We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ashamed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Earl of Doncaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Earl of Doncaster
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“ashamed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

visited this hotel with friends stayed overnight was very disapointed and ashamed i told my friends to book here the smell was like dirty hoovers and the decor and furniture in the rooms definately want an update i would not recomend this hotel to anyone again unless it had a revamp .

Room Tip: view the hotel and rooms if possible before booking and then decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    143
    61
    28
    27
See reviews for
85
177
15
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great night... Guinea pig night where the chef chooses what you eat, nine ladies had a great meal, you don't chose he decides what he is cooking for the night. Great surroundings, great meal. Good value for money. Would go again.....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

As noted by the previous reviewer the outside is bland and suggests an old tired hotel. However, inside the hotel has undergone a partial refurbishment. The main areas have been renovated in an Art Deco style. The bedroom was renovated in a modern style with flat screen TV, coffee and tea, an iron toiletries but no hairdryer (they may provide them at reception but I had brought my own). The problems with the room were no fridge or safe, no light (if you are staying here on business bring a table lamp!) and a very noisy air conditioning unit. Whilst we were warm everyone else complained their rooms were cold.

The toilets near the ballroom were freezing cold and had not been refurbished - this lets the overall feel of the hotel down.

Breakfast was nice and very well presented. All the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank only_visiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at The Earl of Doncaster, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for an honest appraisal of your experience at our Beautiful Art Deco Hotel.

You are correct, hairdryers are available upon request as we found many were missing in our daily room audits. We are more than happy to provide them and bring them directly to the bedroom to avoid guests making the trip to Reception.

The Hotel has had several millions of pounds spent in recent years developing the new 40 bedroom section in addition to the Restaurant, Reception and Ballroom. Work has now begun on redeveloping our Lounge Bar, all in Art Deco style.

We have noted your comment about the lack of light. We do provide table lamps in addition to soft bedside lighting in all of our rooms so we hope to correct this issue in our room audit.

I have informed the maintenance team regarding the air con unit. This should only offer a slight background noise rather than a 'noisy' distracting hum. I have stayed in the hotel on many occasions and am yet to encounter this.

Your review is appreciated and we will endeavour to improve.

Kind Regards,

Craig Shepherd
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I often travel to Doncaster for business and it was a surprise to come across this hotel having stayed elsewhere in town. It is really good! I have now stayed several times

The building is full of wonderful art deco touches and has been done out to a very high standard. There seem to be two types of room i have stayed in the type i have shown in the pictures and other rooms with a more eclectic furnishing regime. Both types of rooms are large, comfortable spotlessly clean and well equipped. The bathrooms are large, clean and the showers are both powerful and hot. The condiments provided are of a good standard. (There is nothing worse than cheap tea! )

It is on the edge of the town centre, in a quiet area and is close to the racecourse. The station is walkable but i have almost always got a cab. There is a large car park. The staff are friendly and helpful

I have never eaten an evening meal in the hotel but the breakfast is really good. A wide range of pastries and cereals, followed by a breakfast cooked to order from an extensive menu. It is really good!

In all honesty this hotel is a unique experience and one that I was not expecting. Don't be mislead by the exterior, once you get inside you are in a different world. I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

my husband and i went to the earl of doncaster 4* hotel for the twixmas break thursday the 27th of december2012 -sunday the 30th of december2012,which just so happened to include the celebration of my 50th birthday,which was the 28th,the break included afternoon tea on a day of our choice,a three course meal on a night of our choice and of course the saturday included at the races.I just have to say it was utterly fantastic all round the hotel staff were fantastic including James on the bar and Shelby, also Fransisco our waiter who was brilliant and not forgetting Julie on reception oh and hotel manager Craig,also James's mum Sue who is breakfast manager who was in turn also brilliant,so would just like to say a VERY BIG THANK YOU to all of you for a perfect birthday and twixmas break would totally and utterly recommend this fabulous 4* hotel to anyone thinking of a perfect break, again it was ACE thank you all from kim and john (we were funnily enough in room 101)dont know if anyone remember's that programme lol so again thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

tried of going to bulk standard hotels we tried the earl of Doncaster for the there themed night the pig night it was out off this world the food looked like a picture also it tasted good well we will be back again well done to the chef

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I had happened upon this beautiful gem nestled away in Doncaster on a trip to the wildlife park. I popped in to have a look and the enthusiastic staff were keen to tell me about their menu's, special events and show me the ballroom, which is breathtaking! The decor throughout the hotel is outstanding, absolutely beautiful.
I was keen to return with my fiance to show him the hotel as a potential wedding venue. He was blown away too, as soon as he set foot inside. All of the staff went the extra mile to help...the reception staff, bar and restaurant waitors, breakfast room waitors, ballroom servers and most of all the manager Craig who showed us round the penthouse, ballroom and anything else weddingy. This hotel is the closest you can get to Vegas glamour in Yorkshire.
The bedrooms are spacious, light and luxurious with lots of quality furniture and attention to detail. The restaurant feels like a step back in time to golden days of black and white movies, we had the homemade soup which was sensational!
We went to the christmas party in the spectacular ballroom which was brilliant serviced, the food was delicious and the entertainment spot on. The breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel and every moment we had here was a delight.
The only complaint would be drinks were pretty pricey but not higher than expected for a hotel.
We can't wait to return and start planning the wedding not to mention many happy anniversaries there :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueGrumpyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Earl of Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl of Doncaster

Property: The Earl of Doncaster
Address: Bennetthorpe, Doncaster DN2 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#5 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Earl of Doncaster 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive Art Deco hotel is less than 500 metres from both Doncaster’s town centre and race course. There is free parking, and free Wi-Fi in public areas and some rooms.All of the stylish and contemporary rooms feature a TV, tea and coffee and en suite bathrooms. Some rooms come with a separate walk-in shower, air conditioning and a flat-screen TV.The hotel’s public areas have had their stylish original Art Deco features preserved. The restaurant offers a varied table d’hôte menu, and a snack menu is available in the cocktail bar.The largest independent hotel in Doncaster, the Earl is 10 minutes’ walk from theatres and restaurants. The rail station is one mile away and Doncaster Sheffield Airport is 15 minutes’ drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Earl of Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
The Earl Doncaster
The Earl Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing