We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, delicious and fabulous”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doncaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Swan
Ranked #18 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simple, delicious and fabulous”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

i have eaten here more times than i can remember.
all i wish to say is well done and farewell to Matt and Stella .
you will be the hardest act to follow.
thank heavens for all the lucky people who had there wedding done by you i'm sure they all join Me in a great BIG Cheer
Hip Hooray.
we miss you and the great times and Food specials.
the Quiz food was to good and you generosity was only exceeded by both your Charm.
fare well Dear Friends

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnb0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
5
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We had our daughter's wedding reception here last weekend. We had eaten there several times before, and expected the food to be good and knew the location to be pretty and ideal for the reception. On the day absolutely every aspect exceeded our expectations; both the sit down lunch and the evening buffet were nothing less than superb, and the service and effort put in by Matt, Stella and the team was exceptional. Thank you for an absolutely wonderful day. Dan & Karen.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

literally the worst meal i have ever had!grumpy waitress dirty pub.what a joke!chef popped out of kitchen looking grubby and unkempt.dirty looking character.really shocking.its horrid that the pompous website(full of barely literate comments)hides such a greasy unplesant truth.take my advice SACK YOUR"CHEF"AND EMPLOY A NEW WAITRESS!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john_p187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We now visit this restaurant at least once a month. The chef offers many varied menus daily and you can also order from the set menu. The lovely old inn has a main restaurant room (which can also be used for functions) as well as a welcoming lounge and snug bar which can also be used for meals when the restaurant area is full. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable hosts and the serving girls/young men are always polite, well turned out and friendly. We trust the food quality and freshness of locally sourced items which we know they use and enjoy taking family and guests there for special occasions. The chef is clearly very skilled and we and our guests have never been disappointed. His brownie desert is heavenly and now that I know it exists I will ensure I order this again even if I have to order it go! (I'm usually too full to eat desert!)

I can't understand the poor review given here unless it was for another White Swan in the Doncaster region that had been visited (I know there is another one). I felt that it was important to right this wrong and ensure that my high opinion of this inn is reinforced. It is my favorite local restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyfromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

ate at this hotel on a sunday with my family,service was terrible,barmaid surly and unapproachable and roast turkey was dry, bland and covered in greasy packet gravy.horrendous!how this venue has so much positive feedback i do not know!worn carpet,dusty tables and cardboard yorkshire puddings.its shocking that places can operate this poorly

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We live just over the River Trent in Gainsborough and The White Swan has become our favourite place to eat over the last year or so.

A beautiful building, traditional, comfortable with a welcoming dining room and a lovely little snug bar area - the real fire is especially nice in the colder weather whilst sitting in the beer garden in the sunshine overlooking the canal is perfect in Summer.

All of the staff are cheerful, friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is absolutely fantastic, all home-cooked, great portion sizes and very very tasty. There are extra special touches like the little mini-starters sent out by the chef to whet the appetite - always something a little different and special. The menu is wide and varied and there is always a full specials board with some really interesting, unusual dishes included.

Sunday Lunch is fabulous - there is usually a choice of at least 3 meats and these are served with roast and mash potatoes, yorkshire pudding and a selection of fresh veg - the pork always comes with a great piece of crackling too.

My family have been here for birthday meals a couple of times, our 10 year old nephew is always catered for very well, with the Chef producing a smaller portion of the home cooked fish and chips for him.

A good selection of beers and wines too, and everything is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

It seems the gamekeeper called in this morning with some game and rabbits !
By the time I arrived for dinner,Voila! Rabbit pie.

In an individual pot with a lovely light crisp pastry lid ,was a generous piping hot portion of tender meat.
.And together with a delightful selection of local veg,and a choice of Theakstons "Black Sheep"or Timothy Taylors "Landlord" what more could you ask for?.
I returned here to to make sure that last time I just got lucky,but no this venue is top class.
With London quality but with normal prices!, this is truly a great find.
Mine host is Stella,and together with the two top chefs Matthew and Gary ,you are guaranteed
satisfaction.
Pass me a spoon for this gravy please .

Room Tip: As understand it the all the rooms are very comfortable and very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
3.0 mi away
Angel Inn & Lodge
Angel Inn & Lodge
#1 of 24 in Doncaster
201 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
6.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: Eel Pool Road | Drakeholes, Doncaster DN10 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing