We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!!”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We enjoyed our meal in the new refurbished restuarant with our friends. The service was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly . The area is very good for parking, no problems. Good choice of Starters, Mains and Desserts and good value for money. I would recommend The Regent Hotel for Sunday Lunch and Evening Meal. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Book your meal time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    77
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
63
88
13
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I've been staying at the Regent for many months now on and off, my last review was in June 2011. In this time I've seen some very positive changes along with a few negative ones.
A program of refurbishment has started. This includes a new reception and resident's bar area, along with an overhaul of the restuarant, now renamed Magnolia Rooms. The refurb also covers part of the accomodation areas, which you can see by the move away from blue carpet to brown striped carpet. I hope this continues. Also as part of the changes, they have started to do away ith the dated sheets, blankets and bedspreads, replacing them with crisp white sheets and duvets. These alone make the rooms look fresh and more modern.
The breakfast is still plentiful and fresh and the poached eggs are still being done to perfection!!
Now the down side.
The restaurant used to be quite busy and the bar food menu usually had 5 or 6 dishes, along with the super 6 (available every day). You could order from the restaurant menu for a greater selection of starters and the food was generally of a good standard.
For a while there was a young chef named Martin, who would even knock you something up that wasn't on the menu if it wasn't too busy. He made the best carbonara i've ever had!
Martin is no more and to be blunt, I can cook better than the current 'chef/s'!!
The blackboard menu in the bar has dropped to 3 items if you're lucky....and you'd better like chips! Drizzling some balsamic sauce in a zigzag across a plate doesn't make it a better dish.

I also heard a customer ask for a cheese and onion sandwich in sliced bread. He was refused because they had run out of ingredients!!! A kitchen running out of cheese and onion is a pretty poor show.

I hope that Simon gets to grips with this, because without a good kitchen the hotel just doesn't feel quite right.

All in all, this is still a gem of a hotel. As for the scathing review.....I'm not sure which narrow corridors and stairs the lady was in??? I'm 6'2" and 18 stone and can carry my case by my side, up the stairs and down the corridors!!

Stay here, you'll get a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed at The Regent Hotel during June and July 2012 as a long stay guest.
The hotel was comfortable and and the staff friendly.
The owner, Simon was most accommodating and the staff members Bill, Ceaser and Jessie were particularly helpful and friendly to me.
I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main bar or those above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAD786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We booked through the site, it was such an easy stay, very helpful. Would definatley recommend eating in the restaurant "magnolia rooms".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had a brilliant time, found all the staff really helpful,and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A welcome change from the 'corporate' blandness of the budget hotels. The property is well located for the town centre and has loads of character. The rooms are clean, very spacious and benefit from all the usual amenities. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. The only big downside is the shortage of car parking.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the Regent Square - a lot quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I am possibly one of this hotel's biggest fans having had my 18th & 21st birthdays and my wedding here. The Regent is on the right side of Doncaster in terms of easy access to all attractions. It is family owned which gives it a warmer feeling than many chain hotels without compromising on the standards and attention to detail you would get in a chain hotel. Many of the staff who work here are long serving which also speaks volumes. The Hotel is deceptively large and the rooms are of a good standard, clean and modern with nice high ceilings which give a spacious feel. I have stayed in the rooms that overlook Regent Square which is really pretty, especially in the summer. The food served is home cooked and of an excellent standard especially the breakfasts and Sunday lunches. If you are looking for a Hotel in Doncaster then the Regent will not disapoint.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Regent Square, Doncaster DN1 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic Centre of Doncaster, overlooking charming tree-lined Regent Square is the Boutique-style Regent Hotel. Offering a mix of 18th Century architecture and stylish modern features and just minutes from train station the hotel is suited for guests visiting Doncaster for both business and leisure. The fifty-two en-suite bedrooms, bars/lounges and conference facilities are designed in a contemporary chic with bold and vibrant colours, ensuring that every visit is equally pleasurable and memorable. Free car parking is available at the hotel on request (not easy to find in the town centre) and is ideally located for guests wanting to take in the sights and sounds of Doncaster, whether that is exploring the towns picturesque Victorian streets, taking a look around the shopping district, just minutes from the hotel, or taking advantage of the towns vibrant night life. Previous guests include The Beatles and The Kaiser Chiefs – an endorsement to the hotel’s reputation for excellent customer service and commitment to quality.Each of the fifty-two en-suite bedrooms has everything you would expect from a stylish boutique-style hotel. Modern facilities, such as Flat screen televisions and free wireless internet perfectly suit the guest who desires both comfort and in room entertainment. In the morning there is something for everyone, why not indulge yourself with an authentic Full Yorkshire Breakfast (ingredients sourced locally) or take the lighter option with a range of continental options for you to choose from.Since variety is the spice of life, the Regent takes great care to cater for all tastes. From delicate afternoon teas to full a la carte, the brigade of chefs have designed a range of creative menus to satisfy everybody's palate. Guests can choose to eat in one of the elegant lounge bars or opt for more classical dining in the Regent Restaurant.The Regent Hotel has a long standing history as the place to be for a celebration. Whether you’re celebrating a Birthday or just wanting a relaxing drink, the range of bars and function rooms styled in the unique mix of 18th century architecture and elegant modern facilities allow the hotel to provide the best suited environment for each guest. Every aspect of an event is covered, ensuring that celebrations exceed guest’s expectations.The Regent Hotel was established in 1935, located next to the vibrant heart of Doncaster’s Historic Town centre, a popular place for business, culture and nightlife. The Hotel is closely situated to the Frenchgate Centre, Doncaster's famous market, Lakeside Shopping Village and is only a 10 minute walk from the new Doncaster Racecourse, Doncaster Dome and Keepmoat Stadium. The Hotel is a 15 minute drive from Robin Hood Airport, 5 minutes from the motorway links and a 5 minute walk to the bus/rail stations in the town centre and with free parking (on request) you can take in the everything Doncaster has to offer virtually hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Doncaster
Regent Doncaster
Doncaster Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing