We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Campanile Doncaster
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weekend Stopover”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Positive Points:
Big double bed (More like a king size)
4 pillows
Powerful shower
Friendly reception staff
Quite quiet
Excellent location with being in walking distance of The Dome, Asda, The Vue cinema + more

Negative Points:
I arrived alone at night (dark outside) to check-in with my partner to follow with our room being located around the back of the hotel but, the lights outside the doors are bright enough and it took some time for me to actually get into the room because i couldnt see to get the key in and also, find the light switch inside.
The bedroom smelt musty
Was quite clean apart from there was mould above the bath

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    56
    74
    44
    89
See reviews for
33
93
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

stayed at the campanile on saturday 3rd march to coincide with a trip to the races that day.pleasently surprised by what we found as the facilities were clean and very comfortable. check in was quick and easy,staff very helpful and bar and dining area clean and well stocked.lovely big bed,shower adequate and free wifi a big plus .all told a great choice at a fab price,and will definetly stay again if in the area !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangepeelWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and its always been great value. Rooms are always clean, shower is good, the wifi is relaible (and free), parking is free and continental breakfast is perfectly good with a French influence. You're not going to get better value than this. The nearby Travelodge doesn't even supply shampoo and the wifi is chargeable and didn't work in my room. Beware though, my SatNav takes me 1/2 a mile further up the road. If you can't find the hotel turn around and drive back along the same road for 1/2 a mile.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Having read some of the reviews I actually did not take any nnotice of them, and I was right. The hotel was perfectly adequate . Nice clean room, comfy bed and just round the corner from the Doncaster Dome we were going to see a band.We had a meal in the bar before we went, only thing was they do not have a full menu . We found it very quiet and slept well. The staff were very helpful giving us directions etc. I really don't know what some people expect. We were very happy with the price we paid I booked online and got a room for £29. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StatesideRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night due to a last minute change of plans. It was very cheap (via laterooms.com) and close to where I needed to be. It was not; however, the Ritz, but you do get what you pay for! In this case you get a clean, almost comfortable room (see temperature comment) a big bed and basic facilities.

This hotel is a motel style place offering cheap accommodation. The rooms was clean but needed a refurbishment, the bed was large and comfortable but the room was small and because of the chalet style layout had an exterior door leading through a small vestibule directly into the room. It was also cold in the room and the bathroom was a little musty.

On the plus side:

1) Free unlimited wifi in all rooms (which is very useful)
2) Big bed with clean and fresh linen
3) Very quiet
4) Cheerful, friendly staff
5) Very cheap
6) En Suite
7) Some Sky Channels to help pass the time


Negative side:

1) Cheap fittings
2) Room was very cold and a little damp
3) Heating took ages to warm up the room
4) Breakfast not included
5) Room was tired and needed redecorating
6) Food was limited ( so I went to the massive Asda near by and got some butties)
7) Walls between rooms are thin
8) Not entirely sure there are any night staff on site - I didn’t see anyone about and the reception looked dark and closed when i got back after 11PM

In conclusion I don’t think i would stay here again, other than an emergency. but the accommodation offered was decent enough for the price paid. If you want a cheap place to kip for the night, this will do. If you want a decent standard of hotel or are staying for several night look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I used to use these Campanile motels quite often when travelling on business, mainly because the price was reasonable and the food was of a very good standard, which I put down to French ownership. This was the first time i have used one for a year or so, and on the evidence of this stay they seem to be going downhill somewhat.The price of food has gone up and the quality gone down - for example, they used to do lovely mini baguettes for breakfast, now just sliced bread.Occupancy seemed very low, I was the only diner, and only six people at breakfast.These places are used often by workmen and engineers working away from home, lots of works vans in the car park.
Positives:
- Cheap room rate ( through LateRooms)
- Room clean, beds and linen fine, well equipped bathroom
- Free WiFi in all rooms ( I now never go back to a hotel that charges for WiFi)
- Quiet, no traffic noise
- Helpful staff
Negatives
- Motel layout with rooms separate from bar/restaurant means you get wet on your way to meals if it's raining
- Breakfast juice machine broken, coffee machine broken, continental breakfast at £6.50 not very good value if you just want cereal and a slice of toast
- Dinner used to be really good in these places, now very average pub standard.
- Only one 240v socket in the room - if you want to charge your phone and run your laptop you need to bring a multi socket extension lead.
- Difficult to find, not well signposted from the road that is its postal address.
- Rooms are very small

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

my stay was different i wanted piece and quiet and thats what i got the hotel is like an american style motel its a 2 star hotel not a 3 or 4 star the staff are so friendly i will stay ther again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janejones259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
1.0 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campanile Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campanile Doncaster

Property: Hotel Campanile Doncaster
Address: Doncaster Leisure Park Bawtry Road, Doncaster DN4 7PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Campanile Doncaster 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Doncaster is a budget hotel situated next Door to Doncaster Dome and 5 minutes walk from Doncaster Racecourse. Located 4km from Doncaster train and bus station, 4 km from Junction 3 M18 and 9km from Doncaster Robin Hood Airport we are a perfect central hub to so many destinations. The hotel has 49 ensuite bedrooms with tea and coffee making facilities, flatscreen televisions,free parking and WIFI. The hotel has a bar, restaurant and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Campanile Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Campanile Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing