We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Bell

The Blue Bell
Ranked #117 of 508 Restaurants in Doncaster
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: We are a friendly village public House which offers a full and varied variety of food.We have a car park and a Beer Garden We pride ourselves on offering good home cooked food which is prepared fresh every day. Sunday lunch is offered from £4.95 Beef chicken and other menu options We cater for small parties and funerals etc. We have a chefs special board updated on a regular basis. Breakfast is offered Friday and saturday 8am until 11am £4.95 We are close to the local Robin Hood airport and Hatfield Marina.We take card payments and all our food is homemade and fresh to order. It is advisable to book to avoid disappointment.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Called in for tea as I had seen the Blue Bell advertised in a local paper, most of the eateries around here are chain pubs (Part Of A Big Group) and the food is much of a muchness, but not here, our meals were freshly cooked and very well, I had a sirloin steak which was one of the best I have eaten,the bill was not expensive and a bonus was the beer was first rate, if I had not been driving I could have done a session! It was very quiet but EVERYONE was friendly and helpful.... We could not understand how a pub serving food of this quality was not packed will be recommending to our friends and suggesting for them to try, the menu is limited but you know that the food you choose is fresh and cooked to order and very tasty. Give it a try like we did!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank videostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Good evening
thank you very much for the great review and we try to provide a service as you say friendly and good fresh cooked food the way it should be served. We are always trying to ensure that customers get the best service possible in all ways the taste of the food the way it is presented and the customer service. It is hearing reviews from people like yourselves that give the staff a great incentive we like to work as a team in the Blue Bell look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    10
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a drive out to the Blue Bell on Easter Sunday for lunch with my wife and daughter. Made very welcome by the two girls working behind the bar.All 3 of us had the roast beef and it was excellent. It came with 4 or 5 fresh veg and was just good home cooked food which is what we were looking forward to. Lovely!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kipper446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi guys glad you called in for Sunday lunch and even happier that you did not leave disappointed
and hopefully you will become a returning visitor. We are always trying to improve on our service and menu so any comments are welcome. Thank you and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub in Hatfield....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good food (always good offers on!), great atmosphere, clean and a well served drink! Not sure you can ask a lot more from a pub?! I regularly eat and drink in The Blue Bell and can honestly say I have never even had one complaint. Lovely Landlord and lady too.

Highly recommended (Try the ribs!)

Adam

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Adam I am glad you think we are the best pub in Hatfield I feel flattered by the comment.
We try are best to give good service and achieve returning custom just like yourself. We also look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food can't wait to go again!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I went with my wife and our closest friends as the restaurant has been highly recommended. We were not disappointed. We all went with the steak which was perfectly cooked. The service was friendly and efficient. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjm7719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good evening

Thank you for ytour review and I am glad we accommodated your needs and you left happy with the service you received from my team. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Passed this pub loads of times on our way to town then yesterday decided to call in for tea,
and we was not disappointed. As soon as we walked in we was made to feel very welcome, the locals stood at the bar where very friendly and chatty. The pub was very clean and tidy and to top it off the food was delightful.we will be returning there soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Sellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia P, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It goes to show that things aren't always as they seem. We may sometimes be quiet but that does not retract from our service or quality of food. We are quiet sometimes because for one we are surrounded by eating houses run by large pub companies and two we have not been known for our food in the past so thank you for giving us a try it is appreciated and glad you enjoyed the whole experience and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Bell also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing