We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Torrs English Deli

Torrs English Deli
Ranked #19 of 524 Restaurants in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$11
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Often walked past and thought no, I don't want to be on view having my lunch.
But unbeknown to me there is an upstairs, a wonderful oasis of grand decor and social privacy.
Slightly off putting to have to order at the bar ,waitress service would be preferred.
We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food,although cake is quite pricey.
Some elegant window dressing is required to make it more inviting as most of clientel would prefer not to be in a goldfish bowl,but I have to say I will return again and again,well worth it.
P.s. Thanks for the brolly !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjoneslbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    29
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing place with excellent food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visit Torrs regularly and have always enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. I particularly enjoy sitting upstairs, it has a very continental feel up there. It's a lovely place to visit for lunch or just for something like a scone or toasted teacake and a tea or coffee.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrissyH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Bustling little shop”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The popularity of this place speaks for itself.

Homemade cakes on display, sandwiches and salad both fresh and tasty.

Only slight criticism prices were a bit steep.

However, would return beats the branded coffee shops.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed ambience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've had the pleasure of going to Torr's deli twice with a friend and will definitely be back. Customer service on entry is friendly and professional. I like the quieter area upstairs. No-one will rush you out even if you're only having a cup of their excellent coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I visit Torrs once a week with my husband when we do the market shopping. Last week we went into town early and had the full breakfast which was absolutely brilliant. As usual we were greeted with a smile from friendly staff. If you are wanting to have lunch you can not go wrong with the "special" salad, it is not on the board but if you ask for it, you will not be disappointed I can assure you. The atmosphere is very relaxed, you can enjoy your meal in comfort without being hurried along. I usually take my friends to Torrs too so they can experience everything that Torrs has to offer - excellent food, relaxed surroundings and fabulous staff.

Torrs is a great venue if you require gluten free food, you just need to ask for gluten free bread and the only problem will be choosing white or brown! Gluten free cakes are always available too as well as non-gluten free cakes of course, which by the way, look absolutely scrumptious.

Torrs is definitely the best eatery in Doncaster.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torrs English Deli also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Torrs English Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing