We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review - noise city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Honest review - noise city”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Location, spot on. Close enough to Lakeside shopping centre/Doncaster dome retail park, so plenty of food outlets, cinema etc close by.

Lots of parking available, receptionist pleasant, room faced the lake at the back of the hotel so views were lovley - but we were third floor up and the window lock was broken - completely unsafe as the whole window opens inwads, it's a good job my 4 year old isn't one for Superman impressions!! The room was clean and bed was comfy.

9pm the noise started, people obviously getting ready to go out with music blaring, which carried on for a few hours. Come midnight it was like a fun house, slamming doors, screaming, shouting, laughing, arguing, more banging. I would say it quietened down around 4am.

Honestly, I have never known a hotel to have such a lack of soundproofing, if your aim is solely to have a bed to crash in after you've been out and "got messy" go for it. If you actually want a reasonable nights sleep / have little ones with you. Do not even contemplate booking here.

Do yourself a favour and spend the extra £20 or so, and book the premier inn down the road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stan240390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    100
    38
    15
    11
See reviews for
114
110
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The room had very little storage just 5 coathangers on a rail with small shelf above. One other small desk surface with hardly any room to put anything, had to keep most of our belongings on the floor. The room was unbearably hot and stuffy (no form of cooling or air con. Limited number of fans available which had all gone) Due to location of minimal plug sockets, fan would not have been much use. We hardly slept as a result. There were no bedside shelves, nowhere to place a morning drink. no extractor fan in bathroom, almost suffocated when getting a shower.The room may have been suitable for someone for one night with little or nothing with them at a cooler time of the year, but we were a family of 3 there for two nights on hot June nights. We were exhausted when we left, not good when one has to face a 6 hour drive home. Will definitely avoid Travelodge in the future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had to book quick as just became grandparent earlier than expected, Looked brill to start with all new and lean good security and disabled parking right next to hotel, However one of the disabled bays is for " the staff car " which they have special ok from the company to have it on video, HIS own car I think.
The rooms are lovely and big but there is NO A/C and even with the heating off it is well too hot when we spoke to reception in the morning she was clueless about anything and the fact that the TV had about 4 channels that worked not the 17 as advertised and according to her it was the bad signal that caused the out of sink like watching a old samurai film,
When we got back that night we asked again about A/C and were given a fan it did help and they said that the TV may have been a upgrade they were doing ,..

Only booked due to last minute and Pr****er Inn was full...

Room Tip: rooms with a lake view are nice but windows can't be opened due to spiders
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the races, 5 minutes from the little football ground and 5 mins from shops and fast food chains, it has a lovely lake round the back.
The hotel car park is massive which is a bonus, the hotel is clean and the rooms are small but very clean, the only problem we had in both of our rooms the extractor fan in the toilet didn't work or there was not one so when the toilet was used it stank the room out. As we had crates of beer we decided to move our rubbish daily and the girls on reception were not to happy when we moved our rubbish in the morning and asked then if they could bin it, the bins outside the hotel had them silly tops on then so we could not bin the rubbish ourselfs.
Taxis to town were very cheap between £3.50 and £7 depending on if booked or not.
Overall very good

Room Tip: pick lakeside veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived late at night after driving for seven hours. We were greeted in the reception by Vaughan, who was extremely witty, charming and welcoming. He cheered us up immediately and gave us a fantastic room overlooking the lake at a very reasonable price. The room was large, warm and comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and thanks again to Vaughan!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford Uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Doncaster Lakeside is my most favourite of all Travelodges around the country. Mainly due to the views (I always phone early and request a lake view). The staff are always extremely warm and friendly and cannot do enough for you. Now with the updates the beds and rooms are even more comfortable.
The hotel is situated in a great location easy access to and from the M18 and motorway links, close to the football stadium, Racecourse and Dome (swimming, ice-skating and sometimes shows). Town centre is not too far to drive but please note traffic can be very heavy.
Although no restaurant or food court at the hotel there are excellent facilities within walking distance to a great variety of restaurants, shops and a pub at Lakeside Village.
5 stars from me :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Echo_Falls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we returned to travelodge after seeing refurbished hotels advertised on their website, so thought we would give them another try. This hotel is fantastic after we found it, not via our sat nav!, Not large room but spotless and adequate, the bathroom was spotless and not a crack in site so definately would try refurbished hotels. One of the best things was the view, lake view with swans so relaxing and and gave a peaceful ambience and the hotel was quiet so we had a very pleasant stay. Bedding and comfy bed spotless too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank anniefink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#10 of 19 in Doncaster
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside

Property: Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Address: Lakeside Boulevard, Doncaster DN4 5PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing