We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever, and I mean ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever, and I mean ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Please please please take advice from the rest of us who have had the miss fortune of ever staying at this hotel. I foolishly read trip advisor and somehow convinced myself it will be ok dispute the horror stories. Yip the welcome at reception it dreadful, we were greeted by some obnoxious wanna be hard man in an England rugby top who was more interested in the local ladies of the night who patrolled the hotel grounds, his threatening behaviour was terrible and left us a bit uncomfortable. We went to the rooms to find bed sheets unwashed and dumped in the room, not sure if they were wash, certainly not pressed. I got changed after a long journey and went to the toilet down the corridor that had be used by everybody in the hotel including the ladies of the night to find a human fesses on the floor. I could keep writing but if that's not put you off good help you.... I can assure you this hotel will be shut down one way or the other.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidweir11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    15
    16
    97
See reviews for
19
43
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I booked up to stay at the The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster on the 10th November 2012 and paid in advance £40.00. The first room I was given stank of smoke the radiator was hanging off the wall and was filthy. I was given another room and was told it was the only room left. As it was late 8pm it was too late to get another hotel and was told I would not get a refund, so I left my bags and went out for the evening thinking OK its only for one night so it cant be too bad. When I got back from my night out, I pulled back the bedding to find it had blood stains and or other bodily fluids on the duvet. I did not sleep in that bed but sat up all night. I would have left but I couldn't drive as I had had a drink. In the morning when I opened the blind the true state of the room could be seen. apart from the bedding being soiled the carpet was an absolute disgrace .I am glad I left my shoes on. I sent an email to the customer services on their website and I am still waiting for a reply a week later.( I don't hold out much hope of getting one to be honest) I will now send the photographs and a report to the council health inspector . this place is an health hazard. I hope this review helps anyone that is thinking of staying in this filthy hovel. I have mistakenly pressed the rating for the swimming pool and restaurant I don't think it has a pool and I certainly did not eat here

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennythespread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I booked a room for 1 night for myself, husband and daughter, and after 10 minutes of checking in we checked out, everything from the reception to the corridors to the rooms are an absolute disgrace, dirty, smelly and should NOT be trading as a 'hotel' in our room we had stained carpet, dirty bedding, broken wall heater, exposed electrical wires .... need i go on!! lucky for us we found a travelodge just down the road, had we not we would of slept in the car !!!.

The management also expect customers to leave a £30.00 cash deposit on arrival just in case the rooms are damaged .... joke they should be paying customer to stay there and besides there was nothing in our room that could possible of been damaged.

Take my advice and stay well away from this so called 'hotel'

Room Tip: There is NO good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

I never ever write reviews but this place has got to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at! this place is vile! Never ever EVER stay here! We had to go out and buy febreeze as our room smelt so bad! The rooms are dirty, the toilets and showers are filthy! They looked like they'd not been cleaned in a year! The manager was rude and swore at us when we arrived! Apparently this hotel is where the prostitutes come back to!! I really did not feel safe one bit! NEVER stay here this hotel needs to be bulldozed!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here last night and I must say its the worst place I have ever stayed. Stayed in the Travellodge last time for £29 but couldn't get it for that price so payed £40 to stay here. They would have to pay me £40 to stay here again. We walked in and the receptionist was nice but got to the room and it looked like a prison cell, thin foam mattress (with a ripped cover) on a plywood base with a ladder up the wall to a bunk bed. I lifted up the mattress and found a pair of wet boxer shorts that someone had obviously forgot to go to the toilet in and shoved them under there!! No toilet or shower in the room and the floor was stained and the room stunk. We had a sink but both taps didn't work so pointless really. We went out earlier than planned just so we didn't have to stay in there longer than we had too. Pay an extra 10 or 20 pound and stay elsewhere this place is an embarrassment and shouldn't be allowed to do business. Stay at your peril you have been warned!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

pillows as thin as paper, views of a grave yard from the bedroom, found one cockroach in our room, no lids on toilets, thank god we only booked one night or i would have stayed on the street, i know its cheap so i cant expect the earth but still need some standards

Room Tip: rooms at the front can be booked to see the car park instead of the grave yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slijngaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a long review but please read it, I just want to make sure no one ever goes her again, it should be shut down. Me and my boyfriend wanted to go away really local for the night, and this hotel appeared on the website to be great value for money, and a welcoming lovely place to stay. When we got there from the outside it didnt really match the picture wed seen on the internet, but as the saying goes dont judge a book by the cover so I didnt. Nevertheless when we arrived inside it was like something off a scary film, the receptionist if you could call her that was rude and loud talking to another man who had just wandered in off his face on god knows what. We got to the room and im not over exaggerating on anything when I say I felt like crying. The room stunk of smoke and dirt, and the window was wide open and It was freezing, the bed wasnt even made it was in a ball with wet towels still on the bed, not one part was clean, I felt disgusting, I just wanted to go home, it hadnt even been cleaned, the bin was still full. I wouldnt want anyone else to experience what we did and found, it was vile. Im down to earth and didnt except nothing much but it was unbelievably disgusting. It didnt stop here my boyfriend had payed online and a week after he got an email which stated the hotel owners have been found out to hack into peoples accounts and take more money than what it stated, as when you get there you had to pay with a card. He immediatley rung up the company who had caught them doing this and did everything they could, he was lucky. PlEASE DO NOT stay here under any circumstance. Ive never wrote a review but recently a friend of mine I hadnt spoke to in a while told me of this place with exactly the same review and I told her my horrible experience, so I thought it was time to warn people and write this review to expose the disgusting experience we had.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster

Property: The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster
Address: Ten Pound Walk, Doncaster DN4 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing