We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Olive Bar & Grill
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night check in was easy the first room we got was really clean and nice but we couldnt lock the door so after reporting it we were moved to another room that was even better than the first very clean and stylish! We were even bought a drink in the bar for the trouble :) the food was fantastic and we would definetly stay again. All staff members were helpfull and couldnt do enough for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and great service from Claire, we would recommend asking for her if you visit the olive tree, excellent value for money and great atmosphere would recommend a visit if you are in the area

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowboardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we stayed at this lovely little lodge over the weekend, what a great surprise clean lovely rooms, great staff and service. We hope to stay over with our family again very soon. Great food served in the Bar area and very popular bar.it was very peaceful and a great stay.

Room Tip: Great little lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Lodge just for one night.The rooms were very nice and clean but the water was only luke warm.Breakfast was a disaster!! We arrived for breakfast at 8.45am,10 minutes later the waitress arrived and asked what we would like for breakfast and we ordered a full English with toast and coffee/tea.15 minutes later the tea & coffee arrived.Then after a further 25 minutes the breakfast arrived.I assumed after such a long wait the breakfast would be hot and fresh,I was so wrong.The Bacon looked like it had seen better days and the beans were cold,sausage contained a bone and no toast was forthcoming.We asked again for the toast which arrived without butter.By now it was 9,40 hence we didn't bother asking for the butter,didn't have the time to wait.The worst breakfast experience ever.There was only a few residents there so I worry what it is like when busy!!

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't hungry when you arrive for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I do not want this review to devalue the previous posts but a reality check is in order. The Grill does provides good value for money but there were issues that in my opinion need to be highlighted.
On arrival I was kept waiting for quite some time before the key was offered. Collected from the main bar there was no queue of customers and no reason or apology was given for the delay. Had the bar been busy you could have been waiting for ages.
The room was pretty standard. On the plus side, comfy bed, good WIFI, and a bath and shower. But, the flat screen TV was postage stamp size as was the main towel in the bathroom. My main complaint was the total lack of hot water in the morning. It was luke-warm.
I ate in the grill and the meal was very average. The Burger was good, but the chips ressembled a take out from Macdonalds and may well of come from the local M's as they were cold. The Breakfast came quick but was pretty standard and nothing to write home about.
In fairness none of my complaints were communicated to the staff as no one bothered to enquire and on check-out the only member of staff was the cleaner. I think the 'Lodge' is a bit of an after thought. The main business here is the Grill.

Room Tip: Shower early for the hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clockman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel after visiting Doncaster Race Course. we read reviews on the hotel booking site and were not disappointed after our visit. The hotel was easy to find following instructions printed from AA route map. The rooms we were allocated one in the Lodge and one above the pub were clean and tidy and well decorated. The bathroom was modern with walk in shower. We dined at the Olive Bar and we were very impressed with the "Black Rock" steaks. sampling the venison and the duck. Very high quality meat which it needs to be using this cooking method. Breakfast was of good quality and portion. all the staff were pleasant and helpful. We would stay here again if visiting the area

Room Tip: We were in the main building our friends in the Lodge both of similar quality. You do need to acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We tried this restaurant for the first time in February and I have to say the food was fantastic. I enjoyed cooking my own Kangaroo steak and it was perfect! I would recommend this restaurant to others as well

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ruby151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
4.2 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
241 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rossington Hall
Rossington Hall
#1 of 1 in Rossington
45 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
6.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
4.3 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#3 of 19 in Doncaster
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Olive Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Olive Bar & Grill

Address: Station Road | Barnby Dun, Doncaster DN3 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Doncaster
Price Range: £73 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Olive Bar & Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing