We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely park ”
Review of Sandall Park

Sandall Park
Ranked #17 of 65 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sandall Park is an urban family park with plenty of attractions including wildlife, ducks and a bog pond, play areas, sports facilities, picnic areas and fitness trails. An angling club oversess the fishing of the main lake. Much of the maintenance is undertaken by volunteer member of Friends of Sandall Park including (but not limited to!) planting, weeding, upkeep of the toilets, etc. Friends of Sandall Park are a group of like minded people dedicated to improvement of the park for the benefit of visitors and wildlife. They work alongside various agencies.
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely park, easily one of the best in Doncaster. The volunteers do such a lovely job of maintaining everything in the park and the toilets well done!
Only thing that could make the park better would be if it got a little splash park for the kids like in other boroughs.
Was lovely seeing all the little ducklings today.

Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen I, Volunteer at Sandall Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! We think we're Doncaster's premier park but we're a little baised ;) Our volunteers, who work so hard in the park, were pleased to hear your praise for their work when we shared it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ducks and swans"
in 3 reviews
"cheap cafe"
in 2 reviews
"nice lake"
in 2 reviews
"dog walking"
in 5 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 5 reviews
"ice cream van"
in 4 reviews
"lovely stroll"
in 2 reviews
"lovely little cafe"
in 2 reviews
"round the lake"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 7 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 2 reviews
"lots of space"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"whole family"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 5 reviews
"fishing"
in 9 reviews
"play"
in 21 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Great park, and some great walks round the lake. Lots of geese, ducks and swans etc. It is a shame that the rowing boats are no longer on offer. Loved them when I was a kid! But never the less my kids thoroughly enjoyed playing on alllllll the park equipment, I struggled to get them to leave! Nice clean toilet facilities and a nice cheap cafe for a pit stop :)

1  Thank ccosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen I, Volunteer at Sandall Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your great review. Did you know that much of the toilet maintenance is completed by volunteers and we purchase the toilet rolls from fundraising activities? We're glad it's appreciated. Friends of Sandall Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Took our new puppy here last week on her first day out, I have walking difficulties but thanks to the volunteers at the park who are making great improvements to the pathways my husband myself and Ruby our puppy managed a lovely stroll around the lake.
It's good to see the wildlife at the park is now thriving and there were lots of baby ducklings to be seen.
We stopped at the cafe for a well earned drink and our puppy was the star of the show, everyone stopped to talk to her including one of the lady volunteers with whom we chatted for quite a while.
The jobs the volunteers are doing are making the park a lovely place to be and its good to see the toilets are now open again. We will be using the park more often now

Thank poppypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen I, Volunteer at Sandall Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

We're so glad you and Poppy enjoyed the park and enjoyed talking to one of our hard working volunteers! We look forward to seeing you and Poppy in the park more often! Friends of Sandall Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This is a lovely park on the outskirts of Doncaster. It has toilets and a popular cafe (can't comment on the food here though). Ample parking with options to park across the road in the small shopping centre if needs be. Plenty of benches to support a slow amble. Usually a number of fishermen at the lake side. There are a couple of decent play areas for children, often an ice cream van, oodles of room to run around if you have the energy! Great variety of birds, informative boards around the park to help you identify them and they also have a number of routes mapped out so that you know how far you have walked when followed. The top field has a small outdoor gym. Great day out.

1  Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen I, Volunteer at Sandall Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your review of the park. Did you know that the toilet maintenance, the information boards you enjoyed, much of the play equipment and flowers are thanks to a volunteer group? We really love to learn about people enjoying the park. Friends of Sandall Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Park, lake , park run cafe and toilets everything you need for a trip everyone welcome. Plenty of room for a walks

1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen I, Volunteer at Sandall Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

We're glad you enjoy the park. Thanks for the review! Friends of Sandall Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandall Park also viewed

 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Sandall Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing