We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Warm Welcome and Fabulous Food”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doncaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Swan
Ranked #17 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We live just over the River Trent in Gainsborough and The White Swan has become our favourite place to eat over the last year or so.

A beautiful building, traditional, comfortable with a welcoming dining room and a lovely little snug bar area - the real fire is especially nice in the colder weather whilst sitting in the beer garden in the sunshine overlooking the canal is perfect in Summer.

All of the staff are cheerful, friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is absolutely fantastic, all home-cooked, great portion sizes and very very tasty. There are extra special touches like the little mini-starters sent out by the chef to whet the appetite - always something a little different and special. The menu is wide and varied and there is always a full specials board with some really interesting, unusual dishes included.

Sunday Lunch is fabulous - there is usually a choice of at least 3 meats and these are served with roast and mash potatoes, yorkshire pudding and a selection of fresh veg - the pork always comes with a great piece of crackling too.

My family have been here for birthday meals a couple of times, our 10 year old nephew is always catered for very well, with the Chef producing a smaller portion of the home cooked fish and chips for him.

A good selection of beers and wines too, and everything is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

It seems the gamekeeper called in this morning with some game and rabbits !
By the time I arrived for dinner,Voila! Rabbit pie.

In an individual pot with a lovely light crisp pastry lid ,was a generous piping hot portion of tender meat.
.And together with a delightful selection of local veg,and a choice of Theakstons "Black Sheep"or Timothy Taylors "Landlord" what more could you ask for?.
I returned here to to make sure that last time I just got lucky,but no this venue is top class.
With London quality but with normal prices!, this is truly a great find.
Mine host is Stella,and together with the two top chefs Matthew and Gary ,you are guaranteed
satisfaction.
Pass me a spoon for this gravy please .

Room Tip: As understand it the all the rooms are very comfortable and very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I visited here for a drink on a Monday afternoon.The manager and the staff were very friendly.There is a small snug bar and a lounge bar with an open fireplace for the winter.The outside beer garden to the front is elevated so is a perfect place for drinks and al fresco eating.There are views of the canal with some relaxing walks.The manager quoted £50 for an en suite room which is very competitive.Whilst I did not eat or stay on this occasion I shall certainly be going back to do both in the future.Large car park and five minutes drive to Everton village,fifteen to Bawtry,about twenty five to Doncaster airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a superb venue for a family gathering throughout organisising they were so obliging and helpful. Service was superb thanks to all the staff we had such a great time and made the double ruby wedding celebrations go perfectly. I would have no doubt in recommending this place to others and will definitely use again. So great certainly one of the better places in the Retford area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diana1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEWHITESWAN, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

we thank you very much for taking your time to write a review . we appreciate all your feedback and we endeavor to maintain our service and standards.
many thanks.
all the team and Management. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed on business and was very pleased with the accomodation but most importantly the food - good choice, ample portions and plenty of FRESH vegetables - always seems a hard thing to find when away from home. Beer was excellent and staff very friendly.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay at the white swan catching up with a few friends we'd not seen in a while. We received a lovely welcome when we arrived and after being shown our room proceeded to sit out in the sun in the lovely beer garden which has great views of the countryside and canal.
Our room was larger than the average b&b, the bathroom was lovely and clean and had a raised bath plus separate shower (again more than the average b&b), Stella told us she still had lots to do as she'd only been there for 6 months but we thought the place was still very tidy and well presented.
We had dinner later in the restaurant, the food was all lovely, a wide range on the menu and all meals were of great quality and accompanied by some excellent wine!
We also spent time relaxing in the lounge on comfy sofas which was lovely, it's great to see a real pub rather than the run of the mill chain pubs found in most villages now.
Breakfast also great, service good and all staff were very friendly, we'd definitely recommend this pub to anyone, a great find, good luck for the future Stella, hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

A great find. Ideally set in a rural location, 5 mins from the a1 and beside a lovely canal. Yet is less that 30 mins from so many places. Restaurant is great. Choice of wine and beer is ok and the hosts are very welcoming. Breakfast was also excellent. Cannot recommend enough

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingcole1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
6 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
10 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central East
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
11.4 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
6.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: Eel Pool Road | Drakeholes, Doncaster DN10 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing