We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Phoned up last minute and was given the park view suite, the service was excellent, really friendly staff! Would recommend to anyone! Defiantly going again, it's clean, warm and very modern, big beds, breakfast included and room service is available :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Abigail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

I chose this hotel from a groupon deal for my partner and I to use in January. Upon arrival we were greeted professionally by an extremely friendly lady. The room was a little basic but very clean and comfortable, quite adequate. The restaurant service was fabulous with food of a very high standard. Breakfast was fast and again very satifying. All I can say is that all the staff here were extremely friendly and hospitable we could not fault them at all. They allowed us to park in the hotel while we went into town and even provided us with a free cappuccino following check out which was a pleasant surprise.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank T4978KDsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed her on business in Doncaster and the room was a good size but had badly stained curtains and the chair in the room had a big stain on it. The staff are very attentive, never asking if all was ok etc. same at breakfast, they never asked if I wanted toast nor did they offer etc, when checking out they never asked how was my stay. Would not stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We attended a retirement party and decided to stay over night. Booking and reception on arrival was a polite and professional experience. Our room, which was at the rear of the property, was spacious, clean and had all the expected facilities. Plenty of hot water for a bath. Good nights sleep with a good breakfast in the morning served by polite and efficient staff. £45 for two. Excellent value and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having read a couple of the negative reviews I was worried about my New Year's Eve booking - but how wrong they all were - I had absolutely no need to worry at all.
We had a family room & a double, the family room was huge - 2 double beds & a seating area with a lovely view over regent square, really comfy beds. The double room was spacious, clean & again comfy beds. There is Plenty of parking available.

This hotel is family run & everyone can't do enough for you! From the girl on reception at check in to the bar staff in the early hours, Everyone had a smile for us, nothing was too much trouble - even at breakfast after the late night the staff were cheery & helpful. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu - very we'll presented & came quick even when the kitchen must have been busy. The restaurant "magnolia rooms" where we had our breakfast is a beautiful room with lovely decor overlooking the square - we have eaten in the restaurant several times in the past & have always had a perfect meal - they have a great selection of wines.!!!!!

The New Year's Eve party was a fantastic night - definitely will be booking again for next year - good atmosphere,great food & music just a a perfect venue to see the old year out & the NEW year in!!

Thank you for a wonderful stay x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We arrived at the Regent hotel and were swiftly checked in with no problems. We were told a time for dinner, breakfast and check out. We arrived for dinner during the allocated time and were told that the restaurant was closed. However a member of staff would 'see if they had anything left' we went to the 'cocktail bar' to order a cocktail to be told that they don't actually do cocktails at this hotel which was a real disappointment!

We ordered from a Menu that didn't even resemble the online restaurant menu and waited half an hour for our starter. Considering we were the only ones in the restaurant this was pretty appalling!!
Anyway, the steak was tiny and more gristle than meat and considering it cost almost £20 we were disgusted!!

We left to go to a cocktail bar in town!!

In the morning we again arrived for breakfast during the times we were told to be told breakfast was finished. Not 1 member of staff could tell us what times were the correct ones and it was all a bit of a shambles! They offered us breakfast as an apology, which they should have done anyway as it was included in the room price!!

On a plus, the rooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water, the toilet seat however was broken which was a downside to the room

I wouldn't ever stay at this hotel again purely because of the awful customer service. Not one apology for being given the wrong information or for the poor food or for that fact they advertise a cocktail bar but don't actually do cocktails!!!

We visit Doncaster regularly and next time I'll be staying at the Earl of Doncaster hotel again. It may be pricier but it's so worth it, unlike my experience at the Regent!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, a room looking the square is much nicer! Room 12 was high up with a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xPrincessx90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The whole hotel has a nice warm appearance, the room was of high standard, great night sleep, room clean, will stay here next time. Only one issue was that the kettle didn't work unless held hand on switch and there was no tv remote, a previous guest probably acquired this but it is my belief that the hotel staff/cleaner should check these things regularly. I didn't report these as I'm quite stubborn when it comes to basics.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.4 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#3 of 19 in Doncaster
680 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Regent Square, Doncaster DN1 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: £57 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic Centre of Doncaster, overlooking charming tree-lined Regent Square is the Boutique-style Regent Hotel. Offering a mix of 18th Century architecture and stylish modern features and just minutes from train station the hotel is suited for guests visiting Doncaster for both business and leisure. The fifty-two en-suite bedrooms, bars/lounges and conference facilities are designed in a contemporary chic with bold and vibrant colours, ensuring that every visit is equally pleasurable and memorable. Free car parking is available at the hotel on request (not easy to find in the town centre) and is ideally located for guests wanting to take in the sights and sounds of Doncaster, whether that is exploring the towns picturesque Victorian streets, taking a look around the shopping district, just minutes from the hotel, or taking advantage of the towns vibrant night life. Previous guests include The Beatles and The Kaiser Chiefs – an endorsement to the hotel’s reputation for excellent customer service and commitment to quality.Each of the fifty-two en-suite bedrooms has everything you would expect from a stylish boutique-style hotel. Modern facilities, such as Flat screen televisions and free wireless internet perfectly suit the guest who desires both comfort and in room entertainment. In the morning there is something for everyone, why not indulge yourself with an authentic Full Yorkshire Breakfast (ingredients sourced locally) or take the lighter option with a range of continental options for you to choose from.Since variety is the spice of life, the Regent takes great care to cater for all tastes. From delicate afternoon teas to full a la carte, the brigade of chefs have designed a range of creative menus to satisfy everybody's palate. Guests can choose to eat in one of the elegant lounge bars or opt for more classical dining in the Regent Restaurant.The Regent Hotel has a long standing history as the place to be for a celebration. Whether you’re celebrating a Birthday or just wanting a relaxing drink, the range of bars and function rooms styled in the unique mix of 18th century architecture and elegant modern facilities allow the hotel to provide the best suited environment for each guest. Every aspect of an event is covered, ensuring that celebrations exceed guest’s expectations.The Regent Hotel was established in 1935, located next to the vibrant heart of Doncaster’s Historic Town centre, a popular place for business, culture and nightlife. The Hotel is closely situated to the Frenchgate Centre, Doncaster's famous market, Lakeside Shopping Village and is only a 10 minute walk from the new Doncaster Racecourse, Doncaster Dome and Keepmoat Stadium. The Hotel is a 15 minute drive from Robin Hood Airport, 5 minutes from the motorway links and a 5 minute walk to the bus/rail stations in the town centre and with free parking (on request) you can take in the everything Doncaster has to offer virtually hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Doncaster
Regent Doncaster
Doncaster Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing