We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely week at rigsbys with Tracy the lady who is now in charge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rigsby's Guest House Doncaster
Ranked #2 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Another lovely weeks stay at rigsbys in Doncaster, Tracy is now running the place and she is doing a really great job. She is lovely and friendly and very helpful. There is going to be a few changes to the decor and bathrooms, these will only serve to enhance a great b and b even more, I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast it's really nice and clean and the cooked breakfasts are superb. Enjoy x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv-jonesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed one night, Sat 12th oct 2013 whilst we were attending Tattoo Jam at Doncaster Racecourse. We were made welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The landlady asked if we needed anything extra and was very helpful throughout our stay, giving us a taxi number to get us to the exhibition and taking our breakfast orders for the next day. The room was ample for our needs and pleasantly decorated (i even had a little rubber duck on my bedside table) and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good, we had no problems with our stay and if we ever have a reason to stay in Doncaster again we will definitely return to Rigsby's.

Lee & Claire - Satisfied guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night as we had a funeral to attend locally. Lizzie is an amazing character and nothing is too much trouble. When discussing breakfast on our arrival I mentioned my liking for fried bread (not healthy I know but nice!). it duly appeared on my plate the next morning! The room was amazing, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and with our own bathroom - amazing value for money. Lizzie loves a chat, is always friendly and always willing to help. Sadly for Rigsbys, her many satisfied customers on this site and for the trade in general she is shortly leaving for a very well deserved rest. I wish I had had more opportunies to sample the great 'Lizzie hospitality'. Good luck Lizzie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed one night 20th July 2013. Made very welcome by Liz, had good night's sleep and good breakfast next morning. Very clean and spacious room on 1st floor. Excellent pub few hundred yards along the road with good food and ambience. Some reviews have mentioned ' women of the night' outside but we did not see any. Even if we had it would not have affected the review on our stay at this B & B, why should it..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Used this bed and breakfast as it was fairly near to the Doncaster racecourse. Lizzy was there to great us and show us to our lovely bedroom which had a king size bed, 2 wardrobes, chests of drawers and still loads of space, very airy and calming in cream and pale green with a nice bay window to look out of. Cooked English breakfast with help yourself to toast and cereals. Lizzie noticed that I had used the small packet of special k, so bought a big packet for me to use the following day, so thoughtful. To describe Lizzie is a little difficult to explain, cheerful, chatty a little eccentric but very thoughtful and caring, funny with her tales of when she had been a singer on the circuit. Yes she had a stuffed rat by the front door and witches on chairs,a soft toy frog, dog, teddy and monkey (which somehow managed to be wearing my slippers one night) all in the room. She was a breath of fresh air and as mad as a hatter sometimes but we loved it and would stay there again. We did notice a lady of the night around but she was soon moved on by police who appeared to be watching the area very frequently but as this did not interfere with us it was not a problem. Loved the town centre and Cosmos restaurant. Lizzie allowed people to take back food and use her dining room facilities if they wanted to.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cream room, only drawback is the your bathroom is on the same landing next to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddywack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for another weeks course with lizzie, as per usual lizzie was superb and really looked after me, I was eating a specific cereal and she went out and bought a new box when it got a bit low and another friend on our course wanted porridge, lizzie went straight out and bought it that day, she always goes the extra mile for her guests, thanks lizzie hope to c u again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv-jonesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

helpful and trusting, i phoned lizzy last minute.com,, so helpful as one of my busses has a problem and the driver needed a room for the night, she gave us piece of mind and let us pay for the room the next day,, and was very friendly toard derek the driver, very relaxed and homely,,, would defantly use again next time, 1st choice,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.3 mi away
Kellett Hotel
Kellett Hotel
#4 of 24 in Doncaster
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#16 of 24 in Doncaster
47 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central East
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rigsby's Guest House Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigsby's Guest House Doncaster

Address: 84 Thorne Road, Doncaster DN2 5BL, England (Formerly Rigsby's Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Refurbished Rigsbys guest house, My Name is Tracy Ward and welcome to my home. Winner of The Established Certificate of Excellence Award for the last few years! Voted Best Bed and Breakfast from You Lovely lot. THANK YOU . I offer you my home to relax unwind and of course if you fancy it a Delicious Home Cooked Breakfast, a small additional fee is required. Not a lover of Breakfast? Why not grab a muffin or cereal from the breakfast room, I offer this as part of my charge. Free Parking and WI-FI are available for all my guest. I am less than a mile from Doncaster Town Centre, Walking distance to our Famous Race Course, and Doncaster Clinics & Main Hospital A very efficient Bus Route is walking Distance from the Guest House too I also offer the use of my Home for Private Parties such as Group bookings, Family Members visiting from out side the UK. I look forward to greeting you upon arrival very soon Tracy Ward ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rigsby's Guest House Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing