We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doncasters little jewel”
Review of Mansion House

Mansion House
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Doncasters little jewel”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

One of only three in the country,Doncaster should be very proud as I think it is the best,but visitor days can be limited

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wetherby
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gem of a building hiding in plain sight.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was lucky enough to find out that the mansion house opens most fridays, 1000-1400, so had a look round. What a place, that has been hidden from most of the public for years until the new Council Offices opened recently. It certainly rivals York and is in immaculate condition. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and there are also cultural events held there regularly. Spread the word, visit and enjoy, Doncaster is very short of architectural buildings, and this has to be the best around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Afternoon in the Mansion House”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Mansion House in Doncaster is very special. There are only two other Mansion Houses in the UK in York and London.
Once a month you can have afternoon tea in one of the beautiful rooms of the house complete with chandeliers.
A delicious tea is served on delicate crockery comprising of five different sorts of sandwiches, scones and cream, mini Black Forest cakes, lemon cakes, carrot cakes and mini cupcakes- all freshly made.
They do provide boxes for you to take home the cakes as no one in the room could eat all that was served.
Speciality coffee and tea were in plentiful supply. The herbal teas and flower infusions in glass teapots were delightful. I had not seen these before and will not say more so as not to spoil the surprise.
At the moment the price is £12 per person and when I think of what I have paid to have afternoon tea elsewhere, especially in London this is fantastic value.
Booking is essential (01302734032) and it was busy, but as the rooms are very large it created no problems.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly and made us feel very special. It won't be long before I will be booking again. Thank you the Mansion House of Doncaster.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special Afternoon Tea!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Doncaster Mansion House offers a special treat of Afternoon Tea, currently once a month, and it is only available if you book (01302 734032). This experience is a real old fashioned 'proper' afternoon tea, and it certainly rivals any of the so-called 'posh' treats I've had in London and elsewhere, at a fraction of the cost (£12 pp). The staff are very friendly, pleasant and helpful, making all the customers feel like celebrities for the occasion, the setting is really splendid, and the food - well, what can I say? All freshly made, delicious selections, and plenty for the largest appetite - with the offer of 'take home' boxes for anything you can't actually manage to eat at the time! These days one votes with one's feet, and I'm not easy to please - I've now been twice, and have requested that the table be reserved for me on a regular basis - that should say it all! Well worth considering if you time your visit with an available date.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Poppy1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rare Gem”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This fantastic Georgian building is one of only 3 remaining Mansion Houses left in the country and far superior to the York one that I have visited and this one is FREE! I was lucky enough to be taken round by the 2 gents from the tourist information centre who do the heritage walks around Doncaster so they knew their stuff. Lots of history to take in from Royalty to Prime Ministers and of course the buildings link to the St Leger, the oldest horserace in the world. An hour is enough although they do apparently do afternoon teas as well once a month.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevFountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mansion House also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing