We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Mattress!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing Mattress!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Premier Inn for one night purely to try out the Hypnos mattress. We have stayed at a different hotel (not Premier Inn) previously with the same make of mattresses and it was the best night's sleep we've had so were pleased when Premier Inn started to advertise that they had the same mattresses. As we have been looking for a new mattress at home for a while, we thought we'd have a night out to give us the opportunity to try them out again (instead of a quick lie-down in a shop) with the notion that if we slept well, we'd look at buying one. Unfortunately, I woke up several times in the night not being able to get comfortable and then in the morning with aching joints. Not the good night's sleep I was hoping for.
The 'black-out' curtains have a gap all around the edge so the sunlight still came through at day break.
Neither of those are big problems for other travellers though. The room itself was a nice size, very clean and had everything we needed for a one night stay. The bathroom was spotless ( huge plus points for me for that!!). We only had 1 set of towels in the room but we asked at the reception desk on our way out and the staff member said she would sort it for us - she then asked if she had our permission to enter our room to put the towels in with us being out - I've never had that anywhere before.
Check-in was very easy on the self-service machines and the staff member was there to talk us through everything else. Security is good in that you can't access the hotel after 11 without your room key and you can't go up in the lift at anytime without using your keycard (unless someone comes out of the lift first).
Our room had a nice view overlooking the Minster and the canal. There was some traffic noise but nothing too bad.
There is no car parking at the hotel. We parked in the market car park next door. It's free after 6pm but then chargable from 8am so you need to get up and put a ticket on in the morning (2 hour max). The hotel is a short walk from the Frenchgate shopping centre which has facilities to park overnight in the rail car park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    207
    71
    21
    14
See reviews for
144
203
60
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed in Doncaster for one night only, (it's actually more than enough), but no negatives about the accommodation Booked in advance for £29.00, helpful staff, adequate room and good facilities on site. All in all extremely good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justthetwoofuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent one night at the Premier Inn for an overnight stay whilst visiting friends and must say we were very impressed.

Although Check in wasn’t very efficient as it would appear someone had already checked us in on the self-check in machine. This was quickly rectified by the Receptionist and the lady assured us that no one was in our room – or could get into our room.

However, I do feel that the self-check in machines are a little impersonal and its scary to think that someone could check you in by mistake!!

We had a great night’s sleep even though we were on the main road side. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel was very reasonably priced and all staff very attentive. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Parents visited from London at the weekend so made this location our base.. They have stayed here before on numerous occasions and enjoy the feel of the place.. Reception staff are an absolute asset to this Hotel. Location is central for Doncaster and as parents are of latter years in life it is very handy for shops,restaurants etc. The Only negative (which is NOT affiliated to the hotel) is the parking.. The car park outside (council run) has a maximum of two hours (£1.60) with a no return policy of two hours except Sunday's which is free.After 6pm you can park free and over night but need a ticket from 0800 the following morning. The Attached restaurant and bar are perfect as well so for a short stay in Doncaster this place is perfect...

Room Tip: Saturday night a tad noisy from revellers on the street but that is not the hotels fault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

After numerous hotel stays in doncaster this is by far one of the best. It is spotless, comfy and the staff are great. Noise was not an issue at all and the shower very powerfull. For 50pound a double room it was well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stopped at this hotel several times in the past, and have always found the staff very helpful and friendly, the rooms are always imaculate and very comfortable, I was very pleased to see a change in the menu in the restauant it made a welcome change and it is still a very relaxing place to eat, the only thing i can fault is they do not provide utensils for under 5s but it seems generic throughout the hotel chain, i have commented on this before with other Premier inns we have stopped at in the past, but apart from that an exelent hotel as usual.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with small children I/E under 6 years old take child friendly fork,knife and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant, only downfall was being told on checkin that if I was paying by cash they needed to see my driving license or passport (neither of which I carry with me) I wasn't told this at any time through booking process otherwise I would have brought them. I showed the receptionist my confirmation email and was then allowed to check in anyway, which annoyed me as the receptionist should have offered that as proof of identity in the first place if she was allowing it in the end. This caused a bit of upset which could have easily been avoided. Parking is also a bit of an issue. Overall lovely hotel. Nice clean comfortable rooms and polite staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
592 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
Address: High Fishergate, Doncaster DN1 1QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#4 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
#6 Business Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amble through traditional markets and marvel at the magnificent Doncaster Minster across the road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing