We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night' stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr
Ranked #10 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great night' stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at this Hotel last night when passing through Doncaster. All the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Fantastic food! Thank you to all the staff who made it an enjoyable stay! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingagain056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found Innkeeper's Lodge Bessacarr, Doncaster a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    41
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
39
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I have stopped here a few times now. We stayed over the easter weekend as we were at christening. Amazing service and our room was absolutely amazing. Massive family room. Will always stay here wen we visit family in Doncaster. Amazing food to. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times, from a very young age, due to having family in Bessacarr. So, this weekend, when my boyfriend and I went to visit my Grandma, she booked us a room here. I immediately started raving about it, telling my boyfriend how many times I've been and how lovely it is. Unfortunately, it was definitely not up to scratch.
The room was great, it had everything we needed. Very clean, very comfortable. However, when I went to reception to request some cotton buds (like it says I could do on a little 'Forgotten Something?' card on our desk), I was greeted with blank faces and was told that cotton buds or Q-tips were not something they had ever stocked!
The true icing on the cake, however, was the breakfast. We had been told the night before that breakfast was 7am-11am, so we thought that heading down for around 10am would be ok as we had been travelling for most of the day before and didn't want to get up too early. However, when we had a phone call at 9:45am asking if we were actually coming down, we realised we were wrong in that assumption.
Before we left the room, my boyfriend asked me if he would need his wallet, to which I replied that he absolutely didn't need it and all the times I'd stayed here the breakfast had been lovely. That turned out to not be the case! The 'continental breakfast' was a single table consisting of a few of the variety boxes of cereal, with pitcher of milk, a bowl containing one orange, two bananas and a few grapes, yoghurt that was now in a bowl of water instead of ice, a selection of two juices, four bowls that had either been used or not washed properly before they were put out, and some questionable looking pastries in a tupperware container. Looking around, we discovered there was another area with a toaster and condiments, tea and coffee and some makings of a fried breakfast.
Before we sat down, the hostess exclaimed at we were her last room down with an almost eye-rolling expression, before taking one look at my boyfriend and saying she only had my room down as a party of one. I explained to her that my Grandma has booked the room, but there is no way she would have booked it for just myself. The hostess said she would "sort it," and the issue was never brought up again.
My boyfriend and I then helped ourselves to a cooked breakfast, and sat down to eat when the hostess walked past our table and announced we had "upgraded." We weren't sure what this entailed but, if it meant we actually had a decent breakfast, we didn't question it. Our question as to how much it was going to cost us, however, was quickly answered when another resident got up to leave, and was told his breakfast was now £1.99, to which he quite rightly questioned, "£1.99 for a cup of tea?" There is no signage at all to indicate this 'upgrade area' and the fact that toast and tea is part of it is shocking.
Then, at around half 10, we were pushed to the edge when the hostess began to dismantle the continental table around us and take it all through to the kitchen. As displeased as we were about the breakfast, we were told that breakfast was 7am-11am and at 10:30am, we were still there and eating our breakfast.
We were then told by the hostess that the bill was not something we could settle at check out, but rather with her directly, so my boyfriend and I went back to our room to get some money and he went off to pay her. He came back moments later and told me our breakfast had cost him £6.98. The reasoning behind this was that she had charged him £3 on top of our two upgrades for having had breakfast as a non-resident. Something she assured me was "sorted."
Fuming, absolutely fuming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiPieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your stay at Innkeeper's Lodge, Doncaster . We have replied to you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Always sceptical about booking this type of accomodation as "you get what you pay for" we needed a hotel room for less than 12 hours as we were catching very early morning train from Doncaster. I must say this place didnt let us down, easy to book on website, good communication throughout. We asked if we could have early breakfast and this was made possible by very helpful night porter, Toby was tasty and again staff very friendly. The room was comfy, bit creak on the floor boards and dusty in places but bed was fresh and comfy. For the price, location and standard this place ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogibear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Innkeeper's Lodge, Doncaster, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

just back from thankfully just one night stay.The room was noisy all night due to some sort of massive generator or extraction system just outside the windows.Breakfast wasn't up to much either. seventies style buffet with kids touching everthing and their parents shouting across the room to each other.on checking out 2 menbers of staff walked away from me as if they somehow knew I was in room 214 and would have complained.great location in nice area but whats the point of that if you cannot sleep and leave hungry.

Room Tip: avoid room 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night 12th July 2013. With the recent extremely hot weather in mind you would expect fans in the rooms. Our room was like a sauna and windows have latches on so can only be opened a few inches. There was noise outside until well after midnight but this is to be expected as it is a pub. However the delivery lorries with banging and slamming at 6am is not what you expect. Breakfast is served later at a weekend to allow for lay ins but you have to be able to sleep first.
On complaining to management we were offered free upgrade to full English breakfast from our included continental option and this was gratefully received. However the breakfast wasnt much o write home about sausages extremely over cooked and less variety than other hotels buffet breakfasts.
On leaving I thanked the team member who had seated as and raised my initial complaint with the manager to be totally blanked! Appalling customer service

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just come back from a 2 night stay. Room was very clean and towels and bedding all nice and fresh as well. Had continental breakfast one day and the full breakfast another. Only complaint bread and croissants not very fresh but that aside was fine.

Had the carvery on the Sunday night, that was very nice. Special mention to Phil, the young chap who served us he was very nice and very helpful. Excellent service all round.

Friendly place, staff very helpful and friendly, from being checked in by Felicity to receiving the service in the restaurant by Phil and colleagues. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor, just round from reception, a nice quiet room but lovely and sunny as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr

Property: Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr
Address: Bawtry Road | Bessacarr, Doncaster DN4 7BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel near Doncaster racecourse, this comfortable, modern lodge is ideal for racing lovers, sightseers and business visitors alike.Close to Bessacarr, Doncaster, Conisbrough and J3 of the M18, it provides budget accommodation across 20 comfy rooms, which make for a convenient base whether exploring the scenery of picturesque South Yorkshire or taking advantage of the racecourse's conferencing facilities.What's more, you'll find a Toby Carvery next door, where you can tuck into freshly roasted joints, seasonal vegetables and a great selection of pub food.Doncaster has a rich heritage, with Roman routes dating back to the first century. It's also home to a 750-year-old market. Locals will proudly tell you that it's the largest in northern England and it's full of delicious local food and crafts. Further afield is the dramatic 12th century Conisbrough Castle, with panoramic views from its 97-foot-high circular keep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge Doncaster, Bessacarr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing