We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Earl of Doncaster
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We always eat out on a Friday night and have recently been a little disappointed with the usual restaurants, so we thought we would give the Earl a try!
The decor of the hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the staff are very pleasant.
The menu for the evening was a "steak night", we did look at the ala carte menu but decided to give the steak a try. It was fantastic value, two courses and half a bottle of wine for £15.00! I asked for potatoes with mine as only chips were on the menu, but they were very accommodating and brought me some vegetables too. The whole experience was wonderful, and i would recommend this to anyone, they do afternoon teas apparently that might be worth a try also.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

A quite unique experience and one that I was not expecting. The owner has spent some considerable money, thought and time on the Earl of Doncaster and the result is not only refreshing but extraordinarily good. The bedrooms (I had an executive room 805) was spacious and well furnished with an excellent showering facility. A walk in, a delight.
The staff in the restaurant and bar were both exemplary on the night that I was there with a colleague, and to find a bottle of Lebanese 2007 Bekaa Valley wine on the wine list along with an Argentinian Malbec, the former being a total surprise I must say, rounded off my trip completely.
Reception staff also most helpful and quick to respond to any requests.
I would have no hesitancy in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the area and I look forward to visiting again as and when I am next in the area. Lord BASNETT, Solihull.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORDBASNETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Sunday lunch in the new restaurant. Excellent decor, quick service and good food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We didn't stay here but attended a wedding party that had the whole hotel booked. The service was atrocious, selection of drinks and availability poor and the buffet food some of the worst I've ever experienced. I would never use this hotel ever again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Food_Lovers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We enjoyed New Years Eve this year at the earl of Doncaster and let me tell you, it was fantastic. I don't normally write reviews but decided to after I such a great experience. The Art Deco Ballroom was just splendid. It was a little noisy late-on, but it was New Years Eve, would certainly return anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Newly refurbished with great art deco style bar. Executive room and suite worth the extra money. Staff really friendly and helpful. Only drawback is gym location. Across a busy road. Having said that I was only one there which was nice. Breakfast room a bit soulless. I would go back however.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Nice interior and staff seemed friendly enough. Unfortunately I am 7 months pregnant and was not able to get any sleep as I was assigned the room above the function room that had loud music until 1am followed by the constant moving of furniture. Really disappointing, didn't get a wink of sleep and left without having breakfast as just wanted to get home!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Earl of Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl of Doncaster

Address: Bennetthorpe, Doncaster DN2 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#5 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: £61 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Earl of Doncaster 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive Art Deco hotel is less than 500 metres from both Doncaster’s town centre and race course. There is free parking, and free Wi-Fi in public areas and some rooms.All of the stylish and contemporary rooms feature a TV, tea and coffee and en suite bathrooms. Some rooms come with a separate walk-in shower, air conditioning and a flat-screen TV.The hotel’s public areas have had their stylish original Art Deco features preserved. The restaurant offers a varied table d’hôte menu, and a snack menu is available in the cocktail bar.The largest independent hotel in Doncaster, the Earl is 10 minutes’ walk from theatres and restaurants. The rail station is one mile away and Doncaster Sheffield Airport is 15 minutes’ drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Earl of Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
The Earl Doncaster
The Earl Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing