We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a sad state!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It is with such sadness that this review is written. I always use trip advisor prior to any decision, however I also try to form my own opinions whenever I can. On this instance, however, I can honestly say I completely agree with everyone else's reviews. This so called hotel is in such a sorry state. First the positives - the location is great - within walking distance to town and the reception staff are A-class, very accommodating and friendly considering the situation they are in. I do believe that it is through their actions that people stay there. Actually if it was not for them I would have walked out within the first 4 minutes! That is about the only positives I can give. Whilst I was in reception I know of two others that checked out straight away and demanded refunds! I had no choice other than sleeping in the car - having a toddler it was too late to arrange anything else. The mould and damp in the room was awful, resulting in such an awful smell it was unbearable. I had to go around spraying deodorant on arrival! The toilets stank! The showers - well I cannot make any more of a negative remarks than I would not step in there without shoes on. The kettle and fridge I would not touch with gloves on! I have stayed in 5 to 1 stars so am quite used to "roughing it". This does not even rate on the scale! Slept fully clothed. Woken up in the early hours of the morning by loud teenagers - thought it was just a once off from previous reviews - but believe me it is not! I understand it is under new management... from when I do not know but good luck to them! This has been the first situation where I certainly would never ever would return no matter what! Wish could give a negative rating of property!

Room Tip: I do not think there could be a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

WOW WOW WOW........ do not ever ever think of staying here!!!! The place could be mistaken for a prison from outside - a pre dated modular building - staff are friendly on arrival maybe somewhat embarrassed as we were asked if we wanted to view the room before we paid, this should have set alarm bells ringing. Because we had our two puppies with us we were pretty much limited as to where we could stay. We decided to spend the night as it was too short notice to go searching for alternative accommodation. On first impressions the corridors looked clean and we were offered a travel cot for the grand child who travelled with us. WELL as soon as we reached our corridor you could smell that it was a pet friendly hotel, then we opened the room door - the smell well i cannot describe what it was - i stood gob smacked for a good few minutes managed to open the window as wide as possible to try and clear the stench. finally got over the smell - opened the fridge and almost fell over the bed from the stale smell coming from there. With no alternative accommodation we decided to spend the night. Well we were awoken by noisy louts outside the room just before 5 am and they did not shut up till after 8. by this time we had had enough and got the hell out the place. The toilets do not have seats on, the showers cut off every 20 seconds and you have to push the button to get it going again, one of the toilet floors were flooded and a few others on the ground floor had no toilet paper.

As the saying goes "you get what you pay for"...... it is very cheap and yes - you get what you pay for. I will never ever stay in this place ever again and will not recommend it to anybody!!!!!

Room Tip: its simple - never consider staying here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Awful...do not even risk it. I would rather sleep rough then stay here and I would rather go to the toilet behind a tree then use their 'facilities'. If I had used the shower I would have been dirtier coming out than going in! They are under new management but it was still disgraceful, no improvements from what I can tell from now reading trip advisor(which believe me I wish I had read before booking) We were supposed to stay 2 nights but checked out after 1, very early in the morning. I didn't have my kids with me and if I had we wouldn't have stayed at all. #traumatised

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewels111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For £21 I wasn't expecting a lot, and in fairness the room whilst a little run down was clean, there was a fridge and microwave in the room and a kitchen you have access to at the front. You could bring in your own food which we did and the beds were comfy. Unfortunately we had teens coming in at 2am who just ran up and down the corridors shouting and arguing for at least 3 hours with no attempt to stop them, meaning any sleep wasn't going to happen. There was cereals and toast available for breakfast although we left without having any in the end. I wasn't unhappy with the room, for the money I don't think you could expect much more but it's the fact that it's obviously constantly overrun by the teens reading other reviews, meaning rest is the one thing you're not likely to get.

Room Tip: Far reaches of the corridors I would think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meltdiceburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The most awful hotel experience. I booked a room for myself and my son in this apparently ' family friendly' hotel! First impressions were ' basic'! We were woken at 2am by two lads shouting and fighting outside our room,this fighting escalated into us hearing them smashing their room up and they then decided to go outside the front of the hotel fighting and driving their car ( whilst extremely intoxicated) around the hotel car park. They then came back into the hotel and continued fighting till 5am.During this awful experience myself and my son were petrified!
A man staying at hotel asked the lads to be quiet but was verbally threatened by one of the lads.
Where was the hotel warden?
I decided that this hotel was not a safe 'family friendly' environment for myself and my son,so I went to reception in the morning and asked for a refund for the next three days I had paid for so I could book into different accommodation. The manager refused and told me there had been a night warden on duty!so why did the fighting go on for three hours?The receptionist was very understanding and tried her best to get me a refund as they did have CCTV footage of the fighting. Never stay at this hotel!!





T

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clareemmadavis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

dont go to this place avoid like the plague, i think the plague started here. we were sent to our room not shown,on opening the door the smell hit us first, then the room a bed a chair and a dodgy tv with no remote oh and a sink in the corner circa 10bc there was no toilet and bathroom we learn t this later that these are communal and so is the tea making facilities which are not in the room. we left and cancelled making sure we got our money back first

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

What a hole! Wouldn't keep dogs there! Noisy, dirty, and not worth staying even for a penny!!!!!!! The best thing was the manager who seemed a very nice man but didn't do anything when other guests came In at 2-3 am and were shouting and balling! Stay clear!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richb147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#10 of 19 in Doncaster
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster

Address: Ten Pound Walk, Doncaster DN4 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range: £29 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing