We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm welcome great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doncaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Swan
Ranked #17 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“warm welcome great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

(We have only eaten here, not stayed.)
This Pub/restaurant/hotel has recently had a change of management and we were very pleased with the changes that have been made. The landlady is very welcoming and the food is excellent. The steaks are really good and the value for money is brilliant given the portion sizes. The veg is fresh and well cooked and the chips are home made.
There is a roaring open fire in the main room on cold days and a quaint and restful separate sitting room to relax in.
Walkers and boaters from the Chesterfield canal are welcomed too.
The setting is idyllic with great views from the pub garden out front with lovely walks along the canal just over the road.
Give it a try!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
5
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Have just left after an excellent weekend football break.
Food, wine, service & accommodation were all excellent.
Will deffinetly be returning for out next away game up north!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontyDogDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spent a lovely weekend in this beautiful place. It was in the middle of winter and when I arrived I was greeted with warm hospitality and a fabulous warm fire. My room was lovely, clean and comfortable and I enjoyed delicious home cooked food - steak on the first night and sea bass the next day - everything was perfect. A beautiful array of fresh vegetables was served with every meal and I had a delicious chocolate and raspberry mousse. The staff were all most friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go and stay there again, hopefully in warmer weather so I can enjoy some nice walks along the canal bank.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Called into the "Swan" on the recommendation of a friend and I was not dissapointed.
I chose a fillet,and it was absolutely scrumptious!,and the best I've had since my last trip to Manhatten,New York,just perfect.
I predict a very busy restaurant here at the White Swan,and they deserve it.
The chef Mathew was most obliging ,and the Black Sheep beer is Top Class,trust me!

Room Tip: Speak to Stella,she is so happy to oblige,and would I'm sure be most helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Had an excellent fillet steak just after Christmas. Best steak we have had in the UK! We live locally so would not stay but the staff were very welcoming and the place is a very charming old country inn property with lovely views of the surrounding countryside but is still easily accessible from the A1.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickyfromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at The White Swan after making a last minute booking. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded and were shown into a huge room with four poster bed and lovely big bathroom with views from the imposing front of the hotel out onto the pond and farmland. B and B of this standard for £50 is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsw1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Drakeholes was originally called Dragon Holes, quietly situated just off the A631, 4 miles east of Bawtry, a few miles from Doncaster airport, The White Swan is a handsome building in a commanding position overlooking the Chesterfield Canal and the rolling countryside. The building clearly differs from the typical 18th century inn as it was originally designed as a folly. After the land closure of 1763, Jonathan Acklom, squire of Wiseton, rebuilt the hall and improved the estate his family had held since the reign of Charles II.
The hotel has 7 rooms, mine was well furnished with a comfortable bed, two windows overlooking the garden and a spacious bathroom with bath.The staff were friendly and very helpful. Public rooms were typical of an inn of that age. The sunny beer garden at the front overlooking the canal was popular in the evening. Food was freshly prepared, of good quality and reasonable cost. I would certainly go back and would recommend the White Swan to anybody looking for a short break in a picturesque location or quiet business accommodation to the south of Doncaster.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scousemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
4.3 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.0 mi away
Angel Inn & Lodge
Angel Inn & Lodge
#2 of 24 in Doncaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: Eel Pool Road | Drakeholes, Doncaster DN10 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing