite. Very rude and ignorant! Refused to give any form of discount or to knock off drinks as an olive branch to apologise for the slow / lack of service. The gentleman was visibly torn and upset, and having to translate for the lady. The lady refused to give any form of respect and refused to even stand and look at us and instead wandered around the restaurant, seeming to feel uncomfortable by the confrontation but refused to try to make any effort to make it right. We were wholly disappointed. Spent 20 minutes trying to explain our disappointment but she simply threatened to contact the police if we didn’t pay full price. Would’ve looked past the slow service if she had shown any form of apology or if she had even pretended to care instead of appearing to be money grabbing. Needs to learn some social skills if she wants her business to last, we won’t be returning. Hopefully the gentleman finds elsewhere to work and we would happily return to his business.

Thank E301234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ichibanrR, Manager at Ichiban Japanese & Asian Fusion Food Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear:
I am sorry to hear about your complain. I am the manager of the restaurant. According to the CCTV, you are three people sit on a two persons table. Our staff tried to move you to comfortable table, but you are refused. You ordered two rounds of starter and the last round you are still left a lot of food, so our staff know you are not finished. According to the CCTV, when you were sit down to order until you are left, it is not over 40 minutes. Turn it over, if you open a restaurant, the customers eat the food and finally do not wanting to pay, what is your feeling? And who will run the restaurant? I believe that she is make the right decision to report police if some body take the food without payment because she doesn't want to argue with customers.

alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

I would like to try this Japanese place.
I went today with my toddler (nearly 3 years old).
They didn't leave us to eat because I was just with my toddler.
" We cannot charge the toddler and here we accept minimum 2 people?" Really!!!! Unbelievable, never it happened before in my life

Thank geny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ichibanrR, Manager at Ichiban Japanese & Asian Fusion Food Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear:

I am sorry to hear your complain. I am very happy because you want to try our food . Actually, the company, set the rule is minimum 2 payable people to avoid some people (1 person to hold a table) picking on the new business. All our customers know we are minimum 2 payable people and we are mentioned in menu. We cannot break the rule. I am apology to cause your inconvenience.

Thanks

alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Visited Friday. Very nice decor. Price for meal excellent. Food really nice and order as much as you like! Cannot fault it. We will be back

Thank skjblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ichibanrR, Manager at Ichiban Japanese & Asian Fusion Food Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks! we will keep our standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ichiban Japanese & Asian Fusion Food Restaurant also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Conisbrough, Doncaster
 
 

Been to Ichiban Japanese & Asian Fusion Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing