We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Earl of Doncaster
Nearby Hotels
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Doncaster)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
400
211
84
40
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
400
211
84
40
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoafternoon tealovely hotelfood was lovelytown centrewalk in showerjunior suitebar restaurantcar parkrace coursesteakbirthday partygreat nightfull englishfrom start to finisha lovely staycomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A very comfortable room , excellent breakfast, friendly staff, and free wifi which works. That all makes for a pretty good combination. The ambience felt a little dated, but as this matched the classic decor it added to the charm

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky H, Operations Manager at The Earl of Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

I am very pleased you found the hotel very comfortable and to the needs of your requirements. We do try our best to match the ambience with our Art Deco theme throughout the hotel to give the guest that traditional experience.

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Earl Of Doncaster in the near future, and do remember to keep an eye on-line for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind Regards

The Earl Of Doncaster Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

we booked in on a steak night which was very busy and noisy as their was a tribute band on up stairs and the people were using the deco bar, ( we were not the only couple that noticed this ) although the staff were polite I felt that they needed to re group, at one point we were asked if we wanted a drink by 3 different waitresses, and the evening went on like this to the point that my husband refused to have a desert and just wanted to go to somewhere a little quieter. The deco restaurant is very nicely decorated and a must for a visit, but do choose a afternoon perhaps. PS, they also allow casual dress in the evening, i.e. track suits. !

Room Tip: did not stay,
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky H, Operations Manager at The Earl of Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are sorry to read that your evening was disappointing due to the noise and guests from the function in our ballroom. Whilst we try to keep the guests of each function in their own function rooms it is not always possible to completely stop them from entering the CBC restaurant & bar with this area being the main bar for the outside public and hotel residents.

We will be sure to discuss your comments further in relation to the restaurant service at my next operational meeting and ensure the restaurant management team rectify the training requirements.

If you would like to make any further comments relating to your experience please email Ricky Horan - opsmanager@theearl.co.uk

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Earl Of Doncaster in the near future, and do remember to keep an eye on-line for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind Regards

The Earl Of Doncaster Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We attended the Summer crafting event at the racecourse and stayed for an overnight stay for the Saturday night. We arrived early but the staff couldn't have been more helpful a special mention to Ronnie he was great. We will definitely go back we had a lovely meal in the evening and again staff fantastic. Well done to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky H, Operations Manager at The Earl of Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are delighted to read your compliments of the team and the service received from Ronnie at the Front Desk.

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Earl Of Doncaster in the near future, and do remember to keep an eye on-line for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind Regards

The Earl Of Doncaster Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We took my mother in law to the Earl of Doncaster for afternoon tea as it was her birthday. The decor is magnificent. The room oozed sophistication and
glamour of the 1920's. We were even more delighted with the service and the food was exquisite. I had a purple voucher for 2 for 1 on the afternoon tea otherwise it would have been very expensive. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky H, Operations Manager at The Earl of Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your recent stay at The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you all had a good time during your recent afternoon tea in our Cafe Bar Concerto and pleased the team attended to your requirements in an excellent manner.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the food & beverage team.

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Earl Of Doncaster in the near future, and do remember to keep an eye on-line for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind Regards

The Earl Of Doncaster Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel last year as I had a two for one voucher for afternoon tea. We went on a Sunday afternoon and it was very quiet and peaceful. The manager got chatting to us and it was clear he was passionate about the hotel. He took us to see the fabulous ballroom. This has stayed in my mind and when we decided to get married this year, we have booked the ballroom and also visit frequently for afternoon tea and meals in the restaurant.
Marie has looked after us with our wedding booking and has shown us all the room types. I am happy to recommend any room to my guests and am looking forward to our wedding night in a new deluxe room.

My next visit will hopefully be on guinea pig night.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank theclassychassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky H, Operations Manager at The Earl of Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Earl Of Doncaster Hotel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel last Sunday.

Even more so myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your wedding at the hotel.

I am really pleased Marie has been of great support to you, It is always nice to receive positive comments in relation to the team.

We will look forward to seeing you beforehand at the hotel for afternoon tea or our guinea pig night.

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Earl Of Doncaster in the near future, and do remember to keep an eye on-line for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind Regards

The Earl Of Doncaster Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews