We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Mercure
£72
Booking.com
£72
Trip.com
£64
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
bexilou
Bridlington, United Kingdom

Great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024via mobile
I was dubious about this hotel due to some of the reviews on here. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff were really friendly, our room was spotless and the beds were really comfy. The only downside for me was the noise. Whilst I wasn't expecting peace and quiet on a Saturday night in a city centre, it was noisier than other city centre hotels I have stayed in. Although they do provide earplugs, which we didn't find until the morning. The hotel is really well located, and great value for money. Despite the noise, I would still stay here again.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge
£32
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.5 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£44
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£44
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
1.4 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
£39
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Travelodge
    £35
  • Trip.com
    £43
5.7 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
£124
  • Expedia.com
    £124
  • Hotels.com
    £124
  • Priceline
    £138
5.3 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Travelodge
£29
  • Vio.com
7.5 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
£50
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £45
  • Priceline
    £50
  • Expedia.com
    £45
3.4 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£81
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £68
  • Agoda.com
    £80
5.0 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Expedia.com
    £106
0.6 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £59
  • ZenHotels.com
    £58
  • HIExpress.com
    £59
1.8 miles from Mercure Doncaster Danum Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Doncaster
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
213
105
78
53
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
213
105
78
53
75
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

A dirty, rundown hotel occupied by some unsavoury characters. Easily the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. The wall in my room was covered in damp. There was no hot water. The lights alongside the bed were covered in dust and even after I wrote ‘clean me’ in the dust they remained untouched. The wallpaper at the top of the headboard was peeling. The bedside lights didn’t work which meant I was either in darkness or had to put every single light on. There were some very dodgy characters staying at the hotel. I was woken up at 2am by shouting and swearing outside my room. Two men were banging on the neighbouring door shouting and swearing. This went on for around 30 minutes. The toilet seat was very loose and the carpet was dirty and in need of a good clean, full of dust and other peoples hair.
To top it all of the local crackheads/drunks gather outside the main hotel entrance making for a very uncomfortable experience. In summary, the most disgusting hotel I’ve ever had the displeasure of staying in.

Room tip: Avoid at all costs!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Jackarmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

Stayed here on business with 5 colleagues. Best thing are the staff, who are really friendly and helpful. Room was adequate. Luckily I was away from the main road, so my stay was quiet. Other colleagues had to put up with other guests screaming & shouting & loud music.
Bed was clean, but not hugely comfortable- too soft. Furniture had seen better days and lighting was ineffective. Only one full mirror in the room and it was in an alcove with no lighting so difficult to do hair/makeup.

Bathroom was a huge plus - clearly recently upgraded with nice fittings and good, powerful shower with plenty hot water. Toiletries were fab - neroli & bergamot are my favourite scents and nice soft, white thick towels.

Breakfast was very slow service. I asked for poached eggs (not advertised) & they were delicious but brown toast was 50/50 white/brown and barely hot bread. The waitress also kept forgetting our hash browns, which weren’t worth the wait. Full English looked nice.

Colleagues said that there was a man, clearly off his face on drugs in the bar the night before as he sat gurning & grinding his teeth which was off putting, but thankfully I opted to head to bed after we’d returned from dinner.

Wine was delicious, but not much of an atmosphere.

Convenient for the train station and surrounding area & they offer discounted parking in the nearby Frenchgate shopping centre, which is secure.

Would I stay again? Possibly, but only if on business again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Pygmyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2024

The hotel itself isn't terrible. The staff were friendly. I had a standard room, modern bathroom, looked lovely, but shower and bathroom taps leaked every time the room above used their bath/shower. So obviously aesthetics over decent plumbing on the bathrooms!The lock on the bedroom door was questionable at best, it was obvious the door had been forced at some point and broken locks replaced! Didnt fill me with confidence. The Breakfast was OK (dont expect even a choice of how you want your eggs its scrambled or nothing!) but cooked to order, which is a bonus.
The worst thing about this hotel is its in a very run down town and some of their residents, who im assuming are living here through emergency housing plans represent this, no respect for anyone else, shouting and screeching in hallways in the early hours. I expect the homeless man who sits on the steps of the next door building outside would have at least been more respectful had he been ever offered a room!
I wouldn't return, I'd rather stay 30 miles out of town and commute in than stay anywhere near the centre of Doncaster again! Felt very unsafe both in and out of the hotel. Awful place! Feel sorry for the hotel, think they're fighting a losing battle. Its one of the worst Mercure I've stayed in, it's grimy, stains on curtains,carpets you dont want to put your fet on etc, but the FOH seem to be doing their best, but even when here as a place to sleep when away for business, its not a place you can relax!

Room tip: If you don't mind a half hour drive stay at the Mercure Kenwood Hall in Sheffield instead, commute into Doncaster, similar price, much better
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail56379465897
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024

Told deputy manager no heating she told me she already knew half of the hotel hasn't got heating came down stairs she had all reception full of drug addicts falling all over.
young lad running up and down the hall way like a rhino pubes all in the bed
Was told I had a double bed which I what I payed for it was it was 2 singles put into one and I asked her before I checked in and was told it was a double
Then asked for head office contact for her to point blank refuse I ast her to say that om video for her to then ignore me and mumble unde her breathe it's all on cctv like you said I want a refund immediately I have now contacted head office also and emailed a solicitor and it's an absolute dive run by kids.
Door was hanging off also to be told yes I already know ot was kicked in 2 weeks prior I have hot all pictures.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank asbestosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Hotel and rooms are average, but the attentiveness of every member of staff is the best I’ve ever experienced.

Very welcoming, Nothing a problem, felt like they wanted to give me the best experience possible.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank PC850
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews