We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Room 1 night stay”
Review of Owston Motel

Owston Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Owston Motel
Ranked #20 of 23 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Room 1 night stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Owston motel is quite difficult to find especially if it's dark, the signage could be better. The room was booked for us soI cannot comment on whether it is good value for money.

The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The sound proofing between our family room and the room sharing the same entrance hall was not good. Heard the neighbours coming in and out banging doors late at night and early morning. The TV was quite ancient and not very good.

Room Tip: Avoid having a shared entrance Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

this was a late booking as had to visit sick family, I had seen this motel many times as near our family, looks a lovely quiet place from out side, but was disappointed when shown our room, it was cramped, the bedding was realy creased an looked tatty, the carpet was filthy, my bare feet stuck to it, the shower had mold all over sealent an tiles were all cracked on bathroom floor an hubby cut his toe on it, an was real noisy when people were coming an going all night

Room Tip: if all rooms are like room 11 give it a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amphibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Doncaster hotels

England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed 3 nights and offered a change of room for second and third night as no signal on TV or wifi, light shade from ceiling hanging at a funny angle and 2nd bedside lamp curiously had plug cut off and a broken bulb holder.

2nd room had broken shower holder.

Clean enough and helpful staff but this place needs a bit of money and a few more basic checks with equipment before they let rooms. It seems to advertise facilities but doesn't let on you wont be able to use them.

Query if you're not happy and it may motivate them to put things in place.

Room Tip: Query if you are not happy as TV and wifi signal only seems to work in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChatterboxEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We would definately stay here again, great value for money, in a lovely location and 5 mins from the place we needed to be. No hassle checking in, manager was very helpful even off site, lovely little room and had everything we needed for a one night stay. Even had plenty of milk for coffee next morning and some juice and breakfast bars. Lovely lounge area and conservatory which we did not have the opportunity to enjoy. Thanks - great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The two previous reviews do not do justice to this place: I the booked the same day and reserved a twin-bedded room for £35: half the price of Travelodge or Premier Inn for last minute stays. The room was virtually identical in quality to those offered by the standard chains: very comfortable.The nearby village has a pub, a fish & chip shop, takeaway pizza, takeaway chinese and indian, so there are plenty of alternatives for those needing an evening meal. If you want more than a muesli bar & orange juice for breakfast, just bring your own cereal & milk - it beats being ripped off in Little Chef any day.

The word "motel" also undersells Owston's farm-based rural charm. Although it is superbly located for access to the A1 and A19, it is in deep countryside. I would recommend it as good choice for anyone on a budget looking for last-minute accommodation of "Premier Inn/ Travelodge" quality.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoestring01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Couldnt get a room at the hotel as full of golfers and a wedding so was offered the motel. Well it is very basic , and shows a lack of care both inside and out. Very scruffy surroundings and whilst 'ok' clean, best not to go looking for dust and black grout etc. Chap looking after the motel was pleasant and helpful- he doubles as a fitness person at the Hotel Spa. Asked to move into the hotel the next night which we did, however , had to pay up seperately though so 2 bills. AQll meals in the hotel, also couldnt be charged to one bill. Wouldnt choose to stay here again, so if motel was the choice , would be 'no thanks'.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cust0merservicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I was allocated a room that had a serious smell problem - the bathroom was so bad it made me physically sick - not a nice start to my stay.

Many of the tiles in the bathroom were cracked and were filthy. The PAT testing of the kettle was out of date. The mattress on the bed was "worn out" and was in desperate need of changing. The room was supposed to accommodate two people, it was very very small - with nowhere to sit.

I have stayed in many hotels/motels/B&B's etc and I have to say that this is the worst one ever - I seriously would recommend finding alternative accommodation.

I contacted the management and they did not even have the courtesy to respond to me.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obidashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
0.3 mi away
Owston Hall Hotel
Owston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Owston
371 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#10 of 19 in Doncaster
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
4.8 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 19 in Doncaster
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owston Motel

Property: Owston Motel
Address: Owston Lane | Askern, Doncaster DN6 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Owston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing