We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gentle stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cusworth Hall

Cusworth Hall
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cusworth Hall is an 18th-century Grade I listed country house in Cusworth, near Doncaster, South Yorkshire in the north of England. Set in the landscaped parklands of Cusworth Park, Cusworth Hall is a good example of a Georgian country house. It is now a country house museum.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gentle stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

A lovely old Hall to walk round that has lovely displays from years ago.A small cafe that does lovely homemade food & wine too.Very well kept & lots of car parking available and a gentle stroll through woodland paths brings you to the old Hall.It has a bautiful lake at the bottom of a hill which is very popular in winter for sledging!.Well worth a nice afternoon visit & finish with a nice cream tea in the Cafe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyq6047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    179
    35
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent day out at Cusworth Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent a sunny winter (1st March)day at Cusworth Hall. We started off with a walk round the lakes and beautiful parkland with a great selection of trees. Then we had lunch at the cafe which was good quality and not overpriced. Then we spent ninety minutes looking round the grand house which is also a museum reflecting South Yorkshire life, including an exhibition of the miners' strike of 1984/5. Then again another quick walk outside. No admission fees. Great place to visit. Good for children too. The gift shop had some different things at reasonable prices. There is a ten minute frequency bus service which brings you within a short walk of the Hall. What not to like!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GGWJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
271 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum and Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a great place to take visitors to Doncaster, as the museum has all sorts of interesting memorabilia. The grounds are also very nice and offer good views over Doncaster.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Harpum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place for a gentle wander”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Didnt go in the house or the cafe but just had a wander, a nice location for a quick wander outside Doncaster, nice looping tarmac paths (beware there are hills) in well maintained grounds. You do have to pay for parking for but for a council run place thats quite cheap.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AverageJo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dogs are very welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I can only endorse what the writers before me said. We staid three hours and felt £ 2.20 for parking is ok. We liked walking the dogs in the park and felt that the displays in the house are very interesting.
The only thing I was missing is that there is no information regarding dogs on the official website. This is a pity as the place is very dog friendly. You can even take it into parts of the coffee place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank chocolate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cusworth Hall also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cusworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing