We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Staff & Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed for work in June 2013. The hotel was easily located just off the A1M and with plenty of parking. I was upgraded to an executive room in recognition of my Priority Club status, which was appreciated. The room was comfortable but not fancy. Like most Holiday Inn's you will know what to expect but it is often tired. I ate in the restaurant and was pleasantly surprised by the good choice on the menu and how nicely cooked and presented my mixed grill was. A definite step up from most Holiday Inn's I have stayed at lately. Service was very friendly too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDoncaster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Sarah O,

Thank you ever so much for taking time to post your feedback onto Trip Advisor , following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your kind comments made about the good staff and lovely food served in our restaurant. I will make sure your feedback is shared with all of my team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Doncaster in the near future

Kind Regards,

Nigel Dibb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned home after 2 nights here with 4 friends who had travelled from all parts of the country. We had 3 rooms , 2 twins and 1 double on the first floor of the main hotel block. The rooms were clean and well equipped and we were very grateful for the air conditioning as it was a hot weekend. Breakfast was great , lots of choice at the self service buffet which was well presented. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and the food was good if a little expensive . Drinks at the bar were also expensive e.g. £4.80 for a small glass of red wine. All staff that we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful and they had to be admired as they dealt with a very drunken aggressive wedding party late on Saturday evening. Our main complaint concerned the ridiculous price of wifi - £5.00 FOR 1 HR OR £10.00 FOR 2 !!! In this day and age this is almost daylight robbery and needless to say we did not pay for this.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't need wifi !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDoncaster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Thirty,

Thank you ever so much for taking time to post your feedback onto trip advisor, following your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to read your kind comments made about the overall Food & Service. I am sorry that you felt the overall price for WIFI and a glass of wine was little expensive. We do as a team really value and appreciate guest feedback and will make sure that your constructive points are discussed further at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Holiday Inn Doncaster in the near future

Kind Regards,

Nigel Dibb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have used Holiday Inn's all over England and many in America, so I can honestly comment that this hotel is the worst we have ever encountered. We booked a king size room, when we opened the door it was a real mess, we thought they had given us a room already occupied but turned out it hadn't been cleaned and it was almost 7pm, reception sent someone up because believe you me, it's quite a trek from reception, we were shown another room, but were just offered a twin, we refused as we had payed for a king size, again very disappointed in the fact they they expected us to take it. Then we were told they would upgrade us to an executive room, so off we trotted again, up another floor with the lift shuddering like it had enough, because believe me, at this time of the evening we certainly had. The room was ok, not of the executive standard you would expect, massive chip off the fridge surround, dirty woodwork on the window and a very dusty desk, by this time we were just to weary to complain, we had been travelling for most of the day, so we just went down to the bar, which surprise surprise was lovely, so after a few chilled drinks and a lovely pizza, we trotted off back to our room via a tunnel ( yes a tunnel ) in the shuddering lift again to our room. By the way, our room was 405 but it tells you in the lift to press 3, but then you get out and see you are on floor 2......confusing or what??
Breakfast I must say was lovely, with a wide choice a very good food, which is what you expect from Holiday Inn. Would we go back? No way, I would rather stay at Fawlty Towers.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BlackpoolMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDoncaster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Blackpoolmouse,

Thank you for taking time to post your review feedback onto trip advisor , following your recent stay at the hotel. I was as you can imagine very disappointed to listen to your comments made about the executive room that had been allocated to you that had been taken off market for necessary maintenance and housekeeping works. Please accept my sincere apologies for the mistake that was made by my reception team.

I was however really pleased to hear that the Food and Service you received within the main bar lounge had been really good.

I would appreciate if you could give me a call at the hotel at your earliest convienance.

Kind Regards,

Nigel Dibb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Food in both the restaurant and at functions is excellent and superb value for money. All staff both permanent and casual are extremely friendly and helpful to guests of all ages. Accommodation is of a very high standard with very comfortable rooms at very reasonable prices. I use this hotel regularly along with many others and am very impressed with the hotel overall. Extremely pleasant stays which I can recommend to all. Absolutely top class!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDoncaster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Bob P,

Thank you ever so much for taking time to post your feedback onto trip advisor.

I was truly delighted to read your kind comments made about excellent Food, Staff and Service you have received from my whole team at the Holiday Inn Doncaster on the different events and occasions you have attended.

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback , we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nigel Dibb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel, as part of national holidays coach trip,had read previous reviews and didnt really know what to expect, very friendly staff from the front desk to the waiting staff to the bar staff, it was very busy as they were hosting weddings, but this didnt deter from the excellent service, room very clean, lovely food, excellent breakfast, bar a little bit pricey, but in line with what you would pay in a hotel, would recommend this as a short stay, or a basis for other travel

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor room, its a little way from the entrance so you dont get the noise from people c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franklinHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDoncaster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Franklinhartlepool,

Thank you ever so much for taking time to post your feedback onto trip advisor, following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your kind comments made about the overall guest experience. I will make sure your comments are shared with all of my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Doncaster in the near future

Kind Regards,

Nigel Dibb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just back from one night stay and was pleasantly surprised. We had a dinner bed and breakfast package in an executive room (405). Nice large room with everything you needed, including lovely fluffy towels and bathrobes. The pool wasn't the biggest in the world but had a lovely relaxing time using the leisure facilities. We had our dog with us and were made more than welcome to use most areas of the hotel with her. The food in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. In a nice location with little park behind the well kept hotel grounds so was perfect for us. A chap who I guess was the manager spoke with us on a number of occasions and was helpful as well as very nice. Well done all round and we look forward to using the hotel again.
Becki

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooDerby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDoncaster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear BooDerbyUK,

Thank you ever so much for taking time to post your feedback onto trip advisor , following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your kind comments made about the overall guest experience. I will make sure your comments are shared with all of my team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Holiday Inn Doncaster in the near future

Kind Regards,

Nigel Dibb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

booked for one night was upgraded to executive room because platinum member friendly staff nice clean room please note on website says offers inhouse movies but now no longer do so also room was warm and i found radiator was on and control didnt seem to work however these are minor quibbles pool is small but clean

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDoncaster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear CleethorpesGTfcfan,

Thank you ever so much for taking time to post your feedback out trip advisor , following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your kind comments made about the overall guest experience. I have noted your two comments and will address the in house movies & the radiator valve in the bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Nigel Dibb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#5 of 19 in Doncaster
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
107 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
6.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36

Address: High Road | Warmsworth, Doncaster DN4 9LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: £49 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel Doncaster A1(M) Jct 36 is set in its own picturesque grounds and situated within easy reach of the A1(M) Jct 36, M1, M18 and M62. An ideal base for fun days out, this beautiful hotel is located close to Doncaster racecourse, Brodsworth Hall and the Royal Armouries. Robin Hood Airport, Doncaster railway station, Leeds/Bradford and Sheffield airports are also within close proximity. Otherwise, for the perfect cause for retail therapy, Leeds and Meadowhall Shopping Centre are within a short distance too. Our welcoming Restaurant and Preludes Cafe Bar offers comfort and fine cuisine for the ideal place to dine. For business travellers we provide two conference and banqueting rooms including the modern Manor complex which can accommodate up to 300 delegates and the beautiful Warmsworth Hall, a 300-year-old grade II listed building which has been tastefully restored to a unique conference and banqueting centre. Our four boardrooms offer excellent surroundings and facilities for a comfortable and relaxing working environment. To help you unwind, our onsite leisure club provides first-class facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna, whirlpool and gym. Visit Holiday Inn Doncaster A1 (M) Jct 36, the ideal wedding venue and the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Doncaster a1(m), Jct. 36 Hotel Doncaster
Doncaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing