We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb day”

Brodsworth Hall and Gardens
Ranked #5 of 52 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb day”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

So glad English heritage saved this gem of a house , took the family for a WW1 day the Manchester regiment re-enactment chaps were funny , informative and realistic. We felt we had gone back in time , the gardens are spot on. Brodsworth House take a bow!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    321
    44
    19
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Easy to find near the motorway and well signed to the house, free parking as well.
The gardens are beautiful and well maintained and lovely to walk around in nice weather. The house opens at 1pm and that was informative and grand.
Well worth a vist.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank citygirl850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I want to be a Gardener”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I enjoyed the gardens very much. The bushes & trees within the garden are maintained
in a lovely way. We visited on Easter Monday so the staff were "doing their bit" for the children and they were smashing. The gardener and the cook were great fun.
The house is unspoilt and realistic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic estate (disappointing tour)”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A fantastic house and gardens. The house is advertised as being open from 11am however this is not true. The house is open from 1pm with an option for a guided tour at 11m and 12pm. We had arrived at 10:30 planning to spend the morning there before heading on to Yorkshire just to find that 11am tour was cancelled due to the Easter children activities so we had to wait for 12am. I don’t personally see the point of the 2 morning tours. They are classed as “mini”tours so you don’t get to see all the house and although the guide was informative she kept saying “come back at 1pm and look at this room again” or “come back at 1pm and ask the volunteers and they are very knowledgeable. If I’m not going to see the whole house or get any additional information on the tour and I have to wait till the house is fully open at 1pm..what’s the point of the tour? Why not just leave the house closed till one (and advertise it that’s way!) or open it up fully. The only benefit was that we were the only people on our tour so it was nice to have the house to ourselves and the house inside is amazing, well worht seeing. The gardens are also beautiful and you can easily spend the day on this estate enjoying both the house and gardens.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SHoward83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Old House and Gardens”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Took a party of 5/6 year old school children, and we all enjoyed the experience very much. We spent the morning in the house which was very interesting. The guides were informative and made the learning fun by using props and allowing the children to take part in short activities in different areas of the house. They were encouraged to take photographs and we found this useful back in the classroom. A room was set aside for us to eat lunch although due to good weather we were able to take advantage of the outside tables in the court yard. In the afternoon we took part in a treasure hunt in the garden and finished off with a fun half hour in the adventure playground.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brodsworth Hall and Gardens also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Conisbrough, Doncaster
 

Been to Brodsworth Hall and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing