We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again a great stay on New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Again a great stay on New Year”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Greeted by a very helpful, cheerful, effecient receptionist. Who confirmed we were booked into the five poster bedroom.

The room was not a let down a raised chunky five poster bed in a large room. Room and bathroom were spotless.

After unpacking we went for a snack in the bar area, we only had sandwiches but they were really tasty.

Night time we plumped for the restaraunt meal and disco. The meal was first class.

Fire works at midnight were even better than last year!

So as to give my wife time to sober up before driving home on New Years Day we stopped for Dinner in the Garden restaraunt, Starting with Salmon the best we have ever tasted. My wife had chicken and tagliotelli which she said was amazing, I had Roast Sirloin cooked to perfection, home made ice cream finished off a perfect visit to the Mount Pleasant.

Can I just say thank you to ALL of the staff. Cleaners. Barstaff. Reception. Waiters/Waitresse's
they were so friendly and accomodating. A pleasure to speak to.

Room Tip: If you want a top quality hotel with excellent staff the Mount Pleasant is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear GaryB

It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you back for the New Years Eve celebrations and for lunch the following day, it was great to read the comments which you wrote and certainly all your comments have been passed through to all members of the team.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    245
    71
    33
    21
See reviews for
196
423
25
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed here a number of times for business. Very relaxing atmosphere, very helpful staff with quick service in the bar restuarant.
Rooms are quiet and very spacious.

Although, beware, there is a waterbed in one of the rooms!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear shees1

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel I was so very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all the facilities at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Certainly it is a point to note with regard to the mudbed and we do try to ensure guests are aware of this and will obviously move them should they not like this kind of sleep experience.

Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My friends and I booked a 'Pyjama Party' at the hotel for the third year running, as our treat for Christmas, as it consists of a stay in the most amazing bedrooms - all very big and full of character - as well as the use of a huge apartment with enormous sofas and pouffes.

The three course meal which in included is absolutely gorgeous, the service first class, and the breakfast in the morning is a plentiful buffet
.
One of our friends needs a gluten free diet, and their attention to detail meant she could have almost everything on the menu as there was a gluten free option. She said she had pate for the first time in twelve years.

We cannot fault anything about it, and have booked for next year already

Thank you all so much

Room Tip: Whichever room you book, you will be thrilled
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynneth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Lynneth44

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review with regard to your recent 'Pick n Mix' Party.

Its a great pleasure to read such a review when you had such a nice time in any of our apartments, I am glad that you enjoyed the food and sounds like you had a real good time.

I look forward to seeing at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Had a lovely romantic Christmas stay here a few years ago.. My husband secretly ordered champagne flowers n chocolates, and all were there waiting or my arrival.. Rooms are decorated to high standards. Restaurant very well presented in fact could not fault any part of our weekend stay. On the Saturday we did attend a Christmas event the with friends, and no complaints were made by any colleagues

Finished off with breakfast in bed , a lovely romantic treat

Room Tip: We upgraded to one of the wonderful junior suites....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne N Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Wayne & Sally L

Thank you for taking the post your review.

I was very pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay here at the hotel and that you had a good Christmas celebration with your friends. I shall ensure that all your feedback is passed through to all members of the team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Merry Christmas!

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is the 4th stay with Mount Pleasant, meating with friends on an annual basis for a PJ party in memory of past friends, we have previously had a fantastic experience, hence the previous 3 bookings.
This year things were very different!
Having booked on departure last year, we did not receive the room we had booked, it was much smaller & un-equipped.
Our original booking was to keep our room until 12noon on the day of our departure as we all had treatments booked & would need to shower prior to going to dinner (this was clearly stated on our booking confirmation), on arrival the staff insisted we departed the room at 10.30 as they had changed their policy without notifying us.
The buffet we had booked was of very poor quality & the attitude of the staff dealing with our complaint was terrible!
£750 for a one night stay, their loss as we will definately not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glen704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Glen704

As this is the same occasion and booking as jparty2k I have responded in the same manner.

Thank you for taking the time to write your lengthy review with such detail to the Trip Advisor site.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your three previous visits to the hotel to experience what was originally called our Pyjama party and is now called Pick 'n' Mix Party.

I am of course sorry that you felt that the allocated apartment was not the same as previous but as was explained to you at the time we allocate one of our three apartments based upon numbers in your party and other bookings , whilst I understand that you may have experienced the largest of our apartments this had been based purely on availability and nowhere in our terms and conditions do we guarantee a particular room number on this type of booking, however we certainly do guarantee that the apartment allocated is suitable for your booking which it certainly is. I do not agree with any of your comments with regard to the furniture in this apartment as it is of a very similar design to the upstairs apartment and equipped in a similar fashion.

Also as with regard to cutlery etc we do provide this at the time we serve the food to the apartment but do provide glassware in advance of this. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided according to the number of persons sleeping in that particular room as has been the same on all occasions that you have stayed.

The situation of the complaint and the forthright way in which it was expressed certainly did have an effect in putting my staff on a backfoot, but I do believe that they dealt with things in a most courteous manner.

Certainly the administrative error in terms of transferring your lunchtime account to your hotel bill should have been cleared before you recieved your final bill please accept my apologies for this.

I am sorry whenever any guest makes or raises a point with regard to aspects of their stay and whilst I do understand the points raised the hotel has fulfilled all of its terms & conditions and provide a suitable venue.

The intermation as a detterent that your complaint/feedback would be posted to the site unless the hotel responded favourably, is a little of an uncomfortable thought as I do believe the site to be more about feedback and opinion good or constructive and should be used in that manner, so as users and other feedback providers can make their own personal informed judgements.

I am sorry that we do not share the same points of view or opinions on this matter.

Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

from the moment we stepped through the door to the time we left everything was perfect. Friendly and attenative staff without being overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble.
Spa treaments were fabulous cant wait till will go back again. It was a birthday present from my son in law. wish it was my birthday again next week.
The room was excellent large confortable with a bath lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear jayjay47

Thank you taking the tme to post your review to the Trip Advisor site.

It was very pleasing to hear that you had such a pleasant stay at the hotel and such fabulous treatments in the Salon. I shall certainly ensure that your feedback is passed throgh to all members of the team.

I do look forward to personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We were staying here as part of the celebrations for my Mother's birthday. we booked two good rooms and dinner for eight.
Rooms were pretty good - OK they are a little noisy but only if other guests are a little inconsiderate! But all the facilities worked.
However dinner was a whole different matter, service was dreadful even though we waited for all of us to be served we had to start eating our starters to avoid them getting cold. This meant that when the final plate arrived most of the rest of the table had finished. For the main course meals were mixed up wrong people getting wrong steaks and we got the wrong red wine - nice but not what we ordered. To add insult to injury when the bill arrived we had been charged for the expensive red wine we didn't have and charged for a more expensive bottle of the white! When we complained the staff were not that surprised and looked knowingly at each other and then took an age to correct the account - it appears there is only one till to handle food and drink as whilst we were being sorted the bar staff were unable to serve people who were waiting to order drinks! The last five minutes of this transaction was like a scene from an old comedy movie!!!
And despite making our feelings well known - we left zero tip - and passed comment when asked not one person bothered to make even an effort to apologise!
Will never be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear HowardSimon

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on to Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the rooms but were unfortunately disturbed by other guests.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not recieve the food & service that hotel should have provided, certainly I shall use your points in a constructive manner to ensure that your experience is not repeated.

I do hope that you will reconsider your decision to use the hotel and that we can show the restaurant and service how you should have recieved it.

Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
4.8 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
588 reviews
18.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,022 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
5.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Address: Great North Road | A638, Doncaster DN11 0HW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Mount Pleasant Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#1 Green Hotel in Doncaster
#1 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
#4 Family Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Mount Pleasant Hotel is Doncaster's only AA rated four-star hotel. Situated between the historic market towns of Doncaster & Bawtry on the Great North Road, we are just 1 mile from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport. Ideally located close to main transport links, the hotel is the perfect venue for those wishing to stay in and around Doncaster. Four-star country house hotel set in 100 acres of wooded parkland. 56 luxury en suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Doncaster
Doncaster Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing