We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Campanile Doncaster
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After being moved from the first room as it stunk of damp and was filthy we opened the door to the second room to be hit with the same stench, the kettle and cups were tea stained and then we realised we had half a bath.....we had been put in a disabled room although none of us are disabled so the bath was no use to us. The floor was sticky all the grout was mouldy, bathroom heater did not work, no bulb in the lamp and only a few sheets of toilet paper on the roll clearly not changed from the previous guest! The bed was the worst ever all the springs were broke and noisy then after a rough nights sleep the cleaners parked up 3 asda trolleys outside our room to throw dirty bedding in n that was very noisy. At 11am a cleaner just let herself in to our room without knocking as we were sat getting ready to check out at 12!! I complained at reception to be told I should of said the night before but whats the point after 2dirty rooms we werent likely to get a better 3rd!!!! The manager had an answer for everything new staff, mix up of room numbers etc he was so unhelpfull. On the plus the tele was ok n the young girl on reception the night before waslovelly and very helpfull. I would advise everyone to pay a little extra and stay elsewere!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMdoncaster, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest

Being continuously into improving our customer service, our guest opinion is alway welcome. Firstly let me apologise for your experience at the hotel. I can assure you it was not the manager you spoke to during your stay. I am fully investigating all the points you made. I have since tried to contact you now on a number of occasions in order to discuss your experience but to no avail so i am unable to rectify this complaint with youself if you are unwilling to speak to me. It is disconcerting that as a doncaster resident yourself you have placed two other reviews, some on the same day, about other hotels and restaurants in Doncaster which you were dissatisfied with. Please contact me directly in order to discuss this

Best Regards
Victoria F
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Campanile is a budget hotel, however check was easy and pleasant.
Bonus - Unlimited free wi-fi.
The buildings and rooms are looking very tired and the door security chain was broken.
I also think that the cleaners must be underpaid, why else would you do half a job? Thick dust around the room, hairs in the sink and a simple wipe would remove the mould in the shower!
That said, if all your looking for is a cheap bed in which to crash for the night this Campanile ticks the box.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19IL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMdoncaster, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for informing us about your experience. We are happy that you were pleased with the price, check in and unlimited free wifi. Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and i do apologise about the cleanliness of your room. I will be investigating this matter with the housekeeping team. I hope your reply addresses your concerns

Best Regards
Victoria F
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As we drove into the car park we were shocked at how run down it is. I have to say the staff were excellent and accomodating but that is the only plus. On entering the room the odour hit us so we left the front door open and the fresh air helped, probably the cleaning odours didnt help. The bed was a good size and clean but the bathroom floor was a bit sticky as was parts of the carpet in te main room. The tv was good as was the drinks facilities. We were shocked to find masses of thick dust around and behind the window table and around the room in general.
As we were only staying the one night as a stopover we just slept there and moved on without showering the next morning. We were very dissapointed with the whole experience overall and as we have a lot of weekends away using numerous hotels i have to say this was one of the worst rooms ever. The whole place needs refurbishing top to bottom, but keep the lovely staff we met.

Room Tip: There are none unfortunatly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hordenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMdoncaster, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I do apologise for any issues you encountered. We are glad that you were happy with the staff, bed ,TV and drinks facilities. Our staff take all feedback very seriously and we will certainly ensure that the points you have mentioned are raised with the relevant departments to ensure we work to improve our guest experience. If you would like to discuss your feedback with me personally I would ask that you contact the hotel directly. I do hope you will accept our apologies once again
Kind Regards
Victoria F. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

we stayed here last weekend whilst at the races, first impression was a cross between bates's motel, and a butlins chalet, it was in need of a lot of refurbishing, and the only thing i could say that was good was the size of the bed, we paid quite abit for a room only and to be honest wouldnt stay again, for £65 id expect breakfast which we have paid for in york and had better accomodation. dont think i stay here again, even if the location was good

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazsafc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMdoncaster, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel your opinion is important to us. Indeed the hotel is a 'chalet style' with the bedroom block being separate to the bar/restaurant and the bedrooms having direct access to the outside. We do apologise that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are happy that you were satisfied with the size of the beds and that the location of the hotel was only minutes walk away from your trip to the races. If you book in advance there are special discounted rates available ( some including breakfast) on the Campanile website. I hope my reply addresses you concerns but should you wish to contact me directly please feel free to contact the hotel.

Kind Regards
Victoria F.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Okay, let me start by saying that it could do with an update, but it was clean, functional, allowed our small dog, and was in a great location. The staff were very helpful, so all in all, a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMdoncaster, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the feedback concerning you stay and being continuously into improving or customer service, our guests opinion is always welcome. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with the service, cleanliness and location and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Victoria F. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

From the minute I arrived, was made to feel welcome!

Very friendly staff, lovely clean room, quiet location considering closeness to main road.

Restaurant first class.

Breakfast ample.

Asked for extra milk for room, no problem.

Travelling on my own I was made to feel very comfortable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank rubysgirlooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMdoncaster, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are very pleased to hear you were happy with the restaurant, location, cleanliness and the service from the staff. We do our upmost to make lone travellers feel welcome and be able to provide a home from home and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Victoria F. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Renate M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#10 of 19 in Doncaster
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campanile Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campanile Doncaster

Address: Doncaster Leisure Park Bawtry Road, Doncaster DN4 7PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range: £27 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Campanile Doncaster 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Doncaster is a budget hotel situated next Door to Doncaster Dome and 5 minutes walk from Doncaster Racecourse. Located 4km from Doncaster train and bus station, 4 km from Junction 3 M18 and 9km from Doncaster Robin Hood Airport we are a perfect central hub to so many destinations. The hotel has 49 ensuite bedrooms with tea and coffee making facilities, flatscreen televisions,free parking and WIFI. The hotel has a bar, restaurant and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Campanile Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Campanile Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing