We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doncaster Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doncaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rigsby's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Doncaster Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Used this bed and breakfast as it was fairly near to the Doncaster racecourse. Lizzy was there to great us and show us to our lovely bedroom which had a king size bed, 2 wardrobes, chests of drawers and still loads of space, very airy and calming in cream and pale green with a nice bay window to look out of. Cooked English breakfast with help yourself to toast and cereals. Lizzie noticed that I had used the small packet of special k, so bought a big packet for me to use the following day, so thoughtful. To describe Lizzie is a little difficult to explain, cheerful, chatty a little eccentric but very thoughtful and caring, funny with her tales of when she had been a singer on the circuit. Yes she had a stuffed rat by the front door and witches on chairs,a soft toy frog, dog, teddy and monkey (which somehow managed to be wearing my slippers one night) all in the room. She was a breath of fresh air and as mad as a hatter sometimes but we loved it and would stay there again. We did notice a lady of the night around but she was soon moved on by police who appeared to be watching the area very frequently but as this did not interfere with us it was not a problem. Loved the town centre and Cosmos restaurant. Lizzie allowed people to take back food and use her dining room facilities if they wanted to.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cream room, only drawback is the your bathroom is on the same landing next to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddywack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
34
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for another weeks course with lizzie, as per usual lizzie was superb and really looked after me, I was eating a specific cereal and she went out and bought a new box when it got a bit low and another friend on our course wanted porridge, lizzie went straight out and bought it that day, she always goes the extra mile for her guests, thanks lizzie hope to c u again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv-jonesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

helpful and trusting, i phoned lizzy last minute.com,, so helpful as one of my busses has a problem and the driver needed a room for the night, she gave us piece of mind and let us pay for the room the next day,, and was very friendly toard derek the driver, very relaxed and homely,,, would defantly use again next time, 1st choice,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We arrived without booking in advance which is something we don't normally do. Liz the land lady was so helpful and welcoming. The room was fantastic, food beyond belief such good quality and plenty of it. Land lady is zanny but that adds to the attraction, she is helpful, informative and most of all very welcoming. Nothing was too much to ask. We would certainly stay again and will because we travel to Doncaster several times a year. A big thank you it made our weekend break extra soecial

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Before I write this review, I cant believe that anyone normal could put a negative word about lizzie on here!!!!
We stayed there for three nights from the 15th May 2013 and found that this amazing woman is one of a kind, she is lovely, kind, genuine, and hilarious, and she would go to the worlds end if you asked her to, also unknowns to people, she was even a famous trained singer years ago.
We looked around at a couple of rooms which were absolutely spotless, they were so well equipped, large flat screen telly in each room, and the usual tea & coffee and as well as central heating, along with a plasma fire also, the rooms smelled fresh, they had hair dryers, hand crème at the sink, the power shower was awesome.
There are fabulous oddities scattered around the guest house ie cuddly-dolls and wonderful strange items, it was like walking into a magical world, the fab breakfast was whatever we wanted, Lizzie even put actimal on the table along with juice, and biscuits to take with us for elevenses.
We are going back very soon, and we will be hoping to get in there again. To sum up, its a place everybody should visit even just to say hello to our "National Treasure" Lizzie!
If Lizzie and Rigsby's were in the Olympics they would be Gold medal winners for sure,Thank you Lizzie for an unforgettable time.

Malcolm Cragg!

Room Tip: The Large French room with queen sized bed is the one to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mongo_kong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Plus points - good breakfast and near to town centre, host Liza very friendly.
Bad points - prostitutes, prostitutes and prostitutes- cleanliness - value -
Prostitutes are a problem they badgered my boyfriend when he went to the shop and even if you override this they are out there all night shouting. Liza does her best to stop them but were a problem for us. Cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired and like a previous reviewer, Liza is very forgetful when it comes to prices, fortunately I had evidence of how much she said the room would be. Unable to recommend mainly on the grounds the cost of the room is not good value. I would recommend bringing your own towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at this lovely B&B with my boyfriend for a weekend break.
£55 for the night in the best room in the house, giant kingsize bed, french style furniture, fireplace, own bathroom and everything else you might possibly need.
Lizzy was lovely, on hand if we wanted anything or just for a chat, made us the best breakfast we'd had in ages and sent us off with a snack for the way home.
Honestly couldn't ask for more, cheaper and much better than the holiday and premier inn, would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lollypop1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
563 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rigsby's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigsby's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rigsby's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 84 Thorne Road, Doncaster DN2 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rigsby's is a traditional, family run bed and breakfast based a mile from Doncaster town centre. We take pride in our clean and comfortable accommodation along with a warm and professional service. We have excellent value for money accommodation with well appointed rooms. Perfect for whether you are on business or simply looking for a relaxing break. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing